We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2014

A boutique hotel with excellent location. Within walking distance to the 3rd St. Promenade and the Santa Monica Pier. A big plus is the Penthouse restaurant with its excellent views of the beach! The room had 2 queen sized beds and an ocean view, was immaculate and spacious enough for a family with 2 adults and kids. The A/C, however, was not working and would not go below 72.
The biggest bonus was that they provided affordable private transportation to nearby locations ( for the price of a cab).
The staff was mostly courteous and helpful but there was an unhappy girl at the shop who was not very nice to another client and was a tad unpleasant to us. She must have been having a bad day!
i strongly recommend The Huntley!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakadera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Lakadera,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased that you had a wonderful stay, with the exception of the female attendant in the Coffee Shop. Regardless that this is a separate concession, I will make sure to personally meet with the Owner as this is a reflection of our overall Huntley service. We look forward to your return and please feel free to contact me personally, so that I may assist you with your future accommodations. With our sincere appreciation for your business.
Tim Lee - Hotelier Consultant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,303)
There are newer reviews for Huntley Santa Monica Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

578 - 584 of 1,303 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2014

I visited the Huntley in July 2013 and what an amazing experience it was to visit the west coast.

Excellent location, the beach is a 5-10 minute walk as its not on the street level and you have to walk down to it. All the shops, restaurants, Starbucks, bookstores are all of walking distance of the hotel.

The Staff were always friendly and extremely helpful.

NO FREE WIFI which is a downfall but not the end of the world as they have open street wifi in most locations around the shops etc. Wifi charge i think was but $12 a day or something like that. But they do have MACs that you can use in their business area with free printing facilities which was handy for directions and printing boarding passes.

In terms of main attractions of LA going to downtown and hollywood and other sights i would advise getting a car rental with a sat nav. Much cheaper than taxis and you can explore all that you want with no time pressure or at no extra cost . Valet parking was well operated but the daily charge is a little pricey $33 per day.

The hotel has amazing views, we were located on the 8th floor and it was just picture perfect. The hotel does have a restaurant and bar which is very nice and again the views from the very top are just breathe taking.

I stayed in a room which had 4 people which was a little bit of a squeeze as the rooms are not that big enough to cater 4 adults but it did have 2 double beds. But we were out most of day so the space wasn't a real issue.

NOTE: Friday and saturdays nights are busy as people socialise at the top floor bar and restaurant and then it eventually turns into a club with the music and guests being a little noisy so if you like your peace and quiet don't have a room too high up to the Top floor.

As it was hot the mini fridge was quite small so its hard to store your own drinks or snacks inside as they pack it out with expensive treats. But if you ask they can empty it out for you to use at your own leisure!

Overall a lovely stay! I would definitely return to the Huntley when next in Santa Monica.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not too near to the restaurant level!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yemi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear Yemi O,
Thank you for sharing your positive and memorable experience with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed Santa Monica Beach and all that it has to offer! The Huntley Santa Monica Beach is truly situated in most ideal location, close walking proximity to all that one requires. We do provide complimentary mini refrigerators which you would appreciate. When you make your future room reservations with us, kindly inform our reservations agents and they will be most happy to ensure one is placed in your room for all future visits! We look forward to your return Yemi and please contact me if I can be of assistance. Sincerely, Tim Lee-Hotelier Consultant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stay there with the family and it was perfect. The room are clean and with all the amenity. The buidling is very beautifll, you start from the lobby that is very net and modern, to the room, The restaurnta has good service and the food is very good, place to come back and stay.

Room Tip: Room clean and very big.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickyus-newyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Rickyus-newyork,
Thank you for sharing your Huntley experience with us. We are so appreciative for giving us the opportunity to provide you with the service you expect and deserve. Our dedicated staff are truly wonderful and understand that we are in the people business, thus providing personalized service.
Please visit us again and if I can be of any assistance to you, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Thank you for your business. Tim Lee-Hotelier Consultant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

I'm in LA once a month and this is a nice hotel... Great location and excellent staff... For sure my preferred hotel when in Santa Monica... I generally stay at the Sheraton and the only thing I missed was that lovely espresso machine.,. Wish these guys at least had a coffee machine... Outside of that it was great :)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Ritu K,
It is an honor and privilege to have you as our guests and our sincere appreciation for your business. We do provide coffee makers and tea kettles upon requests. Also freshly ground coffee grains replenished daily for all our valued guests! We look forward to your return when your travels brings you back to sunny Santa Monica Beach. Thank you Ritu and we hope to see you soon. Tim Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Location perfect for beach and shops. Great views of the beach and surrounding area. Hotel manager David was very professional and accommodating. Hotel staff were very friendly and attentive. Room was crisp and fresh, with several great views.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Jason G,
It was an honor and privilege to have you as our guests here at The Huntley Santa Monica Beach.
Our dedicated and loyal staff are focused to ensure every guests departs with wonderful memories. We look forward to your return and our sincere appreciation Jason for your business and the trust placed in us. Thank you, Tim Lee - Hotelier Consultant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Simply put, I LOVE this place. I go to LA 4 - 5 times a year for business and stay here every time. It's gorgeous, great service, perfect location, and has a sexy bar/restaurant on the top floor that I really appreciate. Stay here. You won't find better - I guarantee it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Jill R,
Thank you for being a very loyal guest here at The Huntley Santa Monica Beach. It is an honor and privilege to have you as our guest. We look forward welcoming you home again and again and again! New York can get very cold and we are happy to assist your with your next reservations so that you can spend your time here at sunny Santa Monica Beach. With our sincere appreciation Jill for your business. Tim Lee - Hotelier Consultant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Saturday night my boyfriend and I stayed at the Huntley Hotel and it was a really great experience. The room was decorated so tastefully and had Bulgari bath products to boot. The bed and bedding were top notch and so very comfy. We happened to have great views of the city and ocean. The staff was attentive and welcoming. We had Sunday Brunch at the Penthouse and more great views and lovely decor. My mushroom, Gruyere omelette was perfect. We also stopped in Saturday night and it was lively and bustling. We love the lobby, the concierge and front desk were so ready to help us and the valet was fast. Even waiting for your car is comfortable with over sized couches, fire pit and a fabulous huge mirror outside.

We loved every minute of our stay and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear Allison458,
We are pleased that you and your boyfriend had a most memorable stay with us! The Huntley Santa Monica Beach, truly is situated in the most convenient location. Our staff do their very best to provide personalized service...afterall we are in the "People Business!". We look forward to your return when your travels brings you back to sunny Santa Monica Beach. With our sincere appreciation Allison for your business and trust placed in us. Thank you, Tim Lee - Hotelier Consultant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,891 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,584 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
607 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntley Santa Monica Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntley Santa Monica Beach

Address: 1111 2nd St, Santa Monica, CA 90403-5003 (Formerly The Huntley Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range: $371 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Huntley Santa Monica Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Huntley Santa Monica Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing