We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawless”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Flawless”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was my first stay at the Fairmont Miramar. I have to say it is my new "go to" hotel while in the LA area. The location could not be better for everything. Santa Monica is one of my favorite place on earth so my expectations were high anyway. Every aspect of our stay was wonderful. Had the MOST amazing views of the ocean and the Santa Monica Pier. Walked all over Santa Monica with ease. Close proximity to BH and Hollywood. The toiletires that Fairmont uses are the BEST of any hotel out there. Very high end. Loved this place, cannot wait to go back.
I LOVE the fig tree. It is spectacular.

Room Tip: rooms facing the pier give a breathtaking view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie K, Manager at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Shelley R,

We are so happy to hear you chose the Fairmont Miramar for your visit to Santa Monica. I am sure as this is one of your favorite places to stay you had many other options, and are so please to hear that we will now be your new “go to” hotel in LA.

We do pride ourselves in having prime location in Santa Monica as well as having the largest inventory of ocean facing guest rooms in Los Angeles. I am so glad you also share our love for our breathtaking 80 foot Fig Tree making it the second largest tree of its kind in California.
In case you would like to have our wonderful toiletries in your home they are provided by Le Labo, a company that freshly hand manufactures high-end fragrances composed by some of the world's best perfumers.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Santa Monica.

Sincere Regards,
Jackie Kerns
Guest Relations
jacqueline.kerns@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,197
    517
    234
    128
    90
See reviews for
682
651
101
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairway, Kansas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I escaped the cold winter snows of the midwest to the mild and sunny weather of Santa Monica recently and had our first experience at the Fairmont Miramar- Santa Monica. It was delightful and so relaxing with a traditional and classy persona! From the valet attendants to the room service, we had a first rate experience. As it is a more historic type property, the suite bathrooms are a bit smaller, but the quality is high and the suite interiors are elegant with an "Old Hollywood" feel. We appreciated the smiles and greetings of the staff at every turn and the truly convenient location near downtown Santa Monica, the beach and the pier! The only negative experience we had while there was our breakfast service. We waited a very long time to be served and with no apology for the delay, thus we assumed that there was no manager on duty in the restaurant and perhaps they were understaffed for some reason? Unfortunately the "male" waiter was also slow in getting back with us during our meal and with the check. As this was our final day, this was on our minds as we left, but truly think this was "a unique situation" and definitely not typical of the rest of the staff. We would definitely stay at the Miramar again and we know we made the right choice on this particular trip!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms choices are views toward the pier or views up towards Malibu- both are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portofinokc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I just finished my weekend "stay-cation" at the lovely Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows in Santa Monica. WOW - the property is simply gorgeous and the staff members are warm, gracious and keen on white glove service. We stayed in one of the newly renovated Palisades Suites - and loved the style-touches and incredibly comfortable bed! The Bungalow nightclub is a great new addition - wish I could decorate my own home to this cool beachy-chic style! FIG is amazing, Chef Garcia is a great farm-to-table innovator - Breakfasts are great. Being right on Ocean Blvd - everything is in walking distance - park your car and forget about driving for the weekend - enjoy the Pier, 3rd Street Promenade and living the California lifestyle. Exhale Spa has good therapists, but the Spa facilities could use a size upgrade and a bit more privacy in the locker rooms and waiting area - but had a great massage!

Room Tip: I have previously stayed in one of the Bungalows - love the Bungalows! This stay I was in West faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela-Peony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We booked the Miramar after reading the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor. The room was nice with a view of the ocean but the staff was unacceptable. We did arrive early and were told to check back. After a nice lunch at Figs, we were told still no room. We had left Boston in a blizzard and really needed to change for warm weather, This went on for 4 hours, if only someone had been up front- we could have changed in a bathroom. We did not get into our room until 5pm (after 4 check in)We had signed up for passes to the Santa Monica Pier for the rides. We were given expired tickets and had to walkback to the hotel with a disappointed 11 year old. The staff clearly did not care that they were taking our precious vacation time and did not lift a finger o help. I will not book Fairmont hotels again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bayarddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at the Fairmont Miramar and once again, it exceeded our expectations.
Service: The service was impeccable from the moment we arrived. All of the staff were extremely professional and approachable at all times.
Location: The location is superb as it is close to Santa Monica Pier, the promenade and lots of restaurants - all within walking distance. The hotel faces the ocean and the views are spectacular.
Overall: This was a very memorable stay and we highly recommend it.
Hopefully we will be back soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I had the pleasure to spend 3 nights in Santa Monica enjoying some sunshine and golf with some friends. We picked Fairmont and were not disappointed at all. Wow. From the moment you drive up the lane to the friendly staff and the glorious beds, we loved it all. We didn't get a chance to visit Bungalow nightclub because the lines were insane, but wow. The beautiful people kept coming in waves. The lounge was fantastic to enjoy a scotch by the fireplaces and the hot tub sure hit the spot. Two of our guys took bikes down to Venice Beach and loved the pier as well. I highly recommend this gem at the end of Wilshire.

Room Tip: New tower rooms are a bit bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allanlarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie K, Manager at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Allanlarson,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your three nights at the hotel. Our team works hard to ensure each guest enjoys their stay and we are pleased to hear that it was accomplished during your visit!

The Bungalow truly is a gem of Santa Monica and is a great amenity to hotel guests and Westside locals. It indeed is great people watching! In addition, we have exhale mind body spa and FIG Restaurant so often times guests feel no reason to leave our full city block property. However, as you know with our location it is easy to go for a stroll near the sea, walk to the 3rd Street Promenade or other Santa Monica attractions.

Should your travels bring you back to Fairmont Miramar, please do not hesitate to let me know and I will gladly assit with a reservation.

Kind Regards,

Jackie Kerns
jacqueline.kerns@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
114 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

I've attended an annual conference here for at least four years. I really like this hotel and the staff is mostly friendly. You can definitely see/feel a difference between the day staff and the overnight staff. Fig the hotel restaurant is good and the pier is a short walk away. You will also find a wide variety of restaurants and shopping within walking distance. Tower 1 is newer and nicer than Tower 2 but still nice. Although if you get a room overlooking the street, I recommend asking to be moved. The cars and especially the buses going by are very loud when you're trying to sleep. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are nice. At night they open the lobby up while cleaning so that area can get quite cold. Not great if you don't want to be in your room or work out in the fitness center.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Momo800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie K, Manager at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Momo800,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the location of our hotel and that it is one of your favorite places to stay!

We hope that your conference returns and we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jackie Kerns
jacqueline.kerns@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,747 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,416 reviews
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows

Property: Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Address: 101 Wilshire Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90401-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Miramar Hotel And Bungalows
Fairmont Santa Monica
Santa Monica Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing