We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel but a bit on the noisy side”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great hotel but a bit on the noisy side”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed here for 3 night from 27th dec and my room was great I can't complain however facing the main road linking onto the freeway it was noisy, the staff were always friendly and courteous. Breakfast was a vast selection from the breakfast bar from fruit to omelettes, pancakes to cereal it's all here. Location it is approx 5/10 min walk to shopping centre and the beach but once I found my bearings it is a nice walk, a few main road.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Superem123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
For your next visit, please let us know that you would prefer the west facing side of our property -- we will make every effort to accommodate your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    1,053
    310
    113
    52
See reviews for
1,123
571
83
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Ok, so they have great cookies and they are always happy to give you more of them. Then I read the label....each cookie is 300 calories. Enough about the cookies, the hotel staff are all very nice and accommodating. I found this to be the case across the board, from the parking valets to the kitchen to the front desk. And yes, the hotel only has valet parking, but they are really quick and the daily rate is the same regardless of how many times you check it in or out. The food is decent, I would recommend the breakfast. The hotel has one of the best workout rooms I have experienced in this level of hotel. The room is large, the equipment is in great shape and the selection is very good, kettleballs, dumb bells to the elliptical and recumbent bike. They also have a sauna and a heated pool. We found the location to be perfect. It is a short drive to LAX, close to the PCH and the Santa Monica Pier, but also a short walk to the 3rd street promenade and that area. It always seemed that the location allowed us to avoid a lot of the traffic, but this could just be a result of where we were going when. The guests seem to be a mix of business types and families

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank craig r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
We'll keep trying to get those calories down in our cookes -- kind of goes hand-in-hand with our Fitness Center. Nice to read that our location and property fit your needs; thank you again for your business and please plan a return visit back to Santa Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stated here in August 2013.....Very clean, updated, comfortable, yummy warm cookies..Very welcoming staff. We didn't rent a car and walked to most everything or took short taxi rides.Had a great time touring on electric bikes...Shopped around a bit to find a good value ....late in August the California schools are in session before our Massachusetts schools so we took advantage of a "low season" rate!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MassachusettsMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank for remembering to write us about your stay from last summer -- always nice to read that our guests enjoyed the hotel, location and cookies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

It was a bit expensive... but not compared to the rest it wasn't. Great place to stay, great service. The staff was friendly and eager to help in everything we needed. It was close to everything and the valet parking was superb.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lucgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Glad to read that you compared us to the competition and that we fared very well; in addition, we do not charge for Wi-Fi anywhere in the hotel, including suites. Please visit us again and thanks for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is a nice hotel near both the ocean, pier and the promenade. Lots of good places nearby to eat and enjoy the ocean . Restaurant is great. 5 minute walk to ocean. Only drawback is you have 4 busy blocks to get to the beach and cost of parking seemed high to me.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Camme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We receive a lot of favorable comments about our proximity to all of the local attractions, nice to know it worked out for you on your recent stay -- thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had a great stay with our 4 grown sons, daughter-in-law and grand baby. We had 2 adjoining suites which gave us four separate living spaces but felt much more connected than a usual hotel stay with separate rooms. Rooms were clean and had needed amenities including refrigerator which was great with a baby in tow. Good location with easy walk to Pier and promenade shops and restaurants. Service in hotel and valet great. Parking $28 per day. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dw4boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Very pleased that we were able to deliver to you and your family a memorable stay. We deeply appreciate your recommendation to stay with us again -- hopefully we will see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Rooms are lovely. Easy walk to Pier. Did not take notice of Valet parking rate at time of booking which was an additional $28 a day. Although I booked a package which should have included breakfast, when asked it appeared not to be added. I spoke to the Front desk and this was added without a problem. I will now be checking my next two Hilton Bookings ( Double Tree NJ & Hilton Garden Inn Washington ) to confirm I will receive breakfast as booked. Breakfast was great ... the female chef was lovely, the two older males not very happy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Nlb74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Encouraged that you found our location and rooms to your satisfaction. Also, that we were able to accommodate your breakfast needs. We appreciate your recogntion of our our female Chef -- Jessica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,714 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Address: 1707 Fourth Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing