We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely honeymoon stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Wexford
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely honeymoon stay!!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed here on the second leg of our honeymoon, after coming from Vegas, w thought that this hotel couldn't compare, but it did and we loved it. We found the girls on reception and the bell-boy Orlando was extremely helpful,so pleasant and well suited to the job, the concierge from Liverpool was a real lady and most helpful. Our ocean view room was gorgeous ,the view was stunning,and when we arrived we has a lovely note, champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries left for us by Kimberly, as a honeymoon treat, we were really impressed! The location of the hotel is perfect, so central! The hotel has beautiful decor and ambience. The only fault we found was on check-out the male on reception...first time we encountered him...the girls were lovely...the man was quite rude and showed no interest in whether we enjoyed our stay,etc. We stored our bags and when we returned for them again another man on the desk seemed to not care less and it took 20 minutes for our bags to appear. So I'd advise management to consider keeping the front-desk all female and friendly or perhaps Orlando would do well there, definitely friendlier than the males we encountered!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WexfordAlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear WexfordAlly,
Thank you for staying with us and we are pleased that your overall stay was a memorable one.
We have shared your positive comments to Elizabeth, Director of Guest Services, Orlando our Bellman and our front desk team. We have also addressed our short comings and it is only from our guests feedback, are we able to improve. We look forward welcoming you back soon!

Tim Lee
Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    378
    152
    74
    54
See reviews for
250
463
61
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I recently stayed for seven nights at the Huntley after a great experience there about three years ago and was appalled at the attitude of the front desk staff. Our room wasn't ready on arrival - we were told it would be five minutes - it was an hour and a half... Then it took another half hour for our bags to arrive... Any request of the front desk - and we didn't make many - were met with indifference or almost hostility... the valets/bell guys etc in comparison were extremely friendly.
My partner asked information about an airport shuttle - the woman behind the desk promised to get back to us. We heard nothing until a shuttle she booked turned up out of the blue the next day! On one evening our room had not been made up - we requested three times for the bed to be made - the response from the front desk was "it was busy today, sometimes it doesn't happen until 5pm" (it was 4.30pm) - the next morning (when we had a late checkout) housekeeping came and knocked 4 times in an hour!... It was almost amusing by the end. The great exception was Carly the concierge who was fantastic...perhaps the others should take lessons from her. I have stayed in a lot of hotels and have to say, I loved the Huntley the first time I stayed but this time round I don't know what has happened to the place! Still the location is lovely and the room is ok - just don't expect anything from the front desk - not even a "thank you" and smile on check out - and you will be fine!

Room Tip: the ocean view is only if you are standing at the window - none of the rooms face the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Jason B,

Thank you for your feedback which we are addressing with our front desk team. We sincerely apologize and it is not the service you expected, for this we failed and we hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the service you deserve. We look forward welcoming you back when your travels brings you again to Santa Monica Beach.

The Huntley management and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed at the Huntley on the second leg of our honeymoon after getting married in Vegas.we had driven from Nevada and were excited about our stay in LA .on our arrival car valets were polite and attentive,then we went to check in, the two girls at reception were sullen and sour faced. We were given our room keys after some confusion about our rooms (the receptionist almost insisting that my son and his male partner have single beds although they had booked a double... I didn't expect to find this in LA). I have to say the rooms were very nice and we had a view of the ocean which was lovely.. I then returned to reception to ask about breakfast vouchers as my paperwork said that breakfast was included.i was told in no uncertain terms that breakfast was not included and there was nothing they would do about it, at this I asked to speak to the duty manager and was told that one of the sullen girls was indeed the duty manager and her attitude stank. I realised I could do nothing in the face of such hostility and went back to my room.
My husband then went down with the e mail address of our travel providers and the name of our rep and asked very nicely if they could be emailed so that the problem could be solved before breakfast the next morning.they took down the details and promised to send the email.we then went out for food in Santa Monica.
The next morning we rang reception to see if there had been a reply to our email. We were told there had been no reply. We were resigned by this time to not having food but my husband went down to take a copy of the email to show our travel provider..the email had been sent to a completely wrong email address and they had even got our surname completely wrong for gods sake we were checked in with them.when this was pointed out to them they just shrugged and said breakfast wasn't included (this was two different equally sullen equally rude girls.)
At no point did anyone apologise or even offer us a cup of coffee I have never come across such rudeness or indifference anywhere. Please mr manager do not leave a response as we have already been in touch with you !!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Linda C,
It is unfortunate that your travel agent which you booked your room accomodations, failed to provide you the accurate information regarding breakfast vouchers. Regardless, we apologize for the inconvenience caused and we do hope you will visit us again and give us another opportunity.
Thank you,

Tim Lee
Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Altho prices are up since we first started coming here, 6-7 years, the quality and comfort remains top notch. Our king corner room had exquisite views not only from the bed, but from the shower and commode as well! Service was great. Friendly bellman, but the best and unexpected was the bartenders at the rooftop bar. The woman with red-brown hair and glasses tipped off the other bartenders and we were treated like it was a neighborhood pub, even in the height of weekend overload. They really made our stay feel personal. Standouts!

My only complaint is the slow elevators. the hotel was crowded. and the morning coffee was a bit week for the European crowd.

Room Tip: Top floors great views but longer, slower elevator rides. The 02 stack has the dreamiest northwest v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear C O,
On behalf of our management and staff, we thank you for the many years of loyalty to The Huntley. We will definitely make sure to share your review with all our staff. We look forward welcoming you back again and again. With our deepest, sincere appreciation for your business.

The Huntley management and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My first time in Santa Monica and its very well that It was gorgeous and only about 2 blocks from the beach! Very clean and we loved the modern décor, including the bathroom. Café shop was very nice!Everyone from the Valet men, front desk, concierge, room service, etc. was so helpful and friendly throughout our whole stay.

Room Tip: 7th floor is good, but sea view more better from 12-17 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaschishina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Yashishina,

Thank you for your recent review and we are pleased that you had a most enjoyable stay with us.
Our staff strive to provide every guest a memorable experience. We look forward welcoming you back again.

The Huntley management and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebmatingen
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The hotel is ok - location is good but hotel definitely has customer service issues. Hotel did not find the reservation when we checked in - they did not have a room ready at 06.30pm - some lame excuse of an "unexpected late check-out" - had to wait for one hour for a room.
Not impressed - would not go back to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giuseppe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Giuseppe D,
Thank you for staying with us. We hope you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to provide you the service you expect. We apologize for the inconvenience.

The Huntley Management and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

My first time in Santa Monica and i would imagine people on slower pace than LA but everything is rush rush. First we get 3 guys jumping at our car to valet park it and Check in without a smile and other courtesy. Everything is cold.... The room was nice and the Guy at Café shop was very nice. Would think twice before going back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Julie F,
Thank you for your feedback. We look forward welcoming you back and we appreciate your business. Stephane who served you from our O'Cafe and Gift Shop would like to also thank you for your kind words about his service. With our heartfelt appreciation Julie for your business.

The Huntley Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,747 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,215 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntley Santa Monica Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntley Santa Monica Beach

Property: Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Address: 1111 2nd St, Santa Monica, CA 90403-5003 (Formerly The Huntley Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Huntley Santa Monica Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Preferred Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Huntley Santa Monica Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing