We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Hotel I've ever booked.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel I've ever booked.”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I thought with the many good reviews I read on this Hotel that I was going to have a pleasant stay. However, I don't know what type of Hotels the other reviewers stayed in but I have stayed in way better. Actually all the other Hotels I've stayed in were far better, and I've stayed in many different Hotels. At first everything seemed like it was going to be great because the valet was friendly and check in was fast. The lobby looked nicely decorated and clean but that's where the "luxury Hotel" experience ended. I was taken to my room and immediately after entering it I felt uncomfortable. My children went right for the view of the ocean which was okay if you could block out the image of ugly roof tops directly in front of the ocean view. The room was smaller than it seemed from the photo's I seen online (usually it's the other way around since I always stay in suites). The room may have looked nice when it first was decorated but had a lot of wear and tear everywhere I looked. My room was non-smoking yet there were burn holes on the window seat and the remote to the t.v. as if someone used it as an ashtray and left their cigarette laying on it. The remote did not work and I had to control the t.v. manually. The bed had a large brown stain on the box springs which could be seen since there was no bed skirting. The sink had no center plug and the water filled up and drained slowly and obvious clog that was never fixed. The carpet was very dirty and threads were pulled up in areas. The walls were dirty, and the sink had black spots on the backsplash. Even the phone in the room was very dated looked like the ones inside a Motel room during the 1990's. This Hotel was not worth the price since the quality of the rooms were similar to those of a cheap Motel. I did not stay the night after seeing all the dirt and grime there was no way I could feel comfortable in that Hotel the standards and quality were very low for what is suppose to be a luxury Hotel. The only signs of luxury were outside and in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DreamComeTrue07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear DreamComeTrue07,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and am sharing your comments with our Housekeeping staff as we take our guest comments very seriously. We hope you will give us another opportunity and consider us again the next time you are in traveling to Santa Monica.

The Huntley Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    378
    152
    74
    54
See reviews for
250
463
61
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

What a great spot to stop for the night. The location is excellent and perfect walking distance to many great places. The rooms are on the pricey side, but the place is swanky and comfortable.

The Penthouse restaurant and bar on the top floor is the hot spot to be on a weekend night.

Overall, if you are looking for a upscale place to enjoy with a great scene, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: If you are not going to the top floor bar/nightclub/restaurant, avoid staying on the highest floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j1traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear j1traveller,

It was such a pleasure to serve you at the Huntley Santa Monica Beach. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and look very forward to welcoming you back again soon!

The Huntley Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I booked my stay for the past Friday-Sunday at the Huntley. It created the backdrop for an amazing vacation at what I considered a very reasonable price (~$240 a night).

The feel of the hotel is excellent as the decor has a very clean, modern design. I was given a queen room on the 15th floor which was both spacious and comfortable. I particularly loved the large shower and bathrobes that I was very tempted to buy - but realized that my home would not have been nice enough for them.

The staff are top notch in accommodating any needs I had from town cars, to fresh linens, to valet service, to late checkout. Everyone was very friendly, helpful, and also respectful which really set my experience apart from a lower teir hotel such as a Marriott. Having what has to be one of the best lounges sitting three floors above me (and I couldn't hear anything from it either) was a definite plus and I took great advantage of it.

I cannot speak highly enough of this place. When I find myself on vacation in Santa Monica again, I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Tom W,

Thank you so much for your comments. We are so happy to hear you had such a positive experience while staying with us at the Huntley Santa Monica Beach. It was a great pleasure to serve you. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Santa Monica!

The Huntley Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is a really nice boutique hotel in a great position in Santa Monica. Our room was very spacious, clean and quite. The bathroom should be renovated but this is the only negative thing that I can say despite a lot of positive elements for this hotel. The only shame is that we had just one night spent here!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gianlucaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear gianlucaNY,

It was a priviledge to serve you at the Huntley Santa Monica Beach. We're delighted to hear you had such a positive experience while staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

The Huntley Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I recently stayed again at the hotel after visiting last year. The hotel staff are all courteous and polite and very helpful. I did encounter some noise problems from the outdoor smoking lounge which I spoke to the hotel staff about. They moved me to a quieter and higher located room in the building which was pleasant and with a nice view.
I did not eat a meal this time at the Penthouse but did have drinks with friends which was very good. The Penthouse is quite busy and has a buzzing vibe with great views. The hotel room was a generous size, the beds very comfortable with a good power shower.

The hotel is just one street away from the 3rd Promenade shopping area and two blocks back from the beach.

I'm not sure when I will visit LA again, but would come back here anytime.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bilby2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear bilby2009,

It was a pleasure to serve you again at the Huntley Santa Monica Beach! We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for choosing to stay with us again during your visit to Santa Monica. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I absolutely love the Huntley Hotel in Santa Monica. Very chic and friendly boutique hotel with spacious rooms and bathrooms. It is also close to the fun restaurants and shops and a short walk to the pier and beach. Saw Joaquin Phoenix on this stay and the hotel arranged for my daughter and I to rent a convertible BMW to drive while in LA. Definitely one of my favorites.

Room Tip: Ocean view is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k_deav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear k_deav,

On behalf of the entire management and staff of the Huntley Santa Monica Beach, it was a pleasure to serve you. We are so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and look very forward to welcoming you back again soon!

The Huntley Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Good:
Location close to the beach, shopping, and pier.
Top floor beautiful view.
Very comfortable bed and super soft linen.
Friendly and helpful bell boy and housekeeper.
Good toiletry and soft cotton towel.

Bad:
Unfriendly receptionist, check in counter people with attitude ( man w/the mustache), look down on people if you not white or under dressed. I got turned off the moment I check in with his poor attitude.
Stuffy, mold and mildew room with old carpet.
Stuffy elevator and old dingy hallway perhaps because I am on the city view 5th floor. Almost pass out due to poor circulation and no fresh air.
Uninvited atmosphere.
Noisy when open the window for fresh sea breeze, especially on Friday and Saturday night due to the roof top club open until 2am. People arriving and leaving with loud conversation....
Window has no screen, dangerous falling.

Would not return to Huntley since we compared our stay @ the Fairmont right across Huntley last Thanksgiving. We want to try out Huntley after reading the positive review. We paid a little bit more @ Fairmont but the service and the experience were exceptional. We highly recommended The Fairmont who want comfort and a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear ttt C,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and are sharing your comments with our Front Office Manager, as we take our guest comments very seriously. Rest assured our windows only open a small crack so there is no danger of falling. We appreciate you letting us know your experience and hope you will give us another opportunity and consider us again the next time you are in Santa Monica.

The Huntley Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,748 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,215 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntley Santa Monica Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntley Santa Monica Beach

Property: Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Address: 1111 2nd St, Santa Monica, CA 90403-5003 (Formerly The Huntley Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Huntley Santa Monica Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Huntley Santa Monica Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing