We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Embassy Suite style upgraded to Double Tree standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

I am guessing the site used to be an embassy suites. Good news if you know that style and format of rooms since this configuration remains. Outer room and inner edroom great for families with kids wanting to save money with one room
Even better the linen and amenities are upgraded to doubletree standards (the sheets are much nicer for instance)
The decor is a little tired and worn but the staff more than make up for that with great friendly and helpful service
All this just a few blocks from te beach and boardwalk
Be warned though.. No self park so you are stuck with relatively expensive valet parking.
Also very convenient for getting to the highway and into LA surrounding areas

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrNic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,839 - 1,845 of 2,717 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for just a weekend. We'd gotten a discount rate due to our friend's wedding, not sure what the rate would be normally. For such a short stay, I have no complaints. It's a short walk away from the Santa Monica Pier and shopping at the 3rd Street Pomenade. You have to park valet but the staff was great, very courteous. Can't beat the arrival cookie! ;)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supercharger5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is a great hotel with very spacious rooms. While not right on top of the beach or the downtown area, it is still walking distance to them. Great friendly service too.

Easy access by taxi/town car to LAX - sometimes it can take just 15 mins if you are lucky like we were.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2AussieTravellers104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed here recently for 5 nights in october with friends,as we were doing a tour of america and had stayed in many hotels this by far was the best we stayed in. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, Gary in the bar was very friendly and made us very welcome every night,angel in the breakfast room and enrique the valet and the concierge were all great too.hotel is in a great location and walking distance to the pier,beach, shops and restaurants. It was lovely touch to receive warm cookies on checking in,Our room was very modern and very clean. Will definitely return here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shiv000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Great location, but a little overpriced. Walking distance to the beach, Santa Monica Place shopping and many great restaurants and bars. Can't say how the spa or breakfast was, although this makes you rate it (I suppose, based on everything else, it would be really good).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had to stay here for a family celebration, in July. We tried to get better than the "group rate", because it was so much, but could not. If you are visiting Los Angeles from out of state, I would say there are many nicer properties for the same cost, just do not bother staying in Santa Monica. If you must, like we had to, it is the most reasonable for families.This hotel is in a very convenient location for both reaching the airport and the center of Santa Monica. Large suites, fun elevators and atrium, and a pool.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J-mom-of-three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We booked the Double Tree Suites 4 months ago, paying in advance for a 3 night stay as the final leg of a road trip.

Due to illness (including spending 6 hours in a medical centre on a drip), we were unable make the 5 hour journey to the hotel on the first night of our booking.

Not to worry we thought, we still have two night’s accommodation booked and paid for, so a room should be waiting.

When we arrived to check in on the afternoon of the 17th Oct, we were informed by the rude receptionist that as we hadn’t checked in the previous day, our reservation had been cancelled. She stated that they were fully booked so no rooms were available, that we would lose all our money and would have to ring round to find an alternative hotel. I pointed out that we had paid in advance for 3 night’s accommodation and therefore expected there to be a room available for the nights that had been booked.

After being told to wait 10 minutes, a room was miraculously found despite them being ‘fully booked’ (although this wasn’t the suite that we had booked). At no point were we given any form of apology. Instead, we were informed that ‘that’s how all hotels operate’ and if we wanted to get our money back for the night we didn’t stay, we would ‘have to take it up with our travel agent’.

All in all this was an extremely unpleasant first impression of this hotel and it tainted the rest of our stay.

We would suggest that the focus be less on the chocolate chip cookies that they talk about constantly and more on providing a helpful and friendly service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
5  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,998 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
644 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Hampton Inn & Suites Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica

Address: 1707 Fourth Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $276 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing