We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair hotel for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Santa Monica/los Angeles
Ranked #32 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Fair hotel for the price”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I really expected to be a lower rate hotel, but everything was really clean, no complaints, it looks like the room was recently renewed. Good costumer service from everyone at the front desk, except an asian guy he was kind of rude.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank more5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom_Yang_DAYS-INN_SM, Manager at Days Inn Santa Monica/los Angeles, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
We are pleased your stay at the Days Inn Santa Monica was satisfactory. My humblest apology however for any perceived rudeness. Due to language barriers, the tone of voice CAN be misconstrued. Please accept our invitation to visit us if you're staying in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    116
    148
    74
    56
See reviews for
123
139
41
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This is a basic hotel that does well on the important things like clean rooms, good quality bedding, good shower and quite a spacious room. The latter was quite useful as we had an energetic 3 year old who needed play space. The breakfast was not the healthiest and the fruit not always fresh. But on the positive the reception staff couldn't be nicer or more helpful if they tried. I didn't have contact with the manager Tom but he didn't seem to have the same customer service ethos as his staff. I spoke to a receptionist called Alex when booking from the UK and he was really helpful - even emailed me on his day off to let me know about car hire firms etc. LA hotels aren't cheap, so this was on the cheaper end of hotels. The location worked well for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coupleplus3yearold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom_Yang_DAYS-INN_SM, Manager at Days Inn Santa Monica/los Angeles, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments. We strive to improve everyday, and it's good to know we are on course. Please visit us again soon at the Days Inn Santa Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

After our trip to Santa Barbara, we drove down the coast and spent a few days in Santa Monica. The Days Inn is located in an okay area, within driving distance of the beach and the Santa Monica Pier. The hotel is clean and has free parking and a continental breakfast. This would have been good review had it not been for the general manager, Tom Yang. We had booked our reservations using our AARP discount and had an email with our rate. It was clearly stated that we were a party of four, two adults, two teens. Since I was using points for our first night, we had two separate reservations, one made through Wyndham rewards for the first night and a separate one for the other 3 nights. When we checked in, Mr. Yang was at the counter. He refused to accept the reservation for the first night as using points even though I had my email confirmation from Wyndham rewards. He insisted I pay for that night that very evening. When I went to check out, he was also at the counter, unfortunately, and he wanted to charge me a much higher fee per night because he said that the reservation was not for four people and he needed to charge me extra for each night. I had all this in email format and it wasn't until his own employee working the desk who came back just then showed him the reservation and said, "Tom you can't do this. We have this in writing and emailed it to her" that he agreed and honored the original reservation. As we finished up the continental breakfast and were getting ready to leave, there was another argument about the exact same thing going on with another couple who were checking out. Sorry, but I would never go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ofeliavw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom_Yang_DAYS-INN_SM, Manager at Days Inn Santa Monica/los Angeles, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
We really appreciate your comments, and your qualms are duly noted. Please understand we are constantly striving to improve our guests' experience with us, and feedback both good and bad will help in the long term. We hope you consider visiting us again soon, and thank you again for your words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Monica hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This hotel is well-located, but has truly seen better days. It's clean, and there is free parking. There is a complimentary continental breakfast, served in a tiny alcove, in which signs are prominently displayed, saying "Don't take any food out of this room". I had the breakfast there once, after which I preferred to drive to D&K Donuts, a few blocks away. My main complaint is that during my stay, there was a fire-alarm that went off at 1:10 a.m. for approximately 20 minutes. A call to the front desk gleaned the info that this was a false alarm and that the fire department was on the way.

Problem was, once the alarm was turned off, it would go off again at intermittent times, for short, or a series of short blasts. This lasted for another hour. Needless to say, the night's rest was severely compromised.

When I went to check out, a day later, I inquired as to whether I might receive a partial credit for that terrible night. I was told dismissively by the owner that no one had complained. I said that *I* was complaining, now. He again dismissed me with the comment, "It was totally out of our control. No control over that."

I responded, "Okay. Know what's in my control? Where I stay the next time I'm in town. And it won't be here."

Amenities were bare minimum: shampoo, lotion and soap. No conditioner, or other niceties.

The room DID have an iron and ironing board, and blow dryer, along with a fridge. No microwave.

The carpeting was clean, but would "crunch" when you walked in certain areas of the room - perhaps the backing was coming away from the carpet or something, but it was disconcerting, nonetheless.

There is a weird little terrace on the 4th floor, with odd little sculptures and gold star-shaped placards in the walls with the names of the presidents of the United States (with the notable exception of Obama). The only furniture on the terrace was a ratty glider with cushions that were ripped and frayed and really, REALLY dirty.

The exercise equipment and location(s) is just plain weird. A bike would be by itself in a small, windowed, 5x5 foot walled area. A treadmill was located in the hallway on the third floor. Random and off-putting. Really? You want me to exercise in the hallway, right off the elevator? Um... no thank you.

Room Tip: The upgraded King rooms provide a really spacious balcony area, and have microwaves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebBooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom_Yang_DAYS-INN_SM, Manager at Days Inn Santa Monica/los Angeles, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate any comments whether good or bad in helping us improve guest experience. Rooms are constantly being updated, so any tips are of help. Our breakfast is ironically enough provided by D&K Donuts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

One of the best hotels of its type we've stayed in. Clean. Efficiently run (we arrived late and were checked in within a minute). Good continental breakfast (hard-boiled eggs provided for protein; all items refilled right to the end). Nice color-scheme inside and out. Our room had a usable balcony. Not easy walking distance to the beach, but about halfway between I-405 and the coast, so pretty convenient. Video-surveilled underground free parking. Good elevator. The staff was friendly but not all over you. Just did their jobs.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clearsound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom_Yang_DAYS-INN_SM, Manager at Days Inn Santa Monica/los Angeles, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate hearing that your stay with us was pleasant. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
594 reviews
Santa Monica
Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Ocean Park Inn
Ocean Park Inn
#34 of 36 in Santa Monica
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#28 of 36 in Santa Monica
434 reviews
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
522 reviews
Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#26 of 36 in Santa Monica
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Santa Monica/los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Santa Monica/los Angeles

Property: Days Inn Santa Monica/los Angeles
Address: 3007 Santa Monica Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90404-2505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Santa Monica/los Angeles 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Santa Monica/los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Santa Monica Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing