We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice place great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Huntley Santa Monica Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This was the first time my wife and I stayed at the Huntley. We were running late so my wife called and talked with the lady at the front desk who was very nice and assured us our room would be ready. We arrived and were welcomed from the moment we got there. The lady at the front desk met us with a smile and immediately had us signed in and headed to our room. The room was very nice and very well maintained. We stayed for 3 days and each day we returned we were welcomed with smiles from the entire staff. Great location only a couple blocks from the beach and all the shopping you could possibly want to do. The only thing that I could possibly complain about was the fact you have to pay for Internet service. Other than that everything else was run and maintained nicely. Highly recommend.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BruceHutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear BruceHutton,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are so happy to hear you had such a positive experience while staying at the Huntley Santa Monica Beach. We look very forward to welcoming you back again soon!

The Huntley Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    347
    135
    69
    46
See reviews for
220
396
57
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I've been staying at the Huntley for many years. I come to Los Angeles every two years. I travel in that time throughout America on business. Santa Monica is a great place to stay before returning home.
The good points about the Hotel
- it's in a great position
- it has views north and south of the Pacific
- it has rooms that have great ocean views
- the parking staff are a great team
- the rooms are clean
- the breakfast is really good
The not so good things about the Hotel
- the room service menu is limited
- the food on room service is terrible
- the staff aren't very helpful
- the 'signature suite' according to the front desk is 'considered to have ocean views'. I guess so but you'll get a strain in the neck if you look too often. On my first visit to the hotel, that view was called 'city view'
- the gym is small
- no pool
- the penthouse on the top floor is holds the restaurant and cocktail bar. It's so noisy - it does not caterer for hotel guests, it targets the local trendies. Best to walk over to the MIramar for a quite drink.
- you have to pay extra for Internet
- repeat guests - the software does not remember you.
So that's about it. Will I come back. Absolutely to Santa Monica. To the Huntley - you have had your chances; I'm looking for a ,new place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one that is on the north side. Best rooms have twin queen beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AL9999q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear ALS55,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and am sharing your feedback with the Management and Staff. We rely on vauled guest comments to continue to improve and we hope you will give us another opportunity and consider us again the next time you are in Santa Monica.

The Huntley Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hotel is located in a very nice area, just one block from the beautiful waterfront area, and one block from the Third Street Promenade of retail shops.
It's an older hotel that has been completely remodeled. we found that the rooms, although a bit on the small side (especially the bathroom), are comfortable and completely up to date. The mattresses are great. The noise level is fine. We do wish the shower had more water pressure, though.
We found a great friendly and helpful staff throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ICISAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear ICISAY,

It was a priviledge to serve you at the Huntley Santa Monica Beach. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look very forward to welcoming you back again soon!

The Huntley Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Hotel located within 5 minutes walking distance of beach and Third Street Promenade, both must places to see. Room was a beach view and small but totally adequate. We ate out on the Promenade and at the Santa Monica Pier as we were only in Santa Monica for 24 hours and wanted to get a taste of the area. Friendly staff, hotel and room spotless.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricL49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear EricL49,

Thank you for your feedback. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time in Santa Monica and your stay at the Huntley Santa Monica Beach. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

The Huntley Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in May and really enjoyed it. The hotel is very modern and well decorated. Our room was large, with an ocean view, and very nice! The staff was always friendly and helpful. We stayed on the 15th floor which was perfect and quiet. The Penthouse Restaurant was very nice and upscale. We had a few drinks and appetizers there one night at the bar and it was excellent. On a Wednesday night, the place was packed! This is definitely a hotel where the locals hang out and a lot of young people come.

Room Tip: We were onthe 15th floor and it was quite. We stayed on a Tuesday and Wednesday night. I imagine on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kfaith82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear kfaith82,

It was a pleasure to serve you at the Huntley Santa Monica Beach. We are so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

The Huntley Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My daughter, son-in-law and I booked a tour to the 2013 Tournament of Roses Parade which included 3 nights at the Huntley in Santa Monica. The hotel was total luxury. The location was very convenient to the beach, Santa Monica Pier, The Promanade. What a wonderful stay it was.

Room Tip: I am afraid of heights and had requested as low a floor as possible. When we arrived they had booke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank egails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear egails,

Thank you for your comments. We are so happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Huntley Santa Monica Beach. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

The Huntley Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel has a great location, very close to the beach and to the city center and all the shopping area, such as the promenade. However, the hotel is very noisy, the rooms isolation is very poor and nights are not so quiet has should be. The room area is fair and it is very clean, the services price is way to expensive. There is very close to the sightseeing bus stop and also to the public bus to L.A. Downtown.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close to the ice machine and service lift. A/C noise is quiet annoying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear P07jose,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know your thoughts as we rely on valuable guest comments to continually improve. We hope you will consider the Huntley Santa Monica Beach again the next time you are visiting Santa Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 35 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 2,422 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#3 of 35 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,395 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#7 of 35 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#2 of 35 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 756 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#18 of 35 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntley Santa Monica Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntley Santa Monica Beach

Property: Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Address: 1111 2nd St, Santa Monica, CA 90403-5003 (Formerly The Huntley Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Huntley Santa Monica Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Huntley Santa Monica Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing