We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only five minutes to the heart of Santa Monica”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Only five minutes to the heart of Santa Monica”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here in January, I was traveling with my two teenage sons. We had a room which had two double beds, and a small living room with a sofa bed. The room was perfect for us, and very clean throughout. We wondered over to the Santa Monica pier & shops, which was a five minute walk.
Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimz40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Glad to hear you found our suite size ideal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    1,053
    310
    113
    52
See reviews for
1,123
571
83
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel for 4 nights in Nov 2012. It was the last leg of our Vegas, San Francisco, LA vacation. As usual for a Hillton hotel, everything was clean, comfortable and bright with excellent service by all. Lovely pool with bar service. We would surely stay here again. Loved everthing about LA.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank handpsimmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Encouraged to read that we lived up to your level of expectation from a Hilton property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife had a meeting in Santa Monica CA for the Society of Actuaries in January and when I looked up the website for the hotel I was very impressed and looked forward to the stay. In reality this is not an "All Suite" hotel as the room we were given was not a suite and was actually a very Tiny room. The bed was large and comfortable and the room was very clean and in excellent repair but lacked a comfortable place to sit. The one chair at the desk was really only suited to sitting upright at the desk. Definetely a lack of floor space so we were lucky that we arrived with only carry-ons as large suitcases would have been problamatic to maneuver around. Foyer and main floor were very attractive and sevice was friendly and helpful. Location is acceptable to most attractions but would question if any room had a good ocean view.

Room Tip: make sure it's a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conncarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Sorry you did not receive a room with an Ocean view; next time, please call us direct at the property to assist with your suite option(s).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed for two night's, hotel is walking distance from the Santa Monica Pier, and the 3rd street promanade. All the rooms are suites so that's a plus, staff were great, parking is all valet about $22.00 per night, it's LA so it's expected, no complaint's. All pro's no con's, great hotel I highly recommened it. Front desk staff gave my 4 year old daughter crayons and a Sponge Bob coloring book upon on check in, which she really enjoy and not to mention the wonderful warm cookies :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rae P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
I have shared with our Team here you very positive review; thank you very much. Also, we hope that your daughter continues to enjoy the coloring book.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Came here for a fellas excursion for my frat brothers birthday. We have nothing but positive things to say:

*Great location in Santa Monica- restaurants, stores in walking distance
*Room is nice and clean
*front desk workers were quite helpful, except one Asian looking female (she was dismissive)
*Valet workers were the most humble, efficient, and pleasant staff
*This hotel works because the you get more bang for your buck in terms of spacing.

I would recommend this hotel for young professionals on a group trip who want so kick it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deerych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for recommending our property as a great value proposition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch,New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights enroute from New Zealand to England. The location was excellent with the beach, pier and shops only a short walk away, but far enough away to ensure quietness at the hotel. The rooms were spacious and clean and staff welcoming and helpful. Rooms were lovely and quiet and with good blackout drapes for those overwhelmed by jet lag moments. The restaurant offered a dinner buffet - this had a very small selection but what was there was superb with the steak being one of the best I have ever eaten - especially for the price. The location is fantastic to just relax and explore on foot. Perfect if you are just looking for some relaxation and time zone adjustment rather than the 'big' manic theme part attractions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadHattor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Heartened to read you found our location excellence along with the quietness
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission KS
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at this property about five years ago and it was ok, not great. In the meantime the rooms have received a freshening and the service has tightened up. The rooms are in the old Embassy Suites format (if you are familiar with that). Valet-only service here for parking was easy peasy. Room service was up to standards and exceeded on out-of-timeframe requests (much appreciated! oatmeal is great anytime!). All extra amenity requests were accommodated within minutes. Staff was friendly but not overbearing. Housekeeping was spot on-the room was perfectly clean and the bed was comfortable. I am hhonors and have stayed at many Doubletrees and this is now one of my favorites. Location is close to a lot -if it is warm and you are a walker there is a lot within range. If not a walker, there is a ton within a 5 minute drive. While this is not a 4-star hotel, it is definitely at the high level of a Doubletree and does not have the 4-star price. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Please do not make it five years again between visits; in the meantime, we will continue to improve upon our offerings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,715 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Address: 1707 Fourth Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing