We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't meet expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Room service took nearly and hour for a salad at midnight, turn down service never returned after being asked to, room decor is simply appalling, prices are astronomical.

Poor service was compensated by a comp breakfast that was never credited to my bill. I couldn't be asked to counter it after waiting 20 minutes to check out.

It all added up to a less than mediocre experience. Quite what all the fuss and hype is all about was lost on me.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trebor68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,811 - 1,817 of 2,339 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed in the Miramar for 5 nights. The rooms had decent view of the pier and sea front, the beds were really comfortable and rooms very clean.
The bathroom was a bit of a let down. The room was cramped, and the bath small with not enough room to lie down in. The doors are shutters which are sort of in keeping with the décor but not very private.
There's a small fridge in the room, but no tea or coffee makers.
The hotel is very busy with events so can be noisy, and the pool area is open to the public at the weekend, so was very over-crowded.
Service in the whole hotel is very good, but the food in Fig is very expensive, although lovely. A good deal is the happy hour for dinner on Thursday - Saturday when all food and drinks in the restaurant are half price (book a table, the restaurant will be rammed).

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BubbleManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

This is a very good Hotel located in Santa Monica with very private areas that make it ideal for business meetings or simply pleasure, it has a very good restaurant (FIG), bars with a nice crowd or very private areas for business discussions etc

Room Tip: Next time. I am going to try the bungalows, they look fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aeromovil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We loved the service that we received everywhere in the hotel, from the moment we arrived at the front desk. We were greated by our names which showed that people remembered us. It felt very personal. The restaurant (FIG) is one of my favorite places to eat and relax when in LA.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morochor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Superior service from the moment we checked in. Great spa and pool. Room with ocean view terrace was definitely worth it. Gorgeous entry with wonderful old tree they built around. The entire experience was delightful. Not a budget hotel, but worth it. Pool was a bit crowded, hard to get a chair. Pet friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank German B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

If I came back to L.A I would def stay in this area. Close to the beach, with ample shopping and restaurants close by. The hotel is beautiful and loved staying there. There are huge amounts of homelss and beggars around this area, but found them non-threatening and not troublesome. More sad than anything. It is a far way away from Hollywood and I think a car would be more than useful in L.A. Caught the local bus to Hollywood and this was fine, but wouldn't want to do it everyday.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank russbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

My husband and I took our young daughters (3 and 9) to LA for a week and stayed in one of the Palisades Suites. Upon checking in they let our girls pick out a cute stuffed animal and when we went up to our room they spelled out their names in the bathroom with little colorful alphabet sponges - what a cute touch! The room was a good size, had a great comfy bed, and was kept very clean. The girls liked sleeping on the sofa bed in the living room which was made up for them each evening.

The pool area was beautiful. There is a little koi pond with turtles as well and our 3yr old loved checking them out! Great service at the pool - we spent quite a few hours there with smoothies for the girls and sangria for us!

We were nice walk to the Santa Monica Pier. Very good location!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank esmitchel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,912 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,649 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
978 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,100 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows

Address: 101 Wilshire Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90401-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $432 - $829 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Miramar Hotel And Bungalows
Fairmont Santa Monica
Santa Monica Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing