We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Near The Ocean In Santa Monica”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

For our recent trip to LA we wanted a hotel on the beach near West LA. We decided to stay in Santa Monica. When we could not find a hotel we liked on the beach, we decided to stay at the Double Tree. It was a very good decision. It is about four blocks from the Santa Monica Pier, and one block from the Third Street Promenade shopping area. We could even see the ocean from our sixth floor suite. The one bedroom suite was exactly what we wanted. It was clean and quiet with free WiFi. There was a small kitchenette with a microwave and refrigerator in the room. There was also a small pool, hot tub, and gym on the third floor. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. It was about 5 blocks to a Whole Food grocery where you could buy food for breakfasts and lunches. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant since it seemed overpriced, and it was just a short walk to many other good restaurants. My only complaint about this hotel is the $28 parking fee. Even if this may be typical for nice hotels in LA, it seemed excessive since you could park for $5 per day in the municipal parking lot right across the street which is very safe since it is right next to the police station.

Room Tip: I would choose a room facing the ocean on an upper floor at the end of the hall away from the atrium...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTSbHGeneralManager, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

John C;

Thanks for taking the timme to write such a nice review on our hotel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay! Parking and food at any of the area major hotels is not an inexpensive venture. That said, many guests feel there is good value with our Breakfast Buffet. Parking across the street is always an option but is certainly less desirable than using a smiling valet paraker who does the work for you. Good tip though!

Thanks again for your input. We are truly glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,605)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,754 - 1,760 of 2,605 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed two nights here ending our California tour. The hotel is a standard Doubletree setup and is clean with all the facilities you expect from a Hilton.

Unfortunately we has a room on the fourth floor facing the road and the noise at night was far to high. Also the free Internet connection was very poor in the room, disconnecting every few seconds at some points. We were on holiday so not so important but if you were business this could be a real issue.

Breakfast was good, we had the $20 buffet one morning and plenty of different choices.

Strangely there was no shower gell in the bathroom, only soap. We were running low but the time we got to Santa Monica.

Room Tip: Get a room not on the road side.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin_Welwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTSbHGeneralManager, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Mr. Welwyn;

First, thank you for your input regarding your recent stay with us in Santa Monica. If I may address the comment about inadequate internet service. Fortunately, although you are "right on" that the current system is a bit inadequate, the good news is that the upgrades needed to make it the fastest internet service at any hotel in the area are being installed as this is written! However, please accept my apologies if this impacted your stay.

As for the noise complaint, it is not one we hear often, but the hotel is definitely in the heart of the action. I am sorry hat it bothered your sleep that night. If you are ever returning to the area, please call the hotel, ask for the manager and I will be sure to take great care of you!

As for the rest of your comments, it seems you were happy and enjoyed your vacation. Thank you again for your input and continued business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the hotel on our last night before flying out of LAX. We had previously been at Disney and wanted to see SM and move closer to LAX. Location is about 4 blocks from peir and promenade and plenty close for our taste. Hotel was clean and quiet and they gave us free cookies everytime we would come and go. Has outdoor pool and hot tub. Valet Parkeing only and it was $25.80. Too high, but I fiqured trying to find a cheaper spot somewhere was not worht the effort. We would definately stay here again, but it proably too far from the beach if you are planning on taking chairs, umbrellas....
I picked this hotel because it was the only place with suites for less than $250.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rucingok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This hotel was one of the best hotels on our travels down the west coast. We had a one bedroom suite which was huge! With separate living area and bedroom with a huge, very comfortable bed. Staff at check in were really friendly and so were the valet service. We did consider parking our car at the parking lot over the road as it was cheaper but decided to park it at the hotel as we felt it would be safer. It was about a 10 min walk to the pier and there is are all lovely shopping area in Santa Monica. I felt like 2 nights was not enough at this hotel as it was so nice and there is a lot to explore in and around Santa Monica.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jimrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTSbHGeneralManager, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear jimrac,
Thank you for choosing our DoubleTree Suites by Hilton in Santa Monica during your recent tour of the West Coast. Our team was thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your visit and wish you could have stayed longer too! We look forward to hosting you again during your next visit from the UK.
Kind regards,
Morgan Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This was my second trip to Santa Monica and we booked the doubletree suite for four of us.We were only 10mins walk from the pier and 3rd st promanade. Santa monica is a beautiful place and very laid back. The hotel is spotlessly clean ,The suite would easily sleep a family of six .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christinesmillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed two nights recently, literally from arrival to departure the full staff ( valet, bellman, front desk, coffee bar, restaurant hostess & waitstaff) were friendly in what truly seemed a sincere way. Very nice large facility. Two room suite w/nice view of ocean. Realize you're four full blocks away. My wife and I are walkers so walks to ocean west of hotel and retail/restaurant areas more north were pleasant. Is hilly, everything of interest was within 3 miles or less round trip.

Lots of nice casual but med to upscale restaurants in area.

Found fisherman wharf pier touristy. Nice small area of rides w/ prettyferis wheel. Restaurants on pier turis stuff.

Had breakfast buffet one morning food and service exceptional. We had vouchers for free buffet both mornings but only used one day. Waiter still very attentive even though knew we had voucher. Coffee served in large insulted carafe left on table. Omelets and other eggs cooked to order. Variety of ingredients available to add to omelet. Line cook grilled these prior to putting in omelet. Preparation was well above normal for this type of lodging. Large selection fresh fruit, fresh juices, breads & pastries, breakfast meats & sides, sliced cold ham & turkey as well as selection of sliced cheeses. $ 18.95 pp normally so not cheap.

Nightly parking approx $ 28 as well.

Would stay again in a heart beat. Area hotels are high, so for attractiveness of hotel & location fairly priced.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTSbHGeneralManager, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear M C,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our DoubleTree Suites by Hilton in Santa Monica. It is rewarding to know that our staff exceeded your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will be able to return soon!
Kind regards,
Morgan Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel was not the biggest or most grand hotel we have ever stayed in but it was certainly one of the best. It had all the facilities you could wish for & apart from it's excellent location, I have never been to a hotel with more pleasant or helpful staff. The hotel cleanliness was second to none.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pagltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,894 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
607 reviews
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,604 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica

Address: 1707 Fourth Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $267 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing