We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly check-in staff....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Good:
Location close to the beach, shopping, and pier.
Top floor beautiful view.
Very comfortable bed and super soft linen.
Friendly and helpful bell boy and housekeeper.
Good toiletry and soft cotton towel.

Bad:
Unfriendly receptionist, check in counter people with attitude ( man w/the mustache), look down on people if you not white or under dressed. I got turned off the moment I check in with his poor attitude.
Stuffy, mold and mildew room with old carpet.
Stuffy elevator and old dingy hallway perhaps because I am on the city view 5th floor. Almost pass out due to poor circulation and no fresh air.
Uninvited atmosphere.
Noisy when open the window for fresh sea breeze, especially on Friday and Saturday night due to the roof top club open until 2am. People arriving and leaving with loud conversation....
Window has no screen, dangerous falling.

Would not return to Huntley since we compared our stay @ the Fairmont right across Huntley last Thanksgiving. We want to try out Huntley after reading the positive review. We paid a little bit more @ Fairmont but the service and the experience were exceptional. We highly recommended The Fairmont who want comfort and a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear ttt C,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and are sharing your comments with our Front Office Manager, as we take our guest comments very seriously. Rest assured our windows only open a small crack so there is no danger of falling. We appreciate you letting us know your experience and hope you will give us another opportunity and consider us again the next time you are in Santa Monica.

The Huntley Management & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

741 - 747 of 1,327 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

we stayed for 2 nights, had a nice spacious room with sea view, very modern and clean, a few minutes walk to the pier, shops and restaurant's, a very nice hotel, negative's no kettle in room, room service only, penthouse was very nice great views but be warned no prices on the menu so if you have to ask you cannot afford it! but nice to go up just to look.

Room Tip: a sea view would be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WENDY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear WENDY S,

On behalf of the entire Management and Staff, it was a pleasure to serve you at the Huntley Santa Monica Beach. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

The Huntley Management & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This property has a great restaurant on the 18th floor but the rooms are not of the same calibre. First had a 17th Floor room and could hear footsteps of people in the restaurant above. Was moved to a lower floor on request. Both rooms were tired and not deserving of $300 a night. For the same money the nearby Viceroy is different class both in the rooms and public areas. Because of the great restaurant on the 18th floor the two lifts were always very busy with restaurant guests and access to and from the room was slow. I would return to eat in the restaurant which was great.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the 17th floor if you want to sleep before the bar closes at 2:30am
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geosat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear geosat,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations and appreicate you letting us know your experience. We take our guest comments very seriously and hope you will give us another opportunity the next time you are visiting Santa Monica.

The Huntley Management & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Only one block from the beach and boardwalk, and one block from the best shopping on the 3rd Street promenade. The most comfortable bed that we have slept in at a hotel in the last few years. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Robert G,

Thank you so much for your comments. We are so delighted to hear you had such an enjoyed stay at the Huntley Santa Monica Beach and look very forward to welcoming you back again soon!

The Huntley Management & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

a lovely boutique hotel with excellent friendly service, lovely room and a fantastic restaurant , the penthouse, with a killer view and delicious food. also a perfect location for taking a walk on the beach or shop

Room Tip: if you don't mind spending the extra buck the corner suite rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear sgmanaheim,

It was a priviledge to serve you at the Huntley Santa Monica Beach. We are so pleased to hear you had such a positive experience while staying with us and look very forward to welcoming you back again soon!

The Huntley Management & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

You can't beat the location that's for sure! Boutique hotel only 2 blocks from the beach. The bed was super comfortable and the shower was certainly powerful! I found the room to be a little simple and small...and did not have an ocean view but otherwise it was a really good hotel. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view - I am sure they are more expensive but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tricky_ricky_toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear tricky_ricky_toronto,

It was a pleasure to serve you at the Huntley Santa Monica Beach. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay and look very forward to welcoming you back again soon!

The Huntley Management & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This was the first time my wife and I stayed at the Huntley. We were running late so my wife called and talked with the lady at the front desk who was very nice and assured us our room would be ready. We arrived and were welcomed from the moment we got there. The lady at the front desk met us with a smile and immediately had us signed in and headed to our room. The room was very nice and very well maintained. We stayed for 3 days and each day we returned we were welcomed with smiles from the entire staff. Great location only a couple blocks from the beach and all the shopping you could possibly want to do. The only thing that I could possibly complain about was the fact you have to pay for Internet service. Other than that everything else was run and maintained nicely. Highly recommend.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank BruceHutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear BruceHutton,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are so happy to hear you had such a positive experience while staying at the Huntley Santa Monica Beach. We look very forward to welcoming you back again soon!

The Huntley Management & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,913 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,602 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
617 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntley Santa Monica Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntley Santa Monica Beach

Address: 1111 2nd St, Santa Monica, CA 90403-5003 (Formerly The Huntley Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range: $370 - $594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Huntley Santa Monica Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Huntley Santa Monica Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing