We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired Chic but fabulous penthouse restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Huntley Santa Monica Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tired Chic but fabulous penthouse restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This must have been a groundbreaking hotel when it first opened and don't get me wrong it is still fabulous in many ways - the location is superb, just a short one block walk from the beach and what a gorgeous beach! Venice Beach is perhaps 10 minutes stroll from the front door and in the other direction a 10 minute stroll takes you to great chic shopping.

The hotel decor feels 80's (maybe 90's) so it isn't quite as sharp as it could be! Check in was fast and friendly, as it should; however arriving at 11am on a Saturday morning our rooms were not ready - but that's OK, we were a party of 3 arriving early!

So we went to the Penthouse Restaurant for lunch and that was chic (very 90210) and full of beautiful people trying hard to be noticed - the food was also posing on the plates but it was delicious - I had an authentic and tasty Eggs Benedict; the views out of the surround windows were gorgeous - looking far out to Malibu in the north and the sea to the west! The window tables (populated by the 90210 set) were like canopied cabanas and they were much sought after - we couldn't get one.

My room was superb (though dated in orange and beige!) with a bath in the room plus a separate ensuite shower room. Comfortable bed! Great sleep! Huge flat screen TV was positioned in the centre of the room and like an elegant demure pole dancer swiveled around to face either the bed or the couch!

However no complimentary coffee making facility! Some of us need coffee immediately we rise and don't want to wait for room service - and being a hotelier I know that its all those individual coffees that take up room service time and manpower! Something for the Huntley to learn!

Dinner that evening was booked (recommended) in the Penthouse Restaurant and it was perfect! Service was fast, friendly and efficient! The food was the star of the evening and isn't that what a restaurant is all about? I had lamb that was so delicious and tender that it was like an angels breath on my tongue and there was enough of it, I didn't have to search around my plate to find it. Is there a downside? Well for me (and its probably an age thing) but the restaurant becomes a trendy night club as the evening progresses and I was there for a great dinner so the loud obtrusive music chased me back to my room.

I would return - but only if I could have the same room - my friends didn't fare as well - their's were standard style bedrooms - bath behind a door and TV against the wall - and still no coffee!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TempleHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear TempleHunter,

Thank you so much for your feedback! It was a plesaure to serve you at the Huntley Santa Monica Beach. We are happy to hear that you had such a positive experience while staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    343
    134
    68
    46
See reviews for
214
392
57
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Huntley is a great choice for the combination of location, quality and price. If you are actually in a movie then perhaps stay in Hollywood. If not, you can't beat Santa Monica for a taste of LA life. Rooms are not huge but fine and quality facilities. Staff no problem. Recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melbourne-Aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Melbourne-Aust,

It was a pleasure to serve you at the Huntley Santa Monica Beach! We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable time while staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shenley
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed precruise ideal position near shops and near beach.rooms nice.very clean.....i would definately stay here again.not far from here is a paved street lots of restaurants.stores...and in the evening entertainment
..at the far end one of the best places for breakfast.....

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davisville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear davisville,

It was a priviledge to serve you at the Huntley Santa Monica Beach! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Huntley is okay hotel. I stayed here for 1 Saturday night in early November. It is just across the road from the beach and very central to the excellent walkway, pier and downtown Santa Monica. We arrived earlier than the 3pm check in so went to the restaurant on the 18th floor. The views as you step out of the lift into a very bright, uber chic and cool resturant area are fantastic. Views extend all over the beach, down around the pier and to the east over LA with Century City looming large in the distance.
The restaurant is absolutely fabulous for both lunch and dinner. an extensive menu fantastically well prepared food and very well trained staff made it an easy choice for our evening meal. Having said that, there is no other bar area in the hotel and as the restaurant turns into the nightclub we didnt feel very comfortable standing at the uber cool bar when really we wanted to sit down somewhere slightly quieter after dinner.
The room itself was perfectly functional. Nothing at all special. The view overlooked the carpark and at a stretch i could see the beach. Biggest bug bear for me was the absence of tea./coffee making facilities in the room. They were available from room service but unfortunately room service sticks out on my expenses!!!!! The bed was comfortable. There was on over bath shower. All in all the room was adequate. Relatively clean, relatively comfortable but nothing special. if it wasn't for the restaurant I would look for an alternative room costing £342 for one night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackandarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear jackandarthur,

It was a pleasure to serve you at the Huntley Santa Monica Beach. We are sharing your comments with the management and we hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

the location is nice but $400 should buy more than a partial ocean view room with toiletries that you can find at any midpriced hotel. there was a dent in the wall with a shabby patch job. there is nothing special about the hotel given that the furniture is cheaply made and the rooms are nondescript. special occasion won't be spent there again. the Lowe's is nice for less money and a full ocean view.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tharriso70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear tharriso70,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We have shared your comments with our management and please know that we are in the process of updating our guestrooms. We hope you will keep the Huntley Santa Monica Beach in mind the next time you visit Santa Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Wow! What a beautiful hotel! I think it's one of the tallest hotels in Santa Monica, so if you have brunch on the top floor, you can see the ocean, the mountains, downtown L.A., and anything else that your heart desires nearby. We loved the brunch. The wait staff was excellent, the food was fab, and the cocktails were bottomless! Yeay! The rooms are gorgeous and the lobby is fab. I would stay here any time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Suzanne I,

On behalf of the entire staff and management of the Huntley Santa Monica Beach, we would like to thank you for staying with us. You are correct, we are the tallest hotel in Santa Monica! It was a pleasure to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

friendly efficient staff clean rooms top breakfast but a little on the exepensive side very close to the shopping plaza only 10 mins walk to the main beach and cycle track we had a slight hiccup on the 2nd to last night the fire alarm went off in the nightclub so all the patrons scrambled down the stairwell clop clop clop for about an hour the night manager put it right without hesitation by wiping off our breakfast account and allowing us a late checkout on the last night to catch up on the lost sleep handy as we had a late flight that evening all in all very happy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stu d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear stu d,

It was a privliedge to serve you at the Huntley Santa Monica Beach! We apologize again for the inconvenience during your stay and am happy to hear your time with us was still enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 2,366 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#3 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,371 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#2 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#4 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#8 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntley Santa Monica Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntley Santa Monica Beach

Property: Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Address: 1111 Second Street, Santa Monica, CA 90403 (Formerly The Huntley Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Huntley Santa Monica Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Huntley Santa Monica Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing