We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Nearby Hotels
Ocean View Hotel(Santa Monica)
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Travelodge Santa Monica(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gateway Hotel Santa Monica(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$501
$396
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Ambrose(Santa Monica)
$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$323
$220
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$385
$251
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel(Santa Monica)
$650
$490
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
$376
$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$329
$286
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,541)
Filter reviews
2,542 results
Traveler rating
1,429
586
272
144
111
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,429
586
272
144
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfig restaurantfig treeocean towerbungalow barlobby loungestreet promenadeconcierge deskbeautiful propertythe santa monica pierturn down servicebeverly hillslos angelesvalet parkingocean frontfew blocksexhalepalisades
Filter
Updating list...
1,988 - 1,993 of 2,542 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We recently stayed at the Fairmont for 3 nights and loved Santa Monica. We had a room with ocean views and also overlooking the pool and it was lovely to sit on the balcony and relax although the weather was a bit cool for swimming.
Our room was nice but the bathroom is very small but has nice amenities. As a Presidents Club member we got free wi-fi but found the $33/per night parking a bit much. The location is great as it is very close to the 3rd Street pedestrian shopping area and the pier. To actually get onto the beach is a bit of a hike but well worth it for a great walk along the boardwalk.
The information given at check-in was a bit patchy and we had to go back quite a few times to confirm details (especially about the breakfast that we had included in our room rate)
I am not sure if I would stay at the Fairmont again as it was by far the most expensive hotel of the 8 we stayed in for our US holiday but would stay in Santa Monica as it was a relaxing part of LA to be in.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janineor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I was visiting colleges in LA, and I stayed here for a couple nights with my family. The service at the front desk was lackluster, but once we got to the room it was completely worth it. This hotel is right across from the beach so the views are stellar. The atmosphere outside is incredible. There is a beautiful tree out front, and ponds in the back with fish and turtles. The valet is very helpful. The hotel has great brunch too.

Room Tip: request ocean view!
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrustmeIknow11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for two nights as part of road tip to California. Santa Monica is perfect place to stay as a base for exploring L.A.

Hotel offers everything you'd expect from a Fairmont, great service and plush surroundings. Stayed in an ocean view room on the 7th foor. Had a balcony overlooking the north side of the beach and Santa Monica Hills. Don't get fooled into thinking an ocean view room is on the front of the hotel, it's on the side with an view of ocean from side. The balcony overlooked the hotel pool and bungalows below.

The room itself was comfortable and clean. Hotel offers wifi, which you have to pay for. Location is great, 10 minute walk from the pier and a 5 minute walk from the shops and restaurants. Hotel offers valet parking at $33 per night on top of your hotel room fee.

Overall would recommend the Fairmont, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OverSeaOverLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

we stayed here for 4 nights and from the moment we turned up, after a 4 hour journey, we were welcomed by the valet with a curtious smile when opening the door of the car and removing the luggage from the boot. check in was easy although we were early, our room had been cleaned but not checked, so we waited in the amazing lobby for a short time. whilst in the lobby a couple were lounging on one of the sofas. when they moved a member of staff came across and 'puffed up' the seats and cushions! that's how particular the staff are. the room on the 9th floor looked towards the pier and the sea. it was immaculate the room was turned down each night with 2 free bottles of water and a welcome plate of fruit. the position of the hotel was great too. 2 blocks from downtown Santa Monica, a 20 minute walk from the pier with restaurants along the way. we also used the 'hop on hop off' tour bus which we could pick up 300 metres from the gates. all in all an excellent choice to stay and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again for a longer period instead of a stop off

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guitar_mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaclynn B, Manager at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel. We’re thrilled you enjoyed your stay and time spent in Santa Monica. We hope that your travels bring you back to Fairmont Miramar in the future! Thank you again for your kind feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The hotel is stunning. Having that matched by exceptional service was amazing.

The Fairmont has a program to recognize outstanding employees, so we paid close attention to identify one to recommend. Impossible. Every single one was skilled at their job; and all went out their way to be warm and gracious.

Arrival:
- we drove our daughter's very dirty Mazda, and the valet parking team treated us as if we'd arrived in a Rolls Royce, every time we arrived or left

- the receptionist (elegant, with long black hair) was professional and polished, yet endearingly warm when offering each child a stuffed animal on check in. When we checked out, she offered an extra toy to baby brother when he appeared. I'm not sure that skill can be taught.

Rooms:

- poolside bungalow was gorgeous. King bed, jacuzzi tub, reading chair, and private patio. Gardens everywhere make it private while connected to all facilities.

- the room maids were instantly responsive to our request for an extra bed for our granddaughter for the two days she was with us; and equally responsive to our request to remove it when she left. Their work in cleaning and preparing our room daily was flawless, and good humored.

Pool
- the pool and hot tub were great; staff were attentive, and had a sense of fun

- the pool dining area waiter was marvelous. Not only a great waiter, he offered to bring a small cup of fish food for our granddaughter to feed fish and turtles. He remembered how much she enjoyed that, and brought another cup the next day when he saw her standing near the waterfall -- even though we weren't dining there that night. The food was really, really good. And one of the most affordable - even compared to the nearby mall!

I'm sure I've forgotten a few, but we haven't forgotten what a perfect stay it was. We definitely will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VirginiaJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews