We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommendated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Recommendated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a very nice hotel! Located opposite the ocean and very close to lots of shops and restaurants. Nice rooms and good service!
The food is good, Fig restaurant is famous in Santa Monica. Room service is also of good quality, large portions!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,099
    482
    213
    114
    81
See reviews for
629
593
93
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed here over the Thanksgiving week. We got a great deal on Tripadvisor. Highly recommended for families with young children.

Prior to our arrival, I received an email from the hotel asking our son's name, age and if we need extra free amenities in our room (extra mini fridge, microwave, bottle warmer, tea kettle, etc.). That was just a sign of things to come.

Upon check in my son was given some toys to keep and we were upgraded to an Ocean View Suite. "Ocean View" was a little bit of a stretch. There were trees in the courtyard pool area and obstructed the view of the Ocean. This was no biggie. We were happy just having a beautiful quiet room. Another nice touch was my son's name being spelled out in sponges in the bathtub. He loved it.

Other pros:
-Prime location to shops and restaurants
-Food and room service
-Friendliness of the staff
-Great spa

Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chingcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
250 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was our second stay at the Fairmont Miramar. From the moment we arrived to when we left we received great service. Our bungalow was very comfortable. We love staying here. It is handy to great restaurants and shopping, the location could not bet better. We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bevchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

After our recent stay here, I do not know if we will be able to stay anywhere else. This place is amazing and just keeps getting better. It is only a few blocks from the highway 10 exit which is so convenient. As for service, we love the staff. Everyone was helpful and very kind whether it was the telephone operator or the bell staff. Our room was in the Palisade's Tower and was gorgeous. Views of the ocean were breathtaking. The gym (with ocean views) and yoga studio have been newly renovated and are lovely. There are a wide variety of classes running daily. The gym is free and includes access to the spa showers, sauna and facilities. A major perk to say the least. The hotel's fitness gear loan program is excellent, the kids loved the complimentary stuffed animals and we all enjoyed the free bikes to roam along Ocean Ave and the beaches from Santa Monica to Venice Beach. The fact that the hotel provides clients with a complimentary town car for trips within 3 miles is a major plus. We were driven to dinner on Friday and a park on Saturday. The lobby, outdoor pool and grounds are beautiful. This hotel turns a regular trip into something spectacular and is a surprising value considering the location and many added complimentary services. We love it.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and request a view room. The automobile rate can be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaMelanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I booked this hotel after much research for the Wednesday thru Sunday Thanksgiving weekend. I was so happy when we arrived through the towering wrought iron gates to find this beautiful hotel sitting behind a gorgeous huge tree. Although this hotel has over 300 rooms, it has a very intimate feel. The Manager at check in told us to please wait while she went up to inspect both rooms to make sure they were perfect. The service was impeccable. After each room service order we were called to make sure all was to our liking. The exterior is surrounded by beautiful trees and small charming bungalows. Such a beautiful property. Our suite, which was a 1 bedroom, was not overly, large, however, very elegantly appointed with a large bath. The valet service is just fabulous, everyone remembers your name and runs to open your door upon your arrival and departure. Also...forgot to mention the food. Although we had reservations in several restaurants, we all found the food to be amazing at the hotel. Our daughters had a beautiful ocean view room, again not large, but very elegant and comfortable. The pool is on the small side, however, and if you are coming here to lounge by the pool all day you may want to go to a resort hotel. However, we came to visit Santa Monica, Los Angeles, Laguna Beach and San Diego. What a wonderful experience. My husband told me, "Better write a great review for this one" Nothing but good things!!!!!! Happy...happy. BTW....pictures on internet do not do justice to this hotel.

Room Tip: Hotel upgraded us one room complimentary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlotte55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed for one night, but felt we were in the way the entire time we were there. Granted they have a bustling business with conventions, weddings, meetings but we felt trampled by all the activity and restrictions of where we could not go, or with our car. It was very inconvenient to have to be re-routed each time to get our car or go to and from our room. We had an adequate room with a good view, but the sink had been multilated and the bathroom looked grungy. I would expect more from this calibur of hotel. The bed was comfortable. The view was ok, saw the beach from a corner view because of buildings in the way. The pool area is too small to accommodate a moderate crowd. The beach was too commercial. Shopping is nearby. Not a good area for ambiance or to our liking. We would not return.

Room Tip: Try another 5 star hotel in the area or make the trip to one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. It is in a great location and if you just want to park the car and explore on foot then this is the place for you. You are within walking distance of so many restaurants, stores, movie houses and attractions.

The rooms are very spacious and were always kept clean by the attentive staff.

Restaurant was good but a bit pricey. Nice to relax by the pool with a drink.

we are pleased we picked this hotel and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 2,461 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 1,351 reviews
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#15 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows

Property: Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Address: 101 Wilshire Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90401-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Miramar Hotel And Bungalows
Fairmont Santa Monica
Santa Monica Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing