We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Elegant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

Great location on Ocean Drive. Beautiful entrance to the hotel...many bellmen to help with luggage and to welcome you. Easy check in. The lobby has many seating areas, which was nice because I had a long wait before our cruise group left the following morning. My room was so big and comfy. It had a cushy robe, as you'd expect. The bathroom was large with bathtub and separate shower, wonderful soaps and shampoos provided. The hotel restaurant is Figs, named after the giant fig tree in the driveway to the hotel. I had three meals there...L,D and breakfast. All delicious, fresh market meals with local in-season produce.
The most fun thing was NCIS-LA was filming in the lobby the morning of my long wait. Chris O'Donnell and LL Cool J interacted with us and were very nice! It was fun to see the behind the scenes of a TV series. The lobby has coffee by 6am before Figs opens for breakfast. I worked out at Exhale, the incredibly appointed, clean gym. Towels and water provided.
I would stay hear anytime I'm in LA...short ride from LAX...Third Street Promenade with Nordstrom's and many great stores and restaurants is a block east of the hotel. I can't say enough about the Fairmont Miramar!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the beach. I faced the pool and bungalows, it was quiet, but a beach view woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellenmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,178
    511
    226
    125
    87
See reviews for
667
639
100
390
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

We recently came back from staying 3 nights at the Fairmont and found the hotel to have everything we needed/required. We received an upgraded room to premier which had views out to the ocean and pier and was very well laid out and comfortable.

Staff here are exceptional and friendly - nothing is too much, they are very helpful.

I wish we had longer to enjoy the spa facilities, but there was so much for us to see as it was our first time in LA.

Concierge staff gave us so much information about how to get around and booking trips and also offered us use of the house car, so that we could have a stroll along Venice Beach.
I must note in particular Ryan who was very helpful providing us with information about the local area and Azar who did her absolute best to help regarding a purchase from a shop on rodeo drive, when we had been given the wrong size - thankyou!

The staff really make this place special - always pleasant, smiling and working hard!

Our only negative is that we are used to hotels (especially 5 star quality) providing tea and coffee making facilities in the room as we like a cuppa each morning.

I would definitely stay here again in the future, due to the staff, comfort and the location.

Room Tip: West facing rooms have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenvilla2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

I've stayed at Fairmont Miramar with my husband and three children for a week.The location is perfect, many rooms with ocean view, and Sta. Monica's pier view, steps away from the 3rd. street promenade. Nice place to ride a bike and go for a walk. The staff was very friendly and we were promptly assisted in all we asked for.

Room Tip: suites are large enough for a family of five, but we preferredtwo connecting rooms to have two bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bea0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

The overall quality of this hotel is hard to overstate. Each room appears to have been individually decorated. The furnishings are top quality. There is a great variety to the rooms. I have stayed in a bungalow, in a two room suite, and in a room with a balcony and an ocean view. All truly unique. The hotel staff is considerate and goes out of their way to make it a comfortable stay. It is a short walk to a variety of restaurants outside the hotel. The walk along the ocean is just across the street from the hotel.

I have not used the hotel pool.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GREG44NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

I love this hotel! I always wish I could stay longer. The location is fantastic. The grounds are gorgeous. You're steps away from the beach. And the bed/linens are unbelievably comfortable. I'm eager to stay here again!

Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank VegasChica911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaclynn B, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel. We’re thrilled you enjoyed your stay and time spent in Santa Monica. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

Situated on the corner of Wilshire and Ocean Ave, the Miramar could not be located better. Uninterrupted ocean views from the west facing rooms, it is everything a five star hotel should be. Lovely reception staff and very good porterage. we were upgraded to a Junior Suite which was very nice and comfortable. Great bed and lots of lovely pillows, with a nice big bathroom. I suppose it happens quite a lot in LA, -- they were shooting an episopde of NCIS.LA in the gardens whilst we were there, -- good for celeb watch. We did not use the restaurants, but the food looked very good

Room Tip: West or South facing rooms have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philwil69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fr
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

I stayed here on a business trip for one night, and wish I could have been there longer... Next time I am in the area I will definitely stay here again! The common areas of the hotel are beautiful, the staff is wonderful; first-class all the way.

The room was comfortable, quiet, clean, and well-appointed, and had a wonderful view of the beach and the pacific ocean. Waking up to the sun rising over the city and looking out over beach after a great night's sleep in a super comfortable bed - not a bad way to start the day.

The food at Fig Restaurant was delicious as well - all fresh ingredients, welcoming decor and attentive staff.

Overall, this was a great stay - highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,681 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,321 reviews
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows

Property: Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Address: 101 Wilshire Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90401-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Fairmont Hotels, Jetsetter, HotelsClick, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Miramar Hotel And Bungalows
Fairmont Santa Monica
Santa Monica Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing