We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel. Great staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good hotel. Great staff.”
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

I live in LA and because of that I've been to or stayed at pretty much every notable hotel in town. My most recent stay at the Huntley was a staycation cause I felt like being close to the beach.
Now I've been to the restaurant atop the Huntley called The Penthouse many times (good food) and walking through the lobby I enjoyed the decor (white, clean, modern) but until I actually got a room at the hotel did I realize that they have a really exceptional staff.
The standout for me was at the front desk. I believe she's the manager and her name is Melissa. She was super polite, helpful, informative and made the weekend my girlfriend and I spent at the Hintley memorable.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Dory B,

It was a priviledge to serve you at the Huntley Santa Monica Beach. We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    388
    156
    74
    55
See reviews for
268
465
61
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I loved stopping at The Huntley Hotel, I was welcomed by friendly staff, my room was perfect, lovely views, and housekeeping excellant, clean towels and shower every day top class service. The
locations is perfect, near to third street, and just across the road to the front Park. I visited the Senior Centre, which was very friendly too, I had coffee and books/papers to read. David the Manager, also John & Elizabeth where very attentive The Penthouse for Breakfast, once again Perfect, a beautiful view. When I next visit Santa Monica I will make sure I stop at The Huntley Hotel, a really great trip.
Hazel from Wales UK.

Room Tip: My room was 1002 very good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Hazel P,

On behalf of the entire management and staff of the Huntley Santa Monica Beach, we want to thank you for choosing to stay with us while visiting Santa Monica. We are delighted to hear you had such a positive experience and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at the hotel in August. Two adults and two daughters. Service was on the whole pretty good, hard to find fault with the check in and concierge services. We had originally intended to book a twin and a double but probably due to a fault of ours, we ended up with two doubles. But the hotel changed the rooms without any fuss, with the new room being much larger. The concierge was particularly helpful in this respect. Rooms were clean with decent views of the beach. My only criticism is that for a hotel of this size and cost, you would have expected a pool. We were directed to a place 15 minutes away which it cost extra to use.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gco21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear gco21,

Thank you for your feedback! It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed there Labor Day weekend with my boyfriend & 2 friends. (Ages 35-40) From the moment we walked in, we were impressed. They allowed us to check in early (quite early, it was maybe 11:30am), and even had the flowers ready in the room (as my bf requested to my surprise.) *Flowers were ordered from an outside source, but coordinated with hotel.
Service was excellent, room was very nice, roomy... only we had a problem with the toilet. They sent someone up to fix it, but it never did work properly. Front desk was helpful and kind with directions and restaurant recommendations.
Lobby was very beautifully and tastefully decorated, and the "Penthouse" (lounge) was just as popular as everyone had told us. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, we didn't get one when we requested it, but I would imagine the view is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseOfMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear RoseOfMexico,

It was such a pleausre to serve you at the Huntley Santa Monica Beach! We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and look foward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a lovely hotel: bright, modern,clean and the service was excellent. The rooms are spacious and we had a wonderful view over Santa Monica and the ocean.
However, it was noisy at night. We were offered a 17th floor room at the top of the hotel. Great views but above is the restaurant which was undergoing renovation. After they closed about midnight were were kept awake until 3.30 am by the sound of moving furniture. A disturbed night after a 12 hour flight from New Zealand. The reception should have warned us and we would have taken a lower floor

Room Tip: avoid 17th floor due to noisy restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear jonohud,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good nights rest while staying with us. We are sharing your comments with our staff as we take our guests feedback very seriously. We will ensure you will be away from the restaurant for future visits. We hope you will give us another opportunity and consider us for your next visit to Santa Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Nice hotel with one of the very very best locations in Santa Monica. Expensive but that is typical for the area.

Room and bathroom were of a good standard. Housekeeping was the best I've experienced. Restaurant/bar on the top floor has amazing views and good food although also expensive. The decor is very stylish but is showing it's age and needs refurbished soon. Main gripe with the hotel is lack of amenity spaces. No swimming pool, or balconies. They should get rid of the ground floor car park used for valet and turn it into a pool.

Parking is expensive so suggest using one of the many multi-story public car parking nearby. Very cheap.

Friday and Saturday nights are a serious issue for noise from the top floor bar if on one of the high floors. Literally pounding until late.

Room Tip: High up, north facing but not directly below the 17th floor bar is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KernalUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear KernalUk,

It was a privledge to serve you at the Huntley Santa Monica Beach. We pride ourserlves in having one of the lowest prices for overnight parking in Santa Monica at $30 whereas other establishments are at $35-$45 per night. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We spent two nights in the Huntley Hotel, it was wonderful! Very modern, extremely clean and the staff was great. I would definitely recommend this hotel. L.A. on the other hand was crazy, I have never seen traffic like that in my life and probably would never go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barox713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear barox713,

It was a great pleasure to have you stay with us at the Huntley Santa Monica Beach! We are delighted you had such a wonderful time and we hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,825 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,558 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
589 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntley Santa Monica Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntley Santa Monica Beach

Property: Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Address: 1111 2nd St, Santa Monica, CA 90403-5003 (Formerly The Huntley Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Huntley Santa Monica Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Huntley Santa Monica Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing