We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really excellent stay, great service and nice staf!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Really excellent stay, great service and nice staf!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed here for New Year's Eve and for four nights total. We were in the Palisades sweet which was quite lovely. There were some issues with the heat and a strange smell. I also found the mattresses to be uncomfortable and ask them to change a mattress for a new one which they did.

Get in spite of these issues, the hotel was excellent. The staff was friendly and the services were good and the food was better than good.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swankyhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,252
    540
    247
    129
    96
See reviews for
728
673
104
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at the Fairmont for 2 nights in a Palisades Suite which was quite spacious although the decor is a bit dated. The lighting in the room was terrible, no way to read anywhere at night, but the staff quickly responded to our complaints by bringing in additional standing lamps. We unfortunately heard a lot of street noise at night even though we were on the 6th floor. The hotel is well known in town for its signature Figs restaurant but we found breakfast there to be treated as an afterthought. Service was slow and many of the choices were not very good. We found the hotel's location to be its greatest asset: Just across the street from the beach, a short walk to good restaurants, the Santa Monica Pier and the Third Street promenade for shopping. Also, the concierge was incredibly helpful with suggestions and driving directions for trips around LA.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DW123418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel is very nice but what transforms this hotel into something special is the quality of service. The staff are just wonderful and during our stay nothing was too much trouble. On my daughter's birthday they delivered a cake to our room courtesy of the hotel and arranged regular transport to the beach. The only downside of this place is its distance to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McMillanFamilynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Have stayed in more than 15+ Fairmont Hotels, and this one in Santa Monica was very disappointing.

The lobby and grounds were very nice, but the room size is equivalent to a New York type hotel. The Deluxe King is very small (275 Sq Ft), and the larger rooms in the Palisades Building are awful; very dated, more like a motel versus so-called luxury hotel.

Also, be careful, and watch your bill. We noticed numerous errors when we checked it on the TV prior to check-out. Almost $250 of over-charges between the room rate and food charges.

On a positive note, the location to the promenade is great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichaelChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlySkinner, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear MichaelChristine –

I’m very sorry to read your review as it seems you were not properly introduced to our property and the variety of rooms we have to offer.

As a New Yorker, I understand what you mean about small rooms. However, unlike most New York City hotels, the room category you stayed in represents only a fraction of our total room inventory. We have much larger rooms ranging from our Palisades Suites starting at 500 square feet to our Bi-Level Bungalows measuring around 1000 square feet with outdoor seating for up to ten!

Regarding the Palisades rooms, we have spent considerable time and resources updating them since we recognize furniture from decades past is not as appealing as it once was. The next time you are in town, please allow me to personally show you one of our completely renovated Palisades rooms decorated by LA-based interior designer Lynda Murray. I can assure you they look nothing like what you would find at a motel.

Please feel free to reach out to me directly at any time (carly.skinner@fairmont.com) so we can figure out how to welcome you back and have you enjoy our property as it is meant to be enjoyed.

Kind Regards,

Carly Skinner
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

WARNING: According to the front desk this place does not have a set check-in. I arrived at 4:30 pm only to be told that my room was not ready. Over the phone I was told by the hotel staff that check-in is at 3:00 pm and I even knew who I spoke with. However the gentleman at the front desk acted as if he had no idea who I was talking about and was not apologetic nor was he helpful. I asked him for an approximate wait time and he brushed me off and said he didn't know. He told me that the hotel doesn't have a set check-in time. I've stayed at hotel chains including Four Seasons, Mandarin Oriental, Ritz Carlton's, Montage, St. Regis and never have I heard such a ridiculous statement. I don't have a problem with my room not being ready as long as you own up to it and treat your guests in a respectable manner.

Luckily I happened to have my email confirmation on my iPhone which I had to re-wait in line for another 15 minutes to get help from another gentleman. As soon as he saw the email confirmation a room happened to magically pop up. I don't expect this kind of service from a world class hotel brand such as the Fairmont.

On top of being disappointed by the lack of service the rooms are extremely small and the decor is outdated.

Next time I stay in Santa Monica I will give Loews and Shutters a try.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlySkinner, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear David D –

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the way your reservation was handled at the Front Desk. Know that I am addressing your interactions with the team to ensure a similar situation does not occur with any future guest.

It is true we get busy and sometimes rooms are not ready when they should be. Let me be clear, we strive to have every guest’s room ready for them regardless of what time they arrive. We may not always succeed, but we are constantly reaching out to guests for their arrival time prior to their reservation with the intention of having their keys waiting for them.

Before giving another hotel a try, please reach out to me directly off-line (carly.skinner@fairmont.com). I would love to discuss your stay further and prove to you we are worth another chance.

Carly Skinner
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Well I do not understand why there are so many great reviews? It truly is an average hotel. The location is good, if you want to be in Santa Monica,? The lobby and grounds are nice but that is my expectation of the Fairmount brand. We arrived from LAX later in the evening on a Friday and there happened to be a large tent with loud thumping music at the entrance, which I thought was perhaps a wedding reception? I was wrong, it was a make shift night club in a tent called Bungalow. A line of 20 somethings until 1am. I found this very off putting especially considering all of the rooms on the north side of the building must overlook the club and be exposed to the loud music. It appears the property is desperate for revenue. To be fair, the "nightclub" at the hotel seems a nationwide trend, many NYC hotels do it, however I find it diminishes the brand and value of a hotel that touts their brand as luxurious or charges accordingly . At the least I would say it is annoying and disturbing to most guests who pay $350 - $500 a night for a room. We were given a room on the south side per our request. The rooms here are small, worn and in need of refreshing. We were told remodeling has already begun on specific floors. The fitness area is adequate but certainly could be larger. We were told complimentary coffee was available daily in the lobby however not told it is only available from 5am - 8am, at 8:15am there is a $3 charge, what is the point? Another desperate attempt for $$. There are Kuerig like coffee makers in the room, I just don't really consider it decent coffee. At 6am we were awakened to the sound of pool furniture being dragged across the concrete patio. The crew that cleans the grounds were oblivious to the fact that at 6am guests may still be sleeping. Overall I would just say not to be deceived by the attempts of the property to portray itself as luxurious, it is rather average. If you are price conscious it really isn't worth spending more on this hotel than the nearby properties. Or, spend an additional $100 per night and stay at Shutters for true luxury, peace and quiet.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dunelandvirgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlySkinner, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear dunelandvirgo –

I am truly very sorry you left so dissatisfied with your stay. We do not see our lounge Bungalow (certainly not a make-shift night club - Hollywood can keep those!) as a desperate attempt for revenue, but rather as a venue that enhances our property rather than diminish it.

Bungalow has become one of the most desirable destinations in Santa Monica and the reason that some of our guests stay with us. It is less a night-club and more a neighborhood beach-bar, quickly becoming a staple of the Santa Monica community as a whole.

For those guests who prefer something a little more low-key, we have two separate entrances to the hotel where you can avoid The Bungalow entirely, and rooms which look out over four other angles of the property where you can’t hear a thing. I assure you we are just as luxurious as ever.

If you give me the opportunity, I’m sure we can make things right. As you said, we are in the process of renovating the entire Ocean Tower, and I would love for you to come back and see the direction we are heading in. Please reach out to me at your convenience (carly.skinner@fairmont.com)

Carly Skinner
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

we received absolutely outstanding rooms and service. Started with the Ocean view Deluxe King (room 840) and was everything you could ask for. Great view, reasonable balcony and quiet.
We downgraded to a Deluxe King on the 3rd floor to save a little bit, and only missed the bed on the 8th. The pool view was great too and no noise to speak of.
One unexpected exception to the great level of service was the Concierge desk, they blitzed everyone with their unique style & level of service; their friendly nothing was too difficult attitude was superlative and Amber surpassed all other experiences I have had in any hotel, a notch above with her extra effort and an absolute professional at all times. We missed her on the rest of our trip around Vegas, Downtown LA and San Diego.
Car rentals were made so easy, delivered in 45 minutes and got an upgrade, hotel bicycles for free made for a great ride to Venice Beach, the Bungalow bar is fantastic and removed slightly from the hotel making you feel like you have actually gone out.
The only thing that I found a little unusual were the slats on the bathroom doors, a little different but quickly got over it and any other little things that always happen were quickly dealt with and completely forgotten due to the service levels from everyone.
Superb location, will stay again for sure.

Room Tip: Ocean view and pool view were both quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ericstravelguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,860 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
942 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,567 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,025 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows

Property: Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Address: 101 Wilshire Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90401-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Miramar Hotel And Bungalows
Fairmont Santa Monica
Santa Monica Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing