We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“A great getaway”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I had an excellent getaway at the Fairmont, our first night away from the kids in a long time. It was just what we needed. The staff were great. The location is perfect -- even though we chose not to leave the hotel grounds, it's a great point from which to roam Santa Monica and the surrounding area. We had a drink by the pool and a superb dinner at the on-site Fig restaurant. Excellent bungalow accommodation. Great food. Great time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 832Richard_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,197
    516
    233
    128
    90
See reviews for
681
650
101
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

During our mid-June Miramar stay (5th consecutive summer), it was as if my wife and I did not exist; the needs of the local 'young go-gos' community have been vaulted front-of-line.

The Miramar has a new product -- 'The Bungalow', a loud and 'brand-wrong' party club for local 20- and 30-somethings. Noise levels generated almost nightly challenge the stamina of its loyal customers.

Miramar -- who is your dedicated audience? Describe in 25 words.

FIG Restaurant, Lounge, Concierge and Valet staff were exceptional. Aloof Front Desk staff inconsistent. Booked and confirmed a Pallisades room for 2 nights, but staff re-assigned us to Ocean Tower ...'sorry, the room you requested is not available!' Complained about noise, but 'no other rooms' open.

Back home ...discovered that the hotel had placed two credit card holds reaching $4,000. Still waiting for the holds to be removed. No clear or written policy re this type of charge exists; however, was told 'everyone knows and expects that full payment will be taken upon arrival'. Most hotels charge $50-$100 per night for 'incidentals' only.

Corporate office (for Premier members) stated that each hotel practices its own policies. "There is no one to complain to."

Awaiting call-back from hotel rooms director.

The Miramar has forgotten how to be a good host. Perhaps some customer service therapy? Management must go under the microscope and be rendered self conscious enough to deliver exceptional service to customers. About The Bungalow? Why not sound proof, or silence, it?

When you don't get great service -- walk away. Make your own noise.

Bottom line ...will never return.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the Ocean Tower facing Wilshire Blvd
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CrazyABoutOpera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Great pool area and very enjoyable to sit around and have cocktails.

Jillian at reception was fantastic and gave excellent service to us.

We arrived at the hotel with no bags due to airline issues. Even though our room was not ready they quickly sorted out a key to the spa locker room so we could have a shower.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam280980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband, myself and our 15 year old son stayed here in May 2013. The hotel was great as was our room. Location is good, views of the beach were perfect. Close to the Santa Monica pier (but not too close), close to third street promenade as well. Weather was excellent, so we enjoyed starting our vacation here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying in one of the Bungalows at the Fairmont recently. The room was gorgeous. Quiet and comfortable, just a short distance from the pool, I felt like I had my own private hotel. The room was gorgeous, with beautiful furnishings. The grounds were wonderful, excellent pool with a brand new Bar on the deck where you can enjoy any type of drink you can think of and wonderful appetizers. The staff made you feel completely at home, went out of their way to make sure that I had everything I needed and was happy. They remembered my name when I came out front, and greeted me by name when I came back. The Exhale spa has an amazing staff and was a wonderful treat. Make sure to have a drink at the Bungalow and enjoy the Sunset. Make sure to eat at the Fig, best breakfast I have had in a long time.

Room Tip: Go for the Bungalow! No beating It.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugatuck, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was our fifth time at the Fairmont Miramar and something just felt off. When we arrived on a Thursday afternoon there was only one valet parking attendant and no bell staff. We unloaded our bags from the trunk ourselves (fortunately only carry-on luggage) and entered the lobby without greeting or offer of assistance from anyone.
At check-in we were not recognized as President's Club members, nor as return guests. The front desk seemed to have a difficult time coming up with our room. I understand that we arrived early and that sometimes rooms are not available, but I had received a call two days prior from Fairmont asking if we had any special requests and what time we might be arriving - they were aware that we would be an early check in but did not apologize or recognize the fact. We were given the usual "your room isn't ready yet, give me your cell number and I'll call you when it is." We had to ask her to take our bags while we waited. We never got that call.
At 3:15 (almost 2 hours after we arrived) we checked back at the desk since check in is supposed to be 3:00, still no room. The gentleman we spoke with said he would get us into a room in just a few minutes and would call us. No call. We checked back at 4:00. There appeared to be several paper records of reservations laid out on the desk for people that must have been waiting, including ours. I was given the keys right away. No apologies.
We reserved a room in the tower, unfortunately it was on the south side. If you want a quiet experience, request the north side. The south side of the tower overlooks The Bungalow, a very energetic lounge that operates until 2 am. The buzz and music are constant from opening to close. The view of the Santa Monica pier almost makes up for it. The décor is becoming dated and our carpet was stained.
Also as of 6/24 the gym is in a temporary location (meeting rooms) due to an update.
Other inconsistencies involved erratic room servicing - every day something different. No washcloths, no hand towels, no coffee pods, one day a rug in the bathroom, the next none; no coffee cups. We had to call housekeeping three times for missing things, which is a first for me at any hotel.
Service at the lobby lounge was also spotty. We had to wait over 10 minutes to even get a menu on one occasion. The lounge seemed understaffed most of the time. On the other hand, Fig was exceptional for both food and service, as was room service. The Bungalow attracts a new demographic to the property - it's fun for cocktails, very crowded, a totally different vibe.
I don't know if there are a lot of new staff going through a learning curve, or if management was on vacation. It wasn't the usual wonderful experience that I have come to expect from Fairmont. We were disappointed.

Room Tip: Tower rooms have great ocean views. If you're on the south side you'll hear noise from The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachGirl616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at the Fairmont - amazing hotel! The service was excellent, dining experience at Fig wonderful and our room was beautiful. The location of the hotel is in an ideal spot on the north end of Santa Monica (the loveliest area). It is right across from the beach and walking distance to great shops and restaurants. They have a fantastic spa, wonderful dining, great views and exemplary service. I cannot say enough great things about this hotel and highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,745 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows

Property: Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Address: 101 Wilshire Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90401-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Miramar Hotel And Bungalows
Fairmont Santa Monica
Santa Monica Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing