We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value in a good location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huntley Santa Monica Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good value in a good location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Last month my wife and I stayed five nights at the Huntley in a king room on the 10th floor. We had never stayed in Santa Monica before and decided to stay there after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor.

It is one street back from the sea front (Ocean Avenue) and, as a consequence, is more moderately priced than those hotels which look directly onto the sea. Our room had a good view of the sea and was well appointed for the price. A short walk away is the Third Street Promenade (a quite pleasant shopping mall with shops and a few restaurants). The Santa Monica Pier is about a fifteen minute walk away - although don't bother paying it a visit unless you are into tacky tourist rubbish. The hotel is situated on a quiet tree lined street and there was no traffic noise.


Having read other reviews on Trip Advisor we were ready for the darker than usual reception area and did not find that a problem. The darker than usual theme is followed through into the hallways leading to our room but we were told that the hallways are being renovated and the dark theme is being replaced.

The other major plusses of the hotel (apart from the price and its location) was the 18th floor rooftop restaurant and bar and a particularly charming and helpful guest relations lady by the name of Elizabeth. Tip, you will have to ask where the guest relations is because there is no such thing as a sign where she and her colleagues are located.

Firstly, Elizabeth was not only helpful in answering questions and fixing any minor issues but also made a sensible suggestion of hiring some bikes from the hotel and riding a few kilometres along the beach bike track to Venice Beach. (It is a hard call which is more tacky - the Santa Monica Pier or the area around the foreshore of Venice Beach - but the bike ride experience was well worth it - even if some of the beach goers almost insisted on dicing with getting injured by walking along the bike path even though their walk path was clearly signed.)

Secondly, the 18th floor roof top restaurant and bar is a real bonus. The area has great views, north and south, towards the ocean and back towards the downtown area of Los Angeles. It is well worth paying a visit. The service is excellent.

I only have one negative to report about The Huntley and that is that they wanted to charge for Wi-Fi. In this day and age and given that it probably likes to regard itself as a four star hotel giving guests a high standard of accommodation and services - such a policy is almost insulting. We did not end up having to pay this charge (long story) but in our 5 weeks in the USA from staying at Washington DC, Boston, New York and Las Vegas - this was the only hotel which wanted to charge us.

Would we say here again ? - definitely and hopefully they would have changed their policy about charging for Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterandAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear PeterandAnne,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we are pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us. We appreciate your feedback so that we may continue to improve. We have shared your positive comments to our staff and to Elizabeth our Director of Guest Services. We look forward welcoming you back Peter and Anne. With our deepest appreciation for your business.
Tim Lee
Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    368
    149
    73
    52
See reviews for
243
452
58
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here in June after being married in Vegas and were treat absolutely amazing especially from Elizabeth on concierge! She got us a booth table in the penthouse restaurant! Our room was upgraded to ocean view and when we arrived in it they had champagne on ice with chocolate strawberries! All staff unbelievably friendly and service second to none! We may not have seen any celebrities but we were certainly treat like one! Thank you staff at the Huntley and especially elizabeth for making our honeymoon unforgettable!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Donna C,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and we are pleased that your stay was a memorable one. We have shared your nice comments with Elizabeth Wilson-Hoyles; Director of Guest Services and we thank you for taking the time to recognize our hard working staff. We look forward welcoming you again, when your travels brings you back to sunny Santa Monica Beach. We sincerely appreciate your business Donna.
Tim Lee
Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We should have known something was up when the front desk gave us an ocean view room on the top floor. Didn't they know we had the special wedding group rate? Wow, we really scored-- what a great view? I can see the beach while I pee! We finally got the joke when we returned from the wedding at midnight, exhausted from dancing, only to discover that our room was directly under a dance club, which resulted in constant foot clomping right above our heads. I knew the hotel had a bar/lounge, but I was unaware that it was an actual club of some sort. I called the front desk and learned that this would continue until 1:30am. They offered to move us, but obviously by this point I was way too tired and undressed to be roaming the halls. When we checked out, they gave us 50% off the room, which is fine but what I really would have liked was some warning, and perhaps an option to take a non-dance club room.

Also, about an hour after we checked in- so about 4pm-- the maid used her key to let herself into our room. I had heard a tiny scratching noise that did not resemble knocking in any way. I called the front desk about that as well, and got a limp apology.

That said, the decor was nice, the view was great, and we enjoyed the restaurant. Great location, of course. But none of that means anything when the front desk fails to mention that there will be all night foot stomping.

Room Tip: Not the 17th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotel Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Stephanie72,
Thank you for your feedback so that we may improve. We sincerely apologize that you were not informed of noise which can be heard from our very top floor. We are pleased that overall, our service met your expectations. Please contact me personally, so that I can ensure your return visit is a perfect one. Thank you.
Tim Lee
Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

From the moment we pulled up to this amazing hotel, the stellar service began. Parking attendants were very nice, check in was easy and fast. My husband and I were so pleased that 3rd street promenade was walking distance! There is so much to do, all within walking distance. Our room was very clean, beds were amazingly comfortable, shower had great water pressure!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Marie B,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We have shared your positive feedback regarding our Valet Attendants and your Room Attendants that serviced our room. We thank you for acknowledging our hard working colleagues. We look forward welcoming you back again and deepest appreciation Marie B. for your business.
Tim Lee
Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Its hard to believe that a classy hotel in Santa Monica, California not on the ocean doesn't have a pool but its true, they don't. This isn't a hotel for families, its a very cool club, bar scene and if you're going on a bender and want to crash for the night, stay here. But if you want amenities, go elsewhere. Well, maybe that's not totally fair, the restaurant on the roof has great food and a good view. The gym, oh, I meant the broom closet, is pathetic. Then again, why do you need a gym if you're drinking and partying all night. The staff is courteous, particularly the numerous car parkers, and if you stay there you will see some very cool cars. But do you go to hotels for cars? Isn't that called a garage. The rooms are tiny and dated. This was after all a converted tenement apartment building. The tv's while flat screens have poor reception. Then again, you don't really need a tv if you're hammered and just need a crash pad. All in all, its a hotel for people watching and not comfort. Oh, and by the way, this is a hike from the beach! Where's the pool? Doesn't exist. On the other hand, you can sneak into the Fairmont's pool across the street, that's where you should probably if you want amenities.

Room Tip: No pool, stay elsewhere if you want amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RowerXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear RowerXX,
Thank you for your feedback so that w may continuously improve. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. We appreciate your business and hope you will give us another opportunity, when your travels brings you back to sunny Santa Monica beach.

Thank you,
Tim Lee
Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in August and loved this hotel. Had Breakfast in Rooftop Restaurant and enjoyed views of Santa Monica Beach.
Was upgraded to ocean view room at check-in which was a lovely bonus.
Walk required to pier area, but great photo opportunity and good exercise.
Overall wonderful stay and experience, Would highly recommend this hotel. Does not have a pool

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank austravellers63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Austravellers63,
We are pleased that your experience with us was most enjoyable. Thank you for your positive review which we have shared with our staff. We look forward welcoming you back soon! With our deepest appreciation for your business.
Tim Lee
Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Hotel is in a great spot only a few blocks from everything Santa Monica has to offer. However for what they charge I would expect a little more than great ocean views. Check in staff (Elizabeth) was openly rude and our King room was very small. Pluses were the penthouse restaurant/bar and great service from the bellman (Mina).

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank danaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Danherz,
Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate your business. We sincerely apologize about Elizabeth's behavior which we take seriously and have addressed. It is only from our guests feedback are we able to continuously improve. Thank you also for acknowledging Mina our Bellman who is a great asset to our organization. We hope you will give us another opportunity and please contact me directly, so that I may ensure your return visit is a most impressive one.
Tim Lee
Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntley Santa Monica Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntley Santa Monica Beach

Property: Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Address: 1111 Second Street, Santa Monica, CA 90403 (Formerly The Huntley Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Huntley Santa Monica Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Huntley Santa Monica Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing