We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - I will definitely go back there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great hotel - I will definitely go back there”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was the last hotel we stayed in on our touring holiday of the west coast of the USA. We went here in Aug with family. Probably the best hotel of them all apart from the Alara in Vegas. We took a 1 bedroom suite and it had a couple of massive queen beds plus a massive sofa bed so we could easily fit in 6 people. My 17 yr old loved the free gym and we all enjoyed the pool which was not too crowded, in the sun for virtually all the day, perfect temperature. Parking was meant to be valet but to avoid this faily expensive way, just park over the road in the open car park and its $10 for the day. The hotel parking is quite a lot more but very convenient if you want to go with that. The pier is about a 10 min walk. Not far really unless you are disabled or have difficulty walking. All very safe too with the police station next to the hotel. Convenient for the motorway. I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We had room 707 which had a view out of the back of the hotel towards a baseball ground. It was OK b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodders1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    946
    1,105
    329
    124
    59
See reviews for
1,210
593
86
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

we arrived in Santa Monica from New York and found the hotel to be excellent. My family of 5 shared a suite and there was plenty of room for us all. The kids loved going to the outdoor pool on the 3rd floor and enjoyed the gym. The Hotel was spotless and staff were very helpful. We only used the valeting car parking services once as we found the car park over the road was cheaper and perfectly safe. We spent lots of time exploring Santa Monica and enjoyed cycling to Venice Beach. We chose to breakfast at the local IHOP nearby so didnt eat at the hotel as we had lots of restaurants to chose from. We used the hotel as a base when we travelled to the 6 Flags theme park which was good fun. The climate is perfect at Santa Monica and we found the temperature rose sharply as we left the coast. Each morning there was a sea mist but it soon burnt off. A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davenfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, ME
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Over the years I've stayed at many fine hotels but I can't recall ever feeling so appreciated as a customer during a recent 3 night stay at this hotel. Every member of the hotel staff, including the parking attendants, greeted us with a smile & courtesy and couldn't seem to do enough for us. In this often rude and surly world it was quite a refreshing experience. I thought about staying at The Shore Hotel, The Georgian or The Shangri-la as they overlook the ocean but they're also all right on a very busy street and much more expensive. The Doubletree is only a short walk (a couple of blocks) away from The Pier, the beach and The 3rd Street Promenade. It has a striking center atrium and our room was clean and well maintained. Parking (Valet) is extra ($25/night) but that seems to be the norm in SM. There was a large parking garage right across 4th Street that might be less expensive if you're just leaving the car there for your entire stay. The hotel has a nice secluded outside pool and the exercise room was larger and better equipped than in many more expensive properties. To top it off, we even had a glimpse of the ocean over the top of the garage from our 6th floor room on the 4th Street side. I'm very pleased to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachSeeker2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here for three nights with our family of four in a one-bedroom suite. Usual layout of (large) separate bedroom, with family bathroom and kitchenette/living area with double sofabed. Had paid for a higher floor room with city views, but were initially put in the wrong room-type. (This has happened to us before with Hilton, so I would always advise checking room-type at reception. It is not always the hotel's mistake particularly if you book through a third-party.) We were eventually moved to the proper room-type for our last night, and given complimentary breakfast for the inconvenience. Many of the rooms look out from the living-area into an atrium internal to the hotel. We were initially in a room of this type, and basically kept the curtains drawn whilst in the room to maintain a level of privacy. Important when you are using the sofabed. Noise was not particularly an issue, and some travellers may in fact prefer this arrangement as it does give an extra level of security for single or elderly travellers. The hotel is very well-maintained indeed, with lovely public areas, a nice pool and good gym. There are also laundry facilities on the 3rd floor only, so look to launder early as these facilities can be busy during the day. The location is great as previously described, and we spent evenings walking to the many shops and restaurants in the area. Highly recommend the buzzy 3rd Avenue Promenade. The guys hired a rod and bait and fished from the Santa Monica pier for just a few dollars. Talking a walk down to Venice Beach along the promenade is a fun experience! We managed perfectly well without a car for the entire stay. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentTravelFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the DoubleTree Suites as our last stop along our amazing road trip from San Francisco to LA. The is a very large hotel right in the heart of Santa Monica. The Santa Monica pier is within walking distance, but mostly everything in LA you need to drive to. The rooms are very nice - modern, clean, very nice bathrooms. You have to pay for parking (valet) and you have to pay for breakfast, but that is very typical for city hotels. The servie was excellent. When we needed our car we just called the concierge before we left and they had our car ready in front. The location is good because you can enjoy Santa Monica, but you can also just drive to Hollywood, Beverly Hills and all to other must see LA spots. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Logan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Succasunna, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel is really close to the beach. It was great strolling the 2 blocks for a day in the inviting ocean any time we wanted -which was our main reason for selecting the hotel. The desk clerk said the water would be 50- It was almost 80. I guess she never went swimming! It was just what we wanted after 7 days in 105 degree the Palm Springs area. But after a busy day in L.A. the hotel.is a little far from restaurants if you want to just stroll out the door. . It is a hike to anything. So for 2 breakfasts & 1 dinner we simply ate in the hotel restaurant which is somewhat spartan & has TERRIBLE COFFEE. When I asked they told me that you can order Starbucks which has a kiosk in the lobby! The hotel staff are terrific. BUT this was the best reason - when we had dinner one night - the chef came out & went to every party in the restaurant to ask us how our food was. I though this was terrific. The young woman in charge of the car parking service was great also.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RHoffman_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent one night. About a ten minute walk to the beach. Rooms are nice sized, pool and work out room were nice too. I have nothing negative to say about it at all. We did eat there too and it was OK, not great, however what you would expect from a hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, you can see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravelfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,860 reviews
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
648 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,549 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Address: 1707 Fourth Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing