We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here for one night. The room had a nice view of the ocean and city, the spa was great and the concierge was helpful in making last minute reservation at the nearby BOA. All in all a nice getaway for a fellow Angeleno.

Room Tip: Ocean view with balcony was worth the up-charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lajelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,593 - 1,599 of 2,473 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent the past weekend at the Fairmont Miramar with our children and grandchildren. In a word, the resort is fantastic. While the hotel is an older property, it does not show its age. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, complete with the amenities that one would expect from a high end hotel. The best thing about the resort, however, is that they have empowered the staff in every functional area to enhance the experience. From the valet attendant to the waiterstaff in Fig, no detail goes unnoticed. My granddaughter who is a picky eater told her mother that she wanted oatmeal and before we could order it, the waiter who happened to be walking by delivered a bowl. The fitness center and spa are well equipped and well maintained. You cannot beat the location, across the street from the beach and the pier.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MemoSanAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We arrived on a Friday quite early in the morning into LA Airport so by the time we picked up hire car and travelled to Santa Monica we were really keen to get to our room and have some chill out time. I had emailed the hotel in advance detailing our flight details, but unfortunately our room was not available when we arrived.

We were offered coffee/tea which we did take while we waited and they did get the room turned around quite quickly which we were happy about.

Room was a little tired looking and smelt a little but was generally clean and tidy. As there were 4 of us the children were sleeping in a fold down sofa/bed which was made into a sofa during the day giving us sufficient space.

We were left a bottle of Champagne, a selection of biscuits and fruit and chocolate torte as we were celebrating our Anniversary and my Birthday, this was a lovely touch and certainly made up for not getting to our room immediately.

The hotel is an ideal place to stay as it is within a few minutes walk of Santa Monica Pier and of course the local shopping area. There are also many good restaurants in the area to choose from as well.

We used the in house parking service which was good but a little expensive, however the staff were very efficient and always ensured we had ample water to take with us on our journey everyday.

The pool area was good, smaller size pool and if you did not mind the restaurant guests looking at you then it was not a problem. Hot tub was good and we enjoyed being able to get a cool drink of lemon infused water by the pool.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funfamilyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

my husband and i stayed here last weekend. the hotel is in a great location across the street from the beach and walking distance to the pier. we had a deluxe ocean view which is a little misleading as you have to stick your head out and look around the corner. but i think most rooms are set up this way. balconies are small. enough room to have two chairs and table. we did enjoy a bottle of wine on the balcony watching the sun set. the pool is nice, but sun is blocked by trees. kept having to move chairs to find sliver of sun. also, no one came out to see if we wanted drinks (we did.) had to ask pool attendant to get waiter from restaurant, which is next to pool. waited a very long time. service needs to be improved by the pool. only had breakfast at fig. just ok and expensive. next time we will try fig for dinner. overall, we were very pleased with the hotel. great location, beautiful grounds and clean, well appointed rooms. would recommend this hotel.
also, try restaurant across the steet. hillstone. great atmosphere, great food. need reservation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunwoodygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed in one of the bungalows of the Fairmont Miramar in Santa Moncia. Wonderful room that was nicely furnished and included a sauna in the spacious bathroom. The room also included a small walled in patio that overlooked the grounds and the pool area. The location is terrific and within a 15 minute walk of the main areas of Santa Monica. The pool area looked beautiful but was crowded while we were there. We did not eat at the restaurant or use many of the facilities, but everything seemed extremely nice and well looked after. I will gladly book this hotel next time I'm in Santa Monica.

Room Tip: I loved the bungalows - very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

If you are looking for a nice, high end resort like hotel in the Santa Monica area, the Fairmont is definitely the best choice. It is on the pricey side, but the service more than makes up for it. There was nothing lacking in how attentive the staff were to the guests, the cleanliness of the rooms, lobby, restaurant, spa...etc. We had drinks the last night we were there and Jordan, our waiter, made it very memorable with excellent recommendations on their drink menu. We would go back just for him! That being said, the hotel is in need of some touch ups. The wood detailing along the walls and in the rooms has plenty of knicks and scratches, the bathrooms have rust or dirt accumulated along the grout lines and some of the AC vents show what is either dirt or something else. It's standard housekeeping and maintenance, but for the price you pay you expect these minor things to be fixed. On a side note, the grounds are immaculate, the gym is large and has almost any excercise machine you could need or want. The pool, although small, is kept up and the location of the hot tub is perfect. The proximity to the beach and Promenade are ideal for both the business traveler and for the vacationer. I would recommend one of the rooms on a higher floor, not the suites because these are adjacent to where the cleaning staff gets their carts and the noise wakes you up.

Room Tip: Higher floor, facing the gardens might be a best choice. Suites and bungalows tend to have a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaniBani06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Have been staying @ the fairmont for many years and always get good service. On a recent trip forgot some items in the room and they were returned to us by mail at no cha
rge to us. Lance Bush and Edgar Garcia went above and beyond. Wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natalie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,738 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
3,023 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,660 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,229 reviews
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows

Address: 101 Wilshire Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90401-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $462 - $913 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Miramar Hotel And Bungalows
Fairmont Santa Monica
Santa Monica Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing