We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“one street in from the sea” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huntley Santa Monica Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“one street in from the sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hotel is located in a very nice area, just one block from the beautiful waterfront area, and one block from the Third Street Promenade of retail shops.
It's an older hotel that has been completely remodeled. we found that the rooms, although a bit on the small side (especially the bathroom), are comfortable and completely up to date. The mattresses are great. The noise level is fine. We do wish the shower had more water pressure, though.
We found a great friendly and helpful staff throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ICISAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear ICISAY,

It was a priviledge to serve you at the Huntley Santa Monica Beach. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look very forward to welcoming you back again soon!

The Huntley Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    358
    142
    72
    50
See reviews for
232
429
58
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Hotel located within 5 minutes walking distance of beach and Third Street Promenade, both must places to see. Room was a beach view and small but totally adequate. We ate out on the Promenade and at the Santa Monica Pier as we were only in Santa Monica for 24 hours and wanted to get a taste of the area. Friendly staff, hotel and room spotless.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricL49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear EricL49,

Thank you for your feedback. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time in Santa Monica and your stay at the Huntley Santa Monica Beach. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

The Huntley Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in May and really enjoyed it. The hotel is very modern and well decorated. Our room was large, with an ocean view, and very nice! The staff was always friendly and helpful. We stayed on the 15th floor which was perfect and quiet. The Penthouse Restaurant was very nice and upscale. We had a few drinks and appetizers there one night at the bar and it was excellent. On a Wednesday night, the place was packed! This is definitely a hotel where the locals hang out and a lot of young people come.

Room Tip: We were onthe 15th floor and it was quite. We stayed on a Tuesday and Wednesday night. I imagine on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kfaith82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear kfaith82,

It was a pleasure to serve you at the Huntley Santa Monica Beach. We are so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

The Huntley Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

My daughter, son-in-law and I booked a tour to the 2013 Tournament of Roses Parade which included 3 nights at the Huntley in Santa Monica. The hotel was total luxury. The location was very convenient to the beach, Santa Monica Pier, The Promanade. What a wonderful stay it was.

Room Tip: I am afraid of heights and had requested as low a floor as possible. When we arrived they had booke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank egails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear egails,

Thank you for your comments. We are so happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Huntley Santa Monica Beach. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

The Huntley Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel has a great location, very close to the beach and to the city center and all the shopping area, such as the promenade. However, the hotel is very noisy, the rooms isolation is very poor and nights are not so quiet has should be. The room area is fair and it is very clean, the services price is way to expensive. There is very close to the sightseeing bus stop and also to the public bus to L.A. Downtown.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close to the ice machine and service lift. A/C noise is quiet annoying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear P07jose,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know your thoughts as we rely on valuable guest comments to continually improve. We hope you will consider the Huntley Santa Monica Beach again the next time you are visiting Santa Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VIrginia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a really nice hotel in the heart of Santa Monica. Staying here, you may not need a car unless you plan to go to other far-flung parts of LA. But we found everything we needed in Santa Monica as the hotel is two blocks from the Third Street Promenade and just 7 blocks from Montana Avenue, with shops and restaurants. Also, it is just a block from the beach. (You do have to walk down a flight of stairs to the beach but if you walk towards the pier, you are more level.) On Wednesdays and Saturdays, there is a Farmer’s Market just two blocks from the hotel.

Buses are plentiful and efficient – and cheap. We were able to ride to the LA County Museum of Art and Rodeo Drive on the bus.

The hotel is very nice – tastefully decorated and comfortable, albeit for a couple of things. First, the pillows were shedding their feathers and the quills stuck out of them. Also, avoid rooms that end in 10, 15 or 16. Ten is next to the elevators and you hear them going up and down like a jet taking off. The other two are by the ice machine which is very noisy. Also, when we checked in, there was a room on the top floor -17 – but the desk clerk said on weekends it gets very noisy as the top floor turns into a disco. You will see line-ups of people waiting to go upstairs.

The Huntley has the expected amenities in the room but no coffee machine so you have to go downstairs to a small but nice coffee bar.

It’s a great place to stay - clean and comfortable. We were on the 10th floor facing north, so had a great view of the ocean all the way past Malibu (when there was no smog.)

Loved the sitting area and the great reading lights in the room. Bathroom was large, although housekeeping was a little erratic. We didn’t always get the necessary towels – sometimes 4 bath towels and no face cloths or some other combination. Also, in the hallway, we saw things on the carpet that were there for 3 days.

Breakfast in the penthouse is a real treat with the sweeping views. The food is very good and the whole atmosphere is very relaxing – a great way to start the day.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms ending in 10, 15 or 16 - noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fussylady001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear fussylady001,

It was a pleasure to serve you at the Huntley Santa Monica Beach. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed at the Huntley Santa Monica Beach Hotel while I was on a business trip. From the moment I stepped into the lobby I knew that I had made the right choice. The front desk lady who checked me in was very warm and friendly and it was great to have such a welcoming reception after an entire day of traveling.

I was given a room on the tenth floor with an ocean view. The room was lovely with nice amenities but it was the bed that I fell in love with. It was so comfortable I had a good night's sleep every night.

As someone who is not too big on breakfast, the cafe in the lobby was perfect with a selection of coffee, tea, pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt and cereals. After the first morning, the young man who works in the morning remembered exactly how I liked my tea. Nice touch.

The food at the Penthouse was absolutely delicious and I enjoyed the non-alcoholic cocktails that the bartenders made for me. The setting is beautiful and the view of the sunset magical. a great place to gather with friends or business associates.

I loved the attention to detail. I mentioned to the manager that I wanted to buy a tennis racquet as a birthday gift for my daughter and was pleasantly surprised the next day when I received a letter from the concierge advising of a nearby sporting goods store.

As someone who spends a considerable amount of time traveling for work, it is important to stay at a hotel that meets my needs. This hotel definitely exceeded my expectations. I look forward to returning in the near future.

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Ask for a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prettylindal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear prettylindal,

On behalf of the entire Management and Staff, we want to thank you for choosing the Huntley Santa Monica Beach! It was a priviledge to serve you and we are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and look very forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,546 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntley Santa Monica Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntley Santa Monica Beach

Property: Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Address: 1111 Second Street, Santa Monica, CA 90403 (Formerly The Huntley Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Huntley Santa Monica Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Huntley Santa Monica Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing