We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful Hotel in Santa Monica” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huntley Santa Monica Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel in Santa Monica”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in August and loved this hotel. Had Breakfast in Rooftop Restaurant and enjoyed views of Santa Monica Beach.
Was upgraded to ocean view room at check-in which was a lovely bonus.
Walk required to pier area, but great photo opportunity and good exercise.
Overall wonderful stay and experience, Would highly recommend this hotel. Does not have a pool

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank austravellers63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Austravellers63,
We are pleased that your experience with us was most enjoyable. Thank you for your positive review which we have shared with our staff. We look forward welcoming you back soon! With our deepest appreciation for your business.
Tim Lee
Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    366
    148
    72
    52
See reviews for
241
450
58
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield Beach, Florida
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Hotel is in a great spot only a few blocks from everything Santa Monica has to offer. However for what they charge I would expect a little more than great ocean views. Check in staff (Elizabeth) was openly rude and our King room was very small. Pluses were the penthouse restaurant/bar and great service from the bellman (Mina).

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank danaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Danherz,
Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate your business. We sincerely apologize about Elizabeth's behavior which we take seriously and have addressed. It is only from our guests feedback are we able to continuously improve. Thank you also for acknowledging Mina our Bellman who is a great asset to our organization. We hope you will give us another opportunity and please contact me directly, so that I may ensure your return visit is a most impressive one.
Tim Lee
Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

It's a beautiful hotel for sure, very modern and classy. The valet parking is pretty expensive but good! When we arrived 5 men came to help us out! The rooms are modern, classy and clean and we had a beautiful view on the ocean! The penthouse bar/restaurant has a breathtaking view and the breakfast is good and not too expensive! The blueberry muffin french toast was a little strange though... It was a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LillFie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear LillFie,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased that you had a great stay. We look forward to your return when your travels brings you back to sunny Santa Monica Beach! We appreciate your business.
Tim Lee
Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

If you are looking for a swimming pool, this is not the place for you. But if you want to experience breathtaking views of the beach, a glass elevator ride to the penthouse bar/restaurant, outstanding service and a prime location - book your stay here! I have stayed at this hotel on and off since 2008 and as recently as June 2013 for business and pleasure and it still holds up. It is only a few blocks from the beach, the 3rd Street Promenade and all of its shopping and restaurants and close to the freeways you need to truly explore the Los Angeles area. From the moment you walk through the fragrant lobby, you will feel like a star. The other best choice in Los Angeles near this hotel is The Viceroy, but avoid Loew's on the beach at all costs, unless you love Holiday Inn Style accomodations, dirty rooms and beds that feel like you are sleeping on top of an ironing board. Loew's Santa Monica only stays in business due to the real estate of the lot it was built on and catering to tourists.

Room Tip: No Pool or Spa, but beach 2 blocks away, gorgeous place and perfect location where you can actually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiera K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Chiera K,

Thank you for your very nice review which we have shared with our staff. We are very pleased that we exceeded your expectations. We look forward welcoming you back when your travels brings you again to sunny Santa Monica Beach! With our deepest appreciation for your business.

Tim Lee
Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Penthouse Bar/Restaurant is amazing and ensure you are their for sunset but do not stay at this hotel.

Rooms v small and dated looking. Didn't sleep due to noise from the bar on the top and people using the staircases to walk down. V loud.

Stay at Fairmont or Shutters on the Beach.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YYKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear YYKB,
We are pleased that you enjoyed our Penthouse and Lounge, which is the most popular restaurant and lounge in Santa Monica. We sincerely apologize for the noise level which is a result from our very successful restaurant. We are excited to share with you our upcoming guestroom refurbishment program. Do not hestitate to contact me personally so that I may assist you with future room accommodations. We appreciate your business.

Tim Lee
Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I'd never stayed at the Huntley before and thought it would be a nice break from Hollywood. It was so much more: I arrived quite late and the staff were superlative. I was amazed at the level of attention to detail and genuine care each of the staff reflected - from the valet car service to the bellman to check-in and a change of room (to accommodate my request for a bathtub) and a sewing kit. Frankly my check-in experience took me back in time when 5-star hotels had consummate standards across the board. The hotel and its surroundings are very intimate and here again, I believe this is the result of a great staff, personnel who are passionate bout what they do and how they do it and the intent to provide guests with a stellar experience no matter how short or long a stay. I will definitely return. Check out made me not want to leave.

Room Tip: Rooms have showers and full baths with showers, if you've a preference state it prior, either wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Theresa,
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding our very dedicated and dynamic employees. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and we sincerely thank you for your business.

Tim Lee
Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here in July 2013, as a family of 4, 2 adults and 2 children, ages 12 and 11 for 3 days.
Check in was good, not overfriendly or inviting.
I found the valet staff to be much for inviting and chatty throughout our stay than the front desk personnel.
We stayed in an oceanview room, however I would have expected to have a full oceanview, rather than half of one. A bit disappointing.
The location itself was great. A 5 minute walk to 3rd street which has all the shops and restaurant. The beach is about a 10 minute walk and the Pier is about 20.
The property itself was nice, it is around the corner from the Fairmont.
The property doesn't have a lot of amenities. The only restaurant/bar is located on the top floor, called the Penthouse, which doesn't really provide an opportunity to have a casual drink. There didn't seem to be much of a vibe here and considering you are close to LA one would think you would have some type of atmosphere.
Overall it was a good stay. Just felt like it was missing something.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcgilrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Mcgilrx,
Thank you staying with us and we are pleased that your overall stay was a pleasant one. The Penthouse Restaurant and Lounge is indeed the most popular and hottest place in Santa Monica Beach. We are very proud of our recent awards as one of Best Restaurants by Dining LA and Best Restaurant with a View. We look forward welcoming you back and do not hesitate to contact me personally if I can be of any assistance to make your stay more comfortable.

Tim Lee
Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,653 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,134 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntley Santa Monica Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntley Santa Monica Beach

Property: Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Address: 1111 Second Street, Santa Monica, CA 90403 (Formerly The Huntley Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Huntley Santa Monica Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Huntley Santa Monica Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing