We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La trip with friend to celebrate 40 th birthdays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My friend and I met here ( myself from the UK and her from New Zealand) after booking a junior suite on line for a 5 night break. It was a lovely clean hotel in a great location in Santa Monica.

Our room was large with a living area and coffee making facilities. There was a handy Starbucks downstairs and all the staff were friendly. The hotel bar closed a little early for us but the pool area was great with plenty of sun and shade. We didn't eat in the hotel. Concierge and reception staff all really helpful and friendly.

A great location to walk to the shops, restaurants and beach. We went for a run to Venice beach every morning which was a nice run. We didn't hire a car but did an open top bus trip from the tourist office in Santa Monica which allowed us to see the sights in Hollywood, rodeo drive etc. We also got the bus and subway to and from Universal Studios from Santa Monica for only a couple of dollars. The bus service is great if you can work out where to get on and the staff at the subway were really helpful.

We loved all the restaurants and shops in Santa Monica and didn't really need to go elsewhere. We even had an evening on the pier and went on the Ferris Wheel. Long queues and disorganised!!! The food court at the top of the shopping centre was great for a cheap meal.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

We are always delighted to host our overseas travelers, especially for a reunion. Pleased that you found both our property and Santa Monica accommodating -- come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,734)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,673 - 1,679 of 2,734 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

I would stay here again if I could get a slightly better rate. Having booked it so long ago, I forgot what I had paid online and got a bit of a fright when I double checked. US$459 per night - we stayed here 3 nights, after 3 nights in Anaheim doing the Disneyland thing. It was lovely arriving, check-in was swift as they all seem to be in the States, we were given one of the Hilton biscuits which was delicious. Our room wasn't ready so we walked the rather loud, busy road (with major demolition going on) down to the Santa Monica Pier. It was close but the walk isn't pretty. You walk out of the hotel and find yourself in not the nicest surroundings but as I said, its a quick 8-10min walk to the Pier. Coming home at night is a little scary as its not really a busy, shopping/restaurant area where the hotel is located. We had breakfast included in this rate and this was very welcome. The breakfast is outstanding and something we all looked forward to. Our room was very clean and tidy. We had 2 double beds and a separate lounge so we had more space than the average hotel room which was nice. I suspect this is why it was over US$450. The staff were all very helpful and friendly - I found everyone in the US super friendly, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Number9NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Nice to read that you found that our "staff were all very helpful and friendly" we take a lot of pride in hiring the right personalities and then complementing it with training. Thank you taking the time to write us back about your recent stay, very much apprecated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed 7 nights on business. Not a positive experience. On check in I did not receive anything that could be called a welcome. Other guests from same company received cookies, water etc. The room was like a double chalet at Butlins circa 1985. The hotel bar was awful, completely devoid of atmosphere. The bright yellow and beige decor is like something from the 70s. I was kept awake for 3 nights by the 'family' next door. The hotel don't rent out bicycles. Breakfast was not included despite high room rate. Would not return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gudspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay; most unfortunate that our product did not meet up with your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We booked the DoubleTree Suites mostly because of its location and the pool. Though the cookies on checkin are a nice touch, and the rooms are a good size and very comfortable, we didn´t quite feel at home there. Well, breakfast buffet came to $75 for a family of four. You could always just have coffee at the Starbucks in the lobby ... the pool is small, and the entire hotel is squashed up against the Santa Monica Freeway. If you look for the standardized comforts of a chain hotel, that´s what you get there. It wasn´t quite right for us, though.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WomanRay63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Disappointed to read that we did not quite meet what your family was looking for in accommodations. Once suggestion for your next trip, many hotels offer packages that include breakfast. Thank you for your comments and business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We found the hotel to be very good. We stayed 4 nights and as a family of four with two teenagers we were very comfortable during our stay. All the staff are really friendly. We ate in the grill room one night and found it very good. The laundry room was great as we were on a road trip. We also loved the gym where the equipment was very new. Although we were in a room overlooking the freeway this did not cause us any difficulties. One tip we researched before and found the civic canter parking structure straight across the road which is where we parked and for the price of €20 for the 4 days - this would have been €128 for valet parking at the hotel. Overall a great hotel where the beds are so comfy you will struggle to get up!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OntheroadBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Always nice to host our friends from Ireland. Nice to know that you experienced many postive interactions with the hotel's amenities -- please come back soon to enjoy our beds once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Checked into this hotel as we need a room for 3 adults with separate beds. The sofa in the living room can be easily converted into a sofa bed.

The location is also close to the Santa Monica beach and 3rd Street Promenade, yet the pros basically ends there.

The rooms are in need of a full scale renovation. The 20 year old bathroom, all internal fixtures and furniture, and humming air-con (which I was told being "operating noise" that can't be fixed) contrast starkly with the young wall paper and ceiling paint which I guess had been done in a much more recent cosmetic renovation exercise. Bathroom amenities are very basic and limited. Swimming pool is tiny and deep enough for 10-year-old and under. My friend left a pair of flip flops there overnight and they were never found.

One last thing - don't use the valet. That was the mistake I made on the first night of stay when the hotel valet man told me that the huge, open parking lot right across the street charges $5-10 for each in and out whilst they charge $32 for overnight. That's not true. The parking lot is free for the first 30 minutes, $1 per hour and capped at $5 a day. I saved $27 each and every night thereafter by parking in the lot myself and walking 1 minute back to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for your feedback as we are constantly trying to improve upon our product offering -- your insights are very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We wanted a special place to stay on our last night in the US before heading home to Australia. After hectic days at Disneyland, LEGOLAND and Vegas, the boys, 13 and 11 wanted to see a beach. I agonised over which beach to pick, knowing it was only for one night. I had seen the Santa Monica Pier featured many times on tv shows and movies so I decided to pick that location. The Doubletree, while on the expensive side looked the best to pick. I'm so glad I chose this hotel. The service was super friendly, we loved the cheery 'welcome back' each time we would come in, and the warm cookies on check in is a nice homey touch. My 11 year old was even given a kite to fly on the beach which made his day! The room was spacious with 2 tvs and a bedroom that can be closed off from the other room. The little shop was handy when I needed something in a hurry, not to mention great snack food and souvenirs for sale! The laundry room was a life saver as I had a load of washing to do which made packing it all up so much easier.
The beach...our main reason for staying was really close, the boys got their wish and swam in the ocean. We just wish we could have stayed longer to explore the area in more detail.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SVKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Nice to read that your selection of our beach fit your needs -- hopefully, you will be able to stay longer next time. Thanks again for your recent stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
3,023 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#13 of 36 in Santa Monica
652 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
758 reviews
Santa Monica
Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Hampton Inn & Suites Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica

Address: 1707 Fourth Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $313 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelPower, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing