We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“QUICK TRIP TO SANTA MONICA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Cheney, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“QUICK TRIP TO SANTA MONICA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We wanted to have a quick long weekend in Santa Monica and returned to the Doubletree Suites. We had stayed there several years ago for a Xena convention and liked the proximity to the beach with a suite hotel.
The property is a little more worn but still a good buy. Our room was overlooking the high school baseball field and was on the second floor. The room was very quiet and well designed. There was a wet bar with mini frig, microwave, coffee maker and sink. The TVs were flat screened and you had high definition channels with HBO. You could access the bathroom from either the bedroom or the "living room". There is a Von's grocery store at Broadway between 7th and Lincoln so you can buy groceries to keep in the frig.

The pool is on the second floor and large enough to do laps. It is a salt water pool and I used it every day. A great way to start the day swimming as the sun rises. You get a peek a boo view of the ocean from the pool deck. One complaint I had was the pool area is a smoking spot. I know they have to provide some area to smoke but the one time someone was smoking, it makes the breathing the smokey air unpleasant when it is otherwise a lovely place.

The hotel is in a great location for bus service. We took the 2 bus right out front to UCLA for a day trip and the Rapid 10 at Santa Monica and 4th to Union Station. If you have not seen Union Station and have the time, it is a classic. We did a little walk around the sights downtown. LA has a very walkable downtown with a lot to see. Our AAA travel book was a guide to the sights.

Veronica and Edward deserve mention. Veronica gladly gave us umbrellas when rain threatened and Edward gave us advice on returning to LAX.

Room Tip: This is the second time we had a room overlooking the baseball field and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank franB479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We appreciate your business; especially, since you returned for a second visit. Thank you for taking the time to recognize two of our Team Members -- Veronica and Edward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    1,053
    309
    113
    52
See reviews for
1,122
571
83
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed here last November for about 10 days seeking relaxation after travelling around California.
Rooms are extremely spacious and pretty well finished, pool area was quiet due to time of year but very clean.
I found the staff very polite and gave us absolutely no hassle until the last night we were staying. We arrived into the hotel "full-of-life" after a few drinks, but not causing a scene or any hassle to anyone.
We sat in the lobby for 10 mins then ventured back to our rooms as we had an early flight the next day. One member of staff knocked our room door and asked us if we had "stolen" a bundle of morning newspapers from the hallway??? I felt very insulted.
I offered him to come into the room and look around for himself if he didn't believe me but he just shook his head and continued his search for the "stolen newspapers".
Obviously if this guy had worded it a bit better, i wouldn't have felt so insulted.

Regardless of this, i would still recommend staying at the hotel if you need spacious rooms at OK value and well-located to the Pier/Beach etc.

Room Tip: Possibly ask for a room at the front of the building rather than the rear as you will be able to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S_Hanna262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for alerting us to the challenge with the newspapers, we will most certainly following-up from our end to ensure that this type of situation is never repeated. Thank you also for your continued faith in our hotel by still recommeding it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We just got back from holiday in Los Angeles in 3rd week of October, and we stayed 3 nights at the Doubletree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica. We arrived after midnight, but had no problems with checking in late and were still greeted with a chocolate chip cookie, even though it was the middle of the night! My sister is in a wheelchair, and everything in the hotel was completely accessible to her, including the swimming pool and hot tub with special chair lifts! She so enjoyed being able to go for a swim and sit in the hot tub after a day of sight-seeing. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again when we go back to Santa Monica! Beautiful area!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Fantastic; we are delighted to know that you sister found our hotel very accessible -- especially the pool. Please visit us again whenever the opportunity presents itelf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Found the hotel a bit impersonal and oddly laid out with many rooms facing busy roads and other rooms visible to the foyer limiting privacy. Though well located the hotel is situated on a busy road and not in the best locale. Fairly pricey given these limitations and given hotel seemed a bit dated in its décor. Breakfast was pretty bad for the price with terrible coffee and average selections. May do better in Santa Monica with other hotel options.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank biggaplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Sorry to read about your disenchantment with the hotel's layout and location; we do however respect your observations and thank you for your past business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is a nice, upscale property, not on the waterfront but a 10-15 walk to the Santa Monica pier. From our room on the third floor, we did not have a great view (looking over the high school), also the noise from I-10 (at least on this side of the building) could be a problem for some. Parking rates are high ($28/day) but there is a convenient city-owned lot right next door that charges only $5 per 24 hours. The pool area was nice, as was the lobby and the breakfast (although only free for Gold or Diamond members). I found our room to be clean and spacious. The staff was uniformly polite and helpful.

The reason for only three stars is that our last night at the hotel, the fire alarm sounded at 1:30 AM. This alarm was very loud and the recorded voice loop instructed us to evacuate the building. After going out in the hallway we were told it was a false alarm. But a couple hours later it sounded again, once more waking us up. When I inquired in the morning I was told that these alarm soundings were the result of a mechanical problem with the system (and not caused by a guest setting it off). I consider this inexcusible in a property such as this.

Room Tip: The highest rooms offer a partial oceanview. Also may want to be located away from I-10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaintLouisTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We apologize again for the inconvenience of both of the fire alarms going off; you were informed correctly, it was due to a mechainical malfunction that was corrected the next day. We are one of the few full-service hotels that offers complimentary free Wi-Fi throughout the property -- it helps to offset part of the parking expense which is also the lowest of any upscale hotel in Santa Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights.
First of all, park across the road on the public car park. You have to pay on a card but it is a LOT cheaper than the hotel.
The hotel itself is lovely.
Really nice looking reception area and lobby with glass lifts with wonderful suites.
The breakfast is very good with lots of choice.
We enjoyed the bar several times and the bar staff were always efficient.
The location is great - just a short walk to the pier and 3rd street.
The concierge (I wish I could remember his name) was excellent. We wanted to see the L.A. Dodgers while we were there and he sorted everything for us. He found us a choice of places to sit and even printed the tickets off himself.
We would definitely return to this hotel if we go to Santa Monica / L.A. again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your strong recommendation of staying with us again, very much appreciateded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Enjoyed our recent stay in Santa Monica and this hotel was just a short walk from all of the shopping, the pier and the beach. It was nice having the suite to spread out in at the end of our trip as we'd done quite a bit of shopping and had big suitcases to pack and organise. The extra room was very welcome. The warm cookies on offer at the front desk are certainly a nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lozzari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We receive a lot of favorable comments regarding our location and spacious suites; nice to know that you also enjoyed our signature chocolate chip cookie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,711 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Address: 1707 Fourth Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing