We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No sleep” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No sleep”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hotel has been a favorite of my family for many years. However, on this trip we discovered a new nightclub has been opened on the property, and our room was most unfortunately situated on the side of the building where the club was located. Sleep was impossible as the sound from the very loud music were impossible to ignore. We were moved to a quieter room, only to discover a bug on the bed, whereupon we were moved to a third (and satisfactory) room. And.....the elevators were out of order for at least 24 hours, requiring all guests to use service elevators, which were disgusting. Unacceptable! This hotel has such potential - great location, beautiful grounds, nice rooms (which need updating) - but if Fairmont wishes to cater to the nightclub set, I'll be staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MMinHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,178
    509
    226
    125
    87
See reviews for
667
638
100
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
484 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

The staff are wonderful, the hotel is very neat and clean and breakfast overlooking the pool and tropical vegetation a joy. Our room was in the Ocean Tower. If you want a sunset to savor go for the north facing side rather than the south side which faces Santa Monica pier. The rooms are quite small, bathrooms are very small but the bed very comfortable. The hotel offers bikes for a ride on the beach cycle path but all were out at 9.00 when we thought we were setting off early. Clearly could do with some more

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bro44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

My family has stayed at this hotel on many occasions through the years because of its convenient location to relatives who reside in the area. During one of our recent visits, our room was robbed. Someone entered while we were at dinner and stole an iPad and cash (from a wallet that we had forgotten to lock in the safe). The hotel compensated us reasonably but we will no longer feel as secure. The rooms in the Ocean Tower of the hotel are quite small and cramped. Many of the rooms are "tired" - possibly because the hotel seems to encourage pets; one sees many dogs with their owners in the lobby! The tub showers are old and frequently the fixtures do not work well. On the positive side, the hotel restaurant serves a nice breakfast. The beds are comfortable and the elevators are efficient. The hotel is very popular - probably because it is the only reasonable hotel in the Santa Monica area.

Room Tip: Ocean Tower, 8th floor or higher (these rooms are renovated), north facing for best view of ocean, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelmemories826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Greenwich
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

If you are planning a trip to Santa Monica, and why wouldn't you, there is not a better place for taking advantage of what this town has to offer. The hotel itself has been updated from the days of the Sheraton Miramar. There is still the pool and the bungalows but all has been upgraded and more luxurious. Most rooms have a view of the Pacific Ocean; you only have to cross Ocean Avenue to arrive on the palisades with a spectacular view of Santa Monica Bay, and the mountains. As for the hotel itself, great service, great breakfasts (ok so I did not have dinner there) and very comfortable rooms. Mine had a small terrace and 2 lounge chairs with cushions.

One of the best features is that you are a 50 yard walk to the 3rd street Promenade, a pedestrian only area stretching from Wilshire Blvd to the Santa Monica Mall. Last week I stumbled upon the Today Show that was filing from the mall courtyard. Along the Promenade you have many stores including the standard J Crew, Banana Republic, and the all new Apple store in glass. So the hotel is ideally situated for visiting Santa Montana on foot, with access to the beach and the Santa Monica pier within easy walking distance.

Ok, what are you waiting for....book that flight now!

Room Tip: I did not try this spa. To get a room upgrade and free wi-wi, joint the Fairmont Presidents Club fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank contimike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie K, Manager at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear contimike,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. Santa Monica is indeed a wonderful place to visit and Fairmont Miramar is close to all the city has to offer.

Our Executive Chef Ray Garcia was featured on the TODAY Show during Kathie Lee and Hoda's visit. If you have not yet seen it take a look at this link:

http://www.today.com/id/29054368/ns/today-kathie_lee_and_hoda/#50798645
Chef Ray had a great time on the show and the dessert he made was fantastic!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jackie
Jacqueline.kerns@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrebonne, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

As our last stay of our trip, we wanted something close to the airport so we chose this hotel. We've got a suite that was renovated a month earlier. It was a very funny looking suite with colors that we are not used in a Fairmont hotel, but it was very style and nice.

The beach looks close from the hotel but you actually have to walk 15 minutes (cross a road and walk over a highway) to get to the beginning of the beach, and then another 15 minutes walking on the beach to get on the water (largest beach I've been on!).

The pool is small but cozy surrounded by the hotel buildings. It was nice to relax in, in the afternoon. Our suite was located in the historical part of the hotel which was very nice.

We decided to order in-room dining for breakfast as we had to be up at 4:30am to take our flight. The breakfast was delivered promptly at 5am as requested and was very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martinbutler888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie K, Manager at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear martinbutler888,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel's location, your accomodations and the proximity of the hotel to the sea. Should your travels bring you back to Fairmont Miramar please do not hesitate to let me know and I will gladly assit you.

Kind Regards,
Jackie
jacqueline.kerns@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I look forward to coming here for an annual business meeting. A wonderful location on Ocean Ave overlooking the beach. Tons on great restaurants within walking distance. Staff is so accommodating from the valet to the front desk to room service to housekeeping. Never had a complaint. Travel can be such a hassle these days. None found here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights in Feb, as Presidents platinum I used a certificate to upgrade to a one bedroom suite in the older section of the hotel. Service was great but property is starting to date, we had problems with water temperature control (when adjusted to a good temp it would then on its own goto cold to lukewarm to sclading) room 406 didnt have time to raise issue with hotel given short stay. I am sure we would have been accomodated if we did.

Pros: Service, Gym, pool, their restaurant Fig (fig at five is just tremendous value) and location.

Cons: property is dated and facing competition from new properties such as the Shore. In need of renovations or a redevelopment which is rumoured so I have heard.

But despite the new kids on the block I will continue to stay at the Fairmont when I travel to L.A. the pros outweigh the con.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hankijune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#14 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows

Property: Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Address: 101 Wilshire Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90401-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Miramar Hotel And Bungalows
Fairmont Santa Monica
Santa Monica Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing