We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Our recent visit to Santa Monica was an escape from the cold and snow of home. This property provided us with a conveniently located base from which to enjoy a long weekend in SoCal. This Doubletree is a very short drive to parking at the south end of the 3rd Street Promenade.

We had room 729, which is directly above 4th Street and was high enough to provide a southeasterly view of the ocean. We typically avoid rooms adjacent to streets but there wasn't enough noise to disrupt our sleep. Our room was nice enough. The bed was compfy and we slept well. One complaint pertains to the bathroom. It appears it doesn't have sufficient ventilation. After two warm showers each morning, it's like a sauna inside. And it takes a bit of time to cool down.

As HHonors members, we were given vouchers for free continental breakfasts each morning. Our breakfasts usually consisted of cold cereal, yogurt, fruit, muffin or croissant, and juice. We had the option for $8 to upgrade. That would have provided the opportunity to choose from made-to-order omelettes, french toast, pancakes, and bacon and sausage. The restaurant was very busy each morning. I'd suggest you get down early (NLT 0900), given them your name, and expect to wait 5-10min.

We visited the pool area just to soak in the hot-tub/whirlpool. It was surprisingly hot. We enjoyed a couple of visits just before the 10pm closure.

I looked at parking before our trip and discovered you can park directly across the street for $5.00 a day. Save a few bucks and use this parking. It is a very short walk.

Service was great. We were always greeted each time we left for the day and when we returned by all hotel employees. They seemed very eager to assist.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fallfan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Glad that we could accommodate your “escape from the cold and snow”; we appreciate your Gold HHonors membership.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,787 - 1,793 of 2,717 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

Santa Monica is very expensive and while we would have loved to have stayed on the beach, prices were out of our budget so we (including boys 15 and 19) were totally satisfied with the large and comfortable Doubletree Suite. We liked that the door could close to our room. The living room was large enough to accommodate our aerobed, in addition to one boy on the sofa bed. The hotel is well maintained and a short walk to the beach and to the mall. Not enough laundry sites for the large hotel, but we did it anyway. They get you with valet parking costs, which is annoying. Breakfast options are fine and coffee is good, lobby nice. Definitely recommend. I was concerned but don't be. Relax and enjoy Santa Monica using Doubletree as your base.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Pleased to read that you found our hotel well maintained and that you were “totally satisfied”. In regards to the parking, I think that you find our prices very competitive with the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here one night after attending the Northern Trust Open at the Riviera Country Club. We stayed in room 816 with an ocean view. The room was a suite (they are all suites). The staff was helpful. The room was very comfortable. It was not inexpensive, but typical for the area. Parking is $25 and there is no other hotel parking. Again this is typical in an urban hotel.

Sunday morning we were deciding what to do for breakfast. We bit the bullet and went to the hotel restaurant. The manager of the restaurant ended us comping breakfast.

The hotel is withing walking distance of the 3rd Street Promenade, a must if you are in the area for shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FairwayFound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank for you recent stay with us during the golf tournament and your kind comments regarding our property. I was encouraged to read that our restaurant team was pro-active with whatever the breakfast challenge was and took the appropriate action. Hopefully, we will see you again next year for the Northern Trust Open.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is perhaps my 4th visit to the Doubletree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica. I very much appreciated my 6th floor suite that even had a slight ocean view; a real treat. It appeared to be a renovated suite, and I liked the layout. It was a bit more compact than previous suites, but still very well laid out. I did experience some problems, not receiving incoming calls and accessing messages. As it turned out, there was nothing "wrong" with the phone. Repair service was prompt, and nothing could wrong be discerned. The front desk was responsive and apologetic. So, I cannot fault the hotel. Perhaps with the more "complex" technologies of navigating phone various lines, etc., it would behoove me to initially check the phone and make sure incoming calls, and messages are functioning properly. Despite this particular situation, my stay was a very happy one. I made use of the convenient laundry room, pleasant pool area, enjoyed breakfasts. Miguel among others was very helpful at breakfast. Patty among others was also very helpful for parking. Location is convenient to both the Third Street Promenade of Santa Monica as well as Main Street shops and restaurants. I well recommend this hotel. . . .

Room Tip: I prefer to stay away from the freeway views (though when I stayed on the"freeway side, I had n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLMChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

First, on behalf of the property, we would like to thank you again for your business and kind comments – very much appreciated. Glad to read you enjoyed the suite placement and floor plan. In addition, your recognition of both Miguel and Patty will be passed along to them. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have just stayed 3 nights and had a lovely suite on the 5th floor. We arrived at 7am way before the check in time and after 24 hours of travelling we almost cried when they checked us straight in with the bonus if a hot cookie each. Heaven.

Rooms are well designed, spacious and very comfortable. Hotel foyer and pool facilities are lovely and the service is fantastic as you would expect in a good American hotel.

10 mins walk down to beach which is lovely and about half hour walk to Venice beach etc. 20 mins can into Beverly Hills if you fancy. Skip Hollywood we did it and its rubbish. Rodeo drive is gorgeous and great for celeb spotting.

Urth is 10 mins walk and the best for breaks or lunch we went twice.

Shopping mall is 10 mins walk away at the back of Bloomingdales and great for a stroll.

Only negative was the room service. Bad food. Ver salted and didn't get our order right.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurenoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to recognize our Team’s effort to accommodate you with an early check-in. We have a culture of taking care of our guests – glad we exceeded your expectation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hotel is nice and clean. The bathroom has no fan so if your staying with someone else, be prepared to wait it out or hold your nose to go. It takes a good twenty minutes to air out. The morning continental breakfast is very average with nothing hot but toast, no waffle iron. The bacon in the hot breakfast was really soft and undercooked. I observed them cooking it in the deep fat fryer, unacceptable and greasy.

Room Tip: See if they have a bathroom with a fan. Go out for breakfast. You will be better off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffLubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

We appreciate your recognition of the property being “nice and clean”. Regarding our continental breakfast offerings, perhaps you missed the section that offers baked fresh daily assorted muffins and croissants along with pancakes – next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

First time to stay in Santa Monica, and used AA miles to pay. That was no problem but the front desk guy didnt even want to talk about my Honors membership. I wasnt looking for the points but its nice to be acknowledged as such. Place was full so my business wasn't too important to him I guess. Why do hotels love to act as if they are doing you a favor by allowing you to stay when they are booked up ?? I did manage to get free wifi by logging on as a member, but don't tell the guy at the front desk.

Anyway, physically the hotel was fine. 2 room suites, nice bathroom, everything worked, water was hot, bed was comfortable, suite was clean. I hate valet parking but this is LA so you have no choice. They were very nice and friendly, and appreciated the tip. Car was brought around promptly.

No complimentary lobby coffee, even in the morning, so that runs me off. The Hampton Inns could teach these high priced places a thing or too. Its about hospitality, forget the bottom line please.

To me the location is a little out of the way, or at least on the fringe of the action. For the same money or thereabouts you can stay closer to the promenade and Ocean Avenue. The hotel seemed to be popular more for business travelers than tourists so it makes the hotel an expensive option for tightwads like me.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theWimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Our property is one of the few Doubletrees that offers both HSIA and Wi-Fi complimentary to our guests regardless of any associated membership – please visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,998 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
644 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Hampton Inn & Suites Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica

Address: 1707 Fourth Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $276 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing