We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean, reasonable place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cal Mar Hotel Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good, clean, reasonable place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a reasonable hotel to stay at. I stayed in room 317, one bedroom, overlooking the street. The hotel is in a quiet neighbourhood, so being on the street doesn't affect sleep. It's a short walk to the beach, Whole Foods, coffee shops (with free wireless - you have to pay for the wireless service at this hotel), and the Third Street Promenade. Close to movie theatres and restaurants as well. Want a big salad at a reasonable price, and tastes wonderful? Go to Tender Greens.
Cal Mar's suites are like apartments. I'm sure they were individually rented out apartments at one point in time. The suite was tired (pink bathtub, old chesterfield), but very, very clean. I have read from other reviewers that some rooms have been updated.
All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. Staff are very welcoming and helpful. I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I think a room facing the inner courtyard and pool would be best, although, no complaints about my r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susansomers, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Festive greetings CanadaBev, we appreciate you sharing your recent experience during your stay at our property and appreciating the value our property has to offer. Thank you for mentioning our amazing location. We are delighted that you mentioned our awesome staff, as well as our clean rooms. We are glad that we exceeded your expectations; we are blest with an wonderful staff that daily assists our guests throughout their stay. We hope to see you on your next visit to our area. Have an amazing holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    166
    68
    27
    22
See reviews for
140
107
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Cal Mar Hotel in Santa Monica offers personal service with all the touches of home! The property is exceptionally maintained and the pool area is beautiful. The staff remembers your name and greets you each time you come and go. The Cal Mar is walking distance to the Promenade as well as $any shops and restaurants. The ocean is two short blocks away. This is a very special, unique hotel that makes each guest feel special and welcome! I would highly recommend a visit to Santa Monics, CA and a stay at the Cal Mar hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pami4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susansomers, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Greetings Pammi4747, thank you so very much for sharing your recent experience while staying at the Cal Mar... We appreciate you noting the wonderful amenities of our hotel and our close proximity to all the wonderful venues offered in our Beach City. We are blest with long term staff that shows their special care for each guest; we are delighted that you shared your feedback. We feel that every guest is special and we want them to rest, relax and enjoy our hotel as their home while they are on vacation. Many thanks again, we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Returned to Cal Mar yet again....still the best value in the area, friendly helpful staff, the spacious apartments (well, except for rather small bathrooms, but that's forgiveable) are kept very clean by a good housekeeping team.

We do still find it a little irritating that the "good value" is maintained by charging extra not only for wifi service, but making ever-inflating charges for parking....this might be more acceptable if they didn't also find it necessary (uniquely in our experience) to post headline rates - for apartments which can accommodate up to four people - which are for a single guest only! Good that my wife thinks I am still worth the extra $10 a night......

On this occasion, the wifi went unavailable just when we wanted to connect; this has never happened before when we have stayed, was caused by a technical fault with the network equipment at the hotel, and that could not have been helped; however, we did think it unreasonable that when this fault was identified late on a Friday, it was apparently not possible to get it fixed until Monday, too late for our purposes. Time for Cal Mar to change its service provider, or contract for service which works weekends, we think.

These little things may account for us not giving such a high rating this time , but we do want to stress that Cal Mar remains our favoured accommodation when visiting Sant Monica from UK.

Room Tip: Rooms backing on to side alley are best avoided if possible, they are subject to some early morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank usaphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susansomers, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Greetings Usaphile, we appreciate so very much your taking the time to share your ongoing experience with the Cal Mar Hotel. as well as highlighting the value our suites provide. We are blest to have such an amazing staff from our housekeeping, maintenance and Front Desk Team. Every employee does his/her best to constantly enhance our guests’ experience and we are delighted that you mentioned their committed service!!!
We take your comments very seriously and are sharing them with our staff as well as the ownership of the property. We apologize for the lack of availability of the internet during your visit; however, it was a major problem that technical assistance was needed. The problems have been corrected and our wired as well as wireless are working perfectly.
Again, we thank you for choosing the Cal Mar Hotel for your hospitality needs when you visit Santa Monica. We look forward to your next visit. Thanks so much again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We only stayed one night on our way out of LA, Hollie at the front desk a true gem, so extremely helpful. Hollie also arranged for us to have a half day rate as our flight was in the evening so didn't have to trolley around with our suitcases...Perfectly located for the 3rd st boulevard, although a little heavy on the road traffic at night but if your tired it doesn't matter.
Clean suites, little dated but all their staff (including the maintennance crew) polite & helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCameron6601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susansomers, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so very much SCameron6601 for the Cal Mar FAB posting. We appreciate so very much your voicing your experience while at our property. We take pride in our staff and their diligence in making certain that our guests have a great experience during their visit. We are here to serve and we consider it an honor to host our valued guests on a daily basis. Again, thanks for taking the time to share your feedback! Thank you also for highlighting other venues in the area that you visited! Awesome! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

First off, I'll say that this hotel was very clean and the staff were exceptionally friendly. The location is pretty ideal. We could take a short stroll to the beach in one direction, and a promenade with great shopping in the other direction. There's a Whole Foods a short walk away to stock the kitchen with. There's a nice outdoor, heated pool. The room we had didn't have air conditioning, but there were nice ceiling fans.

That said, the hotel isn't the most attractive. From the outside, it looks like an old, scary apartment building. Inside, the furniture is dated, a little worn, and not stylish at all. If you are not the style-concious type, you probably won't mind. It does have a casual, beach house vibe to it. Seems ideal for families, a group of friends, and/or an extended stay.

Room Tip: I would request the second floor, instead of the first floor that is right at the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RyGuy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susansomers, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Greetings RyGuy00, we are delighted that you enjoyed your most recent stay at our property and that you took the time to share your experience. We appreciate you mentioning our amazing staff and the cleanliness of our property. Our staff works countless hours to enhance each guest’s experience during their stay at the Cal Mar.

We like your mentioning the casual beach house vibe too, all of your comments are super. We are working on re-upholstering all of our furniture this year which will bring us forward. Comments such as yours continue to assist in our efforts to raise the bar in guest satisfaction. We hope to see you on your next visit to Santa Monica. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have used this hotel for at least 15 years and I just keep coming back! Situated 1 block away from 3rd Street Promenade and 3 blocks from the cliff top at SM it is an ideal location.Rooms are clean and very spacious.friendly staff who run a " family hotel". Ideal pool for kids with basicaly only 1 entrance to the property so a very safe environment for all visitors .En site off road parking.In LA, you need a car just to get around,so this hotel provides safety and tranquility after days tramping around Disney or Universal and yet gives immediate access to good "eateries" and shopping. Santa Monica is an ideal location to base yourself whilst enjoying LA.

Room Tip: Book a California room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JTFomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susansomers, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you so very much JTFomes Family for posting your comments regarding your recent stay at our property. We are delighted that you have returned to our hotel continuously over the years and found the Cal Mar to be spacious, friendly and truly a family hotel. Thank you for mentioning as well the safe environment and the tranquility one experiences once they enter through our Front Desk area. Your comments are priceless and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to your next visit. Have an amazing day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in early October. The hotel is absolutely perfectly situated near the shopping area of Santa Monica and very near the famous beach. It is also close the the Hop On Hop Off bus stop. Hotel is very old and probably really needs to be demolished soon BUT...the staff are great, swimming pool is a real bonus and the suites are equipped with everything you will need. Unfortunately no free Wifi.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms which are near the rear service area. The rubbish trucks early in the morning are a real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susansomers, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you Greg Lee1955 for sharing your recent experience at our property. We appreciate you mentioning our amazing location. We are so glad you took advantage of the Hop On Hop Off Bus as they offer super tours throughout the LA Area. We are delighted that you enjoyed the swimming pool, our awesome staff and our fully equipped suites. It is comments such as yours which encourages our staff on a daily basis. Thanks so very much for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#18 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 928 reviews
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#23 of 34 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#4 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#26 of 34 in Santa Monica
3.0 of 5 stars 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cal Mar Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cal Mar Hotel Suites

Property: Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Address: 220 California Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90403
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cal Mar Hotel Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Cal Mar Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cal Mar Hotel Santa Monica
Cal Mar Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing