We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They don't call it the "Comfort" Inn for nothing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewed June 5, 2008

We just returned from a 3-day weekend jaunt to L.A., and after weighing the pros and cons of a handful of moderately priced hotels here on tripadvisor, we settled on the Comfort Inn in Santa Monica – and I’m pleased to report we made the right decision!

If you’re in L.A. purely as a tourist, the location couldn’t be better, situated on Santa Monica Blvd. only a mile or so away from the beach, Santa Monica Pier, the popular 3rd St. Promenade shopping area, and access to the Pacific Coast Highway. Some people here have complained that it’s not within walking distance to these attractions – well, I guess that all depends on how much time you have, and how much you like walking. While we opted to drive the short distance down the street to these areas, had we had more time in the city, it would have been an easy walk there and back. There were also complaints about a lack of restaurants in the area – on the contrary, within only a block or so towards the ocean, I noticed an appealing looking Italian Bistro, a newish Thai restaurant, and for those who prefer, a liberal smattering of fast food restaurants and coffee shops (including the previously mentioned IHOP). If you point your car in the other direction, Santa Monica Blvd. will take you into the heart of Beverly Hills and Hollywood, with access to all major highways. Bottom line, absolutely no complaints about the location of this hotel.

From the moment we arrived, we were attended to by very friendly, helpful and accommodating front desk personnel, who assigned us a comfortably sized room with one king size and one queen size bed. (We were a party of three adults – this was perfect). And they don’t call this the “Comfort” Inn for nothing – these had to be, bar none, the most comfortable hotel beds I’ve ever slept in (and I’ve stayed in places as luxurious as the Four Seasons in the past). Just the right amount of firmness in both the mattresses and the many pillows provided. Slept like a dream!

Overall, the room was clean and well appointed with a mini-fridge and microwave, ironing board and iron. A bonus for my daughter and I was the HUGE bathroom which was well stocked with fluffy white linens, a built in hairdryer, and mirrors running the entire length of a very long counter.

While many hotels in this class offer variations of a complimentary breakfast (make your toast, yogurt, cold cereal, etc.) it’s been our experience that the Comfort Inn offers a little something extra – waffle irons and pre-measured batter to make your own (large) homemade Belgian waffles – delicious! After warm waffles topped with sliced banana and syrup, we were good to go for a busy day of shopping and sightseeing.

This hotel also offers an enclosed pool area – although we never made use of this facility during our stay, had we been there for a longer period, I’m sure we would have spent some down time chilling at an umbrella table or catching some sun on a lounge chair. The pool, while relatively small, appeared clean and well-maintained.

Plenty of free parking behind this hotel – we were even fortunate that our room was on ground level with parking directly outside our door – and the room was surprisingly very quiet for the hotel being situated on such a well-travelled main street. Only two things come to mind that could be improved upon, but I’m nitpicking here – no WiFi internet access, however, we were provided with an Ethernet cable by the front desk (at no extra charge). We also enquired about the possibility of storing our luggage there after checkout, as our flight home wasn’t until much later that evening, and were informed they don’t have the facilities to do so. Certainly not dealbreakers by any means.

If what you’re after is a reasonably priced, non-luxury hotel to call home in a convenient area, with a (very) comfortable place to lay your head, you can’t go wrong with the Comfort Inn in Santa Monica. Should our travels take us to L.A. again, I’d re-book there again without hesitation!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Noelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 634 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2007

We stayed at the Comfort Inn on Santa Monica Blvd while visiting relatives in town. We had never stayed in this area before but were very pleasantly surprised. The room weren't huge and you entered them from fake grass patio/walkways but it was clean and comfortable.

We've always felt that Calif. was overpriced compared to the rest of the country but this was a good value for a city. The morning breakfast room was terrific with a make your own belgian waffle bar, bagels, fresh fruit and nice table to eat at next to the pool. The pool was small and next to the parking lot but still o.k. for the kids. There was a Carl, Jr. right next door and a McDonald's across the street which we walked to one time for a quick bite. Not living in a cityat home, it did make us feel sad to see the homeless people outside of these fast food places.

We would definitely stay there again and felt it was very good value compared to some of the fancier places in town right down the street.

Hope you enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank fourhikersarewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2007

We stayed at the Comfort Inn in Santa Monica for 4 days in July. While it is not luxurious, the room was clean and spacious enough for 2 queen beds. The bes and pillows were exceptionally comfortable. The bathroom was immaculate and the heated outdoor pool was a plus. There is a cafe across the street --essentially a diner-- where the food is good. While the hotel is not walking distance to the beach, there is a bus that stops in front of the hotel that goes down Santa Monica Blvd. to the 3d Street Promenade and the beach--much more convenient than trying to deal with parking. It's not too far to drive to the Getty Center, Beverly Hills, the Los Angeles County Museum, etc. Overall a good basic and reasonably priced hotel for the area.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank mardigras9797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2007

The location of this hotel is around some hospitals and medcal treatment offices. The reception person was rude and impersonnal when we booked in. Our room on the second floor was 'tiny', that is about the best I can say for it. The wash basin is outside the bathroom and the bathroom itself was a joke. The room smelt of dissinfectant and we had to open the door daily to try and get rid off the smell. You cannot walk to the beach as it is 2 miles away. The nearest decent restaurant is an IHop which is a long, long walk away. The area of the hotel is dirty and full of bums asking you for money, not a nice place for a walk. It is overpriced and the only redeeming feature is the breakfast which is adequate and free parking. After our booking in, the other receptionists were friendly and we spent most of the evenings on the free internet. If you just want a room stay here, if you want a holiday go further towards the beach.

Stayed: June 2007
7  Thank sardross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2007

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank lane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2007

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank nomadsIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2007

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank lostmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
#17 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,258 reviews
Santa Monica
Days Inn Santa Monica/los Angeles
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
721 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
635 reviews
Santa Monica
Hampton Inn & Suites Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Santa Monica

Address: 2815 Santa Monica Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90404-2409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range: $154 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Santa Monica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Santa Monica Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing