We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern California Style... Right By The Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Southern California Style... Right By The Beach”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Fairmont in Santa Monica is a big, beautiful hotel with a range of room styles and sizes, a terrific poolside restaurant and an excellent location right by the beach and close to Santa Monica's shopping and fun. We like the bugalows the best-- nestled in the garden, close to the pool, it feels like a low-rise neighborhood.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TCWilliamstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie K, Director of Operations at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Overland- Summers,

Thank you very much for the kind words! With so many different sizes and styles of accommodation we like to think we can find something for everyone and I’m glad to hear you enjoy the unique experience that is the Bungalows.

Kind Regards,

Matthew Lehman
matthew.lehman@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,252
    540
    247
    129
    96
See reviews for
728
673
104
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed here for business for three nights in mid October. The check-in process was smooth and I found the staff to be very friendly and engaging. The hotel is located right next to the beach, pier and the 3rd Street Promenade so you can't beat the location. I did use the pool once and it was very nice. The gym has a small selection of nautilus machines and free weights. All of the equipment was clean and well maintained. There are also yoga classes offered! The gym offers complimentary water & cucumber (obviously a California thing) & Gatorade.

My room was of decent size as was the bathroom. The bed was comfortable and there is an in room temperature control. There was also a good sized desk to work on as well as a safe that can accommodate a computer with a 17 inch screen.

I didn't try the restaurant (Fig), bike rental, or use the valet service.

I did experience some trouble with the wireless internet cutting in and out. At one point I had to call their 1-800 support number to get my connection problem resolved. To top it all off I had to pay extra for high speed internet.

The hotel looks ideal for those looking for a Santa Monica getaway. My wife would definitely like it.

Overall as a business traveler I found the service and staff to be very helpful. If I visit the same client again I will very likely stay at the Fairmount Miramar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnum55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed here last week for a conference.Great location and ambience. Close to the boutique shops and restaurants and also the pier.
I stayed on the 9th floor with a nice view of the beach, but the pick would be the bungalows. Spacious and airy, near the pool and bars.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for the ground floor bungalows as a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BullnBush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a great location for Santa Monica, within walking distance to almost all Santa Monica attractions, such as the beach of course, but also the Third St Promenade, several of the better known restaurants on Ocean Ave, and others including the Pier. The Ocean Tower building has wonderful views of either the Pier on one side or the beach leading up the coast toward Malibu on the other. But there is only so much they could do with the rooms, since the property is older. In particular, for this price range ( we paid mid to high $300s), the bathrooms are very small. The hotel staff were fine, although the lobby lounge restaurant need extra help during lunch hours. That was an annoyance. The concierge staff were very helpful. I have stayed at several hotels in Santa Monica and would go back here because of the location and the views from the Ocean Tower, but for this price point we expected a bit more. It also seems as if the walls were paper thin - I could hear other people using their plumbing frequently during the night, which was an irritant. If I were travelling on business and the room rates were the same, I might be tempted to stay at the Loews, which also has some excellent views, with larger rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for the Ocean Tower facing south/east for a view of the Pier at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfessorJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The property in a great location. We loved the grounds and were surprised by an amazing, very large, very old tree out in front of the hotel.

While checking in, the service was some of the best you will ever encounter at any hotel. The lady who helped us was great! She was very patient, and walked around the counter to first give my daughter a surprise then walked around the counter again to hand me the room keys. She explained all of the amenities the hotel offered.

Our room was incredible! The patio overlooked the beach/ocean as well as the pier. The beds were super comfortable and the TV was adequately sized for the room. Be sure to sign up for their hotel program to get free wireless internet!

Everyone who worked there was super helpful and very friendly. Of all the hotels I have ever stayed at this was definitely one of the nicest. I look forward to coming back again soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sorrels13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Lovely hotel in a prime location with good (not excellent) staff. Valet staff was exceptional, they run to get your car, a cab, a helmet for your bike. Complimentary bike rental a really nice perk as its so close to the ocean front bike path, which is fab. It was expensive but better than you usually get in this price range. A lot of its charm is its location and well tended grounds. I will definitely return.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Annabanana74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie K, Director of Operations at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Anabanana74,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Fairmont Miramar! We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and I will personally let the valet staff know you were appreciative of their efforts.

Should your travels bring you back to Fairmont Miramar, please let me know and I will gladly assist in making your reservation.

Sincere Regards,
Matthew Lehman
Director of Operations
matthew,lehman@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

It had been a few years since I had stayed at this property but I was happy to finally get back. You can't really go wrong with a Fairmont property. It's pricey but worth it. My girlfriend and I had a great long weekend and I can't wait to get back with my husband.

PROs
Service - simply the best. The staffed remembered us from check-in and acknowledged us throughout our trip when they saw us. I can't say enough about how great the staff was.
Location - great access to the Promenade for shopping and dining. Short walk to the beach.
Food - the food was so good. They had great healthy and delicioius options. Eat at FIG!
Ambience - decor is nice, clean, inviting - feels like vacation as soon as you drive onto the property.

CONs
Noise - they have a new club called "Bungalow" and it is noisey. We were on a higher floor but we could still hear the music blaring until 2am. Earplugs didn't even help. But, the staff did move us to the north side of the property the second day when we complained.
Ocean view not as expected - when I booked the room I paid more for an "ocean view" but it was really more of a partial ocean view. There was no view from the room unless you stood in the corner by the sliding door. The view was from the balcony - at an angle from the room itself. I'm not sure what a "partial ocean view" room would have been.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side avoid the noise from Bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie K, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Susan O,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your Girlfriend Get-Away stay at Fairmont Miramar. We are excited to know that you enjoyed your time with us!

Our team prides itself in working towards exceptional service and quality in all aspects of the guest experience. We do apologize for the noise that you heard. We are working to remedy this issue. In fact, we recently finished the interior of The Bungalow which allows guests to mingle inside the structure rather than just outside on the deck. This has aided in decreasing the amount of noise.

As for your dining experience, we are happy tp hear you enjoyed dining at FIG! Chef Ray and his team at FIG source the freshest local ingredients from farms located in and around the LA region.

Should you decide to return to Fairmont Miramar with your husband, please let me know and I will be happy to assist in booking your reservation!

Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again.

Kind Regards,
Jackie Kerns
Public Relations Manager
jacqueline.kerns@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,859 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
942 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,549 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,025 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows

Property: Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Address: 101 Wilshire Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90401-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Miramar Hotel And Bungalows
Fairmont Santa Monica
Santa Monica Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing