We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful public areas but rooms are over-priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful public areas but rooms are over-priced”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here and were wowed by the exterior and lobby on arrival. However, our room was a bit disappointing. It was big, but seemed half empty and could have done with a table/chairs to fill in the wasted space. It was an expensive place to stay and I wouldn't go back. The location is good if you want to be in Santa Monica, but I've stayed in much more interesting LA neighbourhoods and won't go back here. I was hoping to get some good photos from the top floor restaurant, but felt very unwelcome when I went up to get some and ended up not bothering.

Room Tip: Stay in Venice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Letmetravel!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback! We truly appreciate you taking the time to let us know your experience. We rely on our valued guest comments to continue to improve and we hope to welcome you back to the Huntley again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    388
    156
    74
    54
See reviews for
266
465
61
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 12 nights while on a business trip to Santa Monica. I loved everything - the location is optimal, the room was okay and the view incredible. Having breakfast on the penthouse every morning was a very pleasant way to start the day. Staff is helpful anf efficient, esp. Orlando who always got out of the way to make sure i could get in a cab on time.
Would higly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltomte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback! We are delighted that you had such a positive experience while staying with us. We look very forward to welcoming you back to the Huntley again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This is a pretty cool hotel. I'd say that we grew to love our room rather than instantly fell for it. When we walked in, the room itself (a deluxe king) looked a little jaded and lacked some of the sparkle that is to be found in the lobby or Penthouse floor. It felt more Sheraton than boutique and the sofa in particular was shabby. However, the room was large the bed was really comfortable and the bathroom was huge, so by the time we checked out we both agreed it had been a good place to stay. On top of all that (literally) the Penthouse was an amazing place to have breakfast. Great views and great people watching. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vegas_Colada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback! We truly appreciate you taking the time to let us know your experience. We rely on our valued guest comments to continue to improve and we hope to welcome you back to the Huntley again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Huntley and we could not be happier with our choice. We had a room on the 17th floor and many reviews complained of the noise from the restaurant/bar upstairs. While we could hear some commotion, it certainly did not keep us up at night. The service was exceptional, every member of the staff went above and beyond to accommodate and were all incredibly friendly and helpful. The beds are fantastic, the views are amazing, and the perfect location. A short walk to 3rd street promenade and the beach. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siena10-15-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback! We are delighted that you had such a positive experience while staying with us. We look very forward to welcoming you back to the Huntley again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012 via mobile

I love staying at the Huntley, I stay there about 4 times a year. The food is great and the views from the Penthouse restaurant are amazing. Beds are to die for comfortable, and I've always had a really big room. Location couldn't be better, close to the beach and 3rd st promenade so lots of food and entertainment and shopping options. The little shop in the foyer is great for grabbing a quick coffee and snack. Even though I usually stay for business, when I took a personal vacation to LA I still chose the Huntley.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank rdehavil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback! I'm so happy to hear that you had a great experience with us and we look very forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed here while visiting our son and used it as a base. Lovely location, rooms good, but apart from the restaurant/bar there is really nothing for guests. Maybe I'm too used to European hotels.The food in the restaurant was good, but the noise levels there were awful. I suppose it's ok if you are younger, but we couldn't hear each other speak! An expensive hotel, with expensive parking, but I guess you are paying for the location.
Breakfast in the restaurant gave some lovely views over the sea and was a bit more peaceful than the evenings!
Good hotel for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobby195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback! We truly appreciate you taking the time to let us know your experience. We rely on our valued guest comments to continue to improve and we hope to welcome you back to the Huntley again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

To start off, I'm glad my company paid for it. The room was nice, but the bathroom was very small and the shower didn't drain. To avoid flooding the entire room, I had to shower as fast as possible. The walls were thick, so I didn't hear my neighbors, but the windows were not. I could every business in the alley dragging their trashcans out in the morning. I enjoyed my stay, but I don't think its worth the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanzosbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. It's through our valued guest comments that we can continue to improve. We hope to welcome you back to the Huntley again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,825 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,558 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
589 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntley Santa Monica Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntley Santa Monica Beach

Property: Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Address: 1111 2nd St, Santa Monica, CA 90403-5003 (Formerly The Huntley Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Huntley Santa Monica Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Huntley Santa Monica Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing