We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is very retro but kept up nicely! The room is spacious but bathroom was small. Also had a kitchen. The staff was very friendly. Had a pool. We loved the location. Great area to walk to restaurants, shops, the beach, and the Santa Monica pier. I felt safe. No air conditioning. It was noisy in the a.m. because we had windows open. Much less expensive than some of the other hotels in the area. If you are watching your budget, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovetheSun857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susansomers, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you so very much Lovethesusnset857 for sharing your recent experience at our property. We are glad that you enjoyed our spacious suites with fully equipped kitchens. Thank you for mentioning our close proximity to all of the wonderful venues Santa Monica has to offer. We appreciate also you mentioning the value. We put our guests as our number one priority. Thanks for the opportunity to serve. Have an awesome day, we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Cal Mar Hotel Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 445 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at the Cal Mar in Santa Monica. The room was spacious and clean and the pool was fabulous and clean! In fact, it was a little too warm for our taste maybe because we happened to be staying there when there was a heat wave. Air conditioning would have been welcome. Fans were available though to try to move the cooler night air into the rooms in the evening.
The hotel is very close to the Promenade on 3rd Street. A great place to spend an evening walking around.
Staff was exceptionally pleasant, helpful and friendly.
The beach is a few blocks away and down some steep steps. Since the beach in Santa Monica is so very wide, it is quite a trek to get to the water from the hotel.
Enjoyed our stay at Cal Mar and felt that the value was good for this resort town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cleomurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susansomers, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you so very much cleomurray for sharing your recent experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and appreciate so very much you relating the spaciousness, cleanliness of our rooms, our awesome staff, and we are so happy you enjoyed our pool area. Thank you too for appreciating the value of our property. We hope to serve you in the future. Have an amazing day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for a week at the end of our holiday in California. We loved Santa Monica and we loved this motel. Yes the rooms were a bit dated and the tv looked like it had been there for years. But it was spotlessly clean and the swimming pool was the best of the holiday. My husband refuses to swim in a pool unless it is heated and this was fantastic. Also the location was brilliant a short to the shops and the beach. The only complaint is that it was the only the only hotel all holiday that charged for wifi.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Freddy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susansomers, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you Freddy05 for posting your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at our property. We are delighted that you found our suites spotlessly clean and that you enjoyed our year round heated pool. Our team works hard to make sure our guests’ enjoy the “Cal Mar Experience” during their stay in our lovely Beach City. Our wifi is provided off-site and that is the reason for the charge. However, the City of Santa Monica offers free wireless in the Santa Monica Promenade and also at the beach area. Thanks again for your feedback! We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Any hotel in Santa Monica is ridiculously expensive. The Cal Mar is no exception, at an average of $180-200 a night. But it's still a good $100 a night less than other hotels in the area. Granted, it is located 1.5 blocks from our son's apartment; that's a huge advantage right there for us. The nearest comps for location: the Fairmont starts at $350 a night and the boutique Huntley similar (I've stayed at the Huntley, which is fabulous; the Fairmont gets an edge for being right on the ocean).

Why the Cal-Mar? We were staying a week, and looking to economize on the room, where we would spend little time. It's an apartment garden-style complex around a courtyard pool turned into a motel, so each 'room' is actually a suite: a bedroom, bath, dining area, living room and kitchen. Lots of room. It's all dated -- or "retro" as management calls it. But it's spotless clean, and that counts a lot with me. We had access to a fridge, dishes, microwave and range. We bought food at Whole Foods 5 blocks away and at the world-renowned Santa Monica Farmers Market a few blocks away, and were glad to have the kitchen elementals to use. Restaurant meals are expensive here.

Drawbacks.
1) Like most ocean-side properties, there was no air-conditioning so if you run into a warm humid week like we did, a fan and open windows are essential. Which leads me to a complaint voiced by many others:
2) The walls are paper thin and when combined with open windows, means that all the party hounds interrupt your sleep. Til 2 am, 3 am, 4 am. No management attempt to shut them up. We awoke one morning at 7 to find drunk tattooed West Virginia men smoking cigarettes with whiskey bottles aloft in the pool (which didn't open til 9). Other nights we picked out German and French accents for the party crowd in the middle of the night. My husband wasn't shy about asking them to SHUT UP.
3) And yes, as others have written, the trash trucks come around EVERY DAY starting at 6:30 am. Doesn't matter which side of the hotel you stay on, the trucks appear like clockwork.
4) the Cal Mar has smoking rooms, so every European staying in Santa Monica is ecstatic. Half their rooms are smoking, so quiz the desk well about the best location to avoid the smoke. It's a little shocking to find such smoking leniency in a left-wing city like Santa Monica.

So if you don't mind a little sleeplessness and second-hand tobacco in exchange for a great location and some space, this is a good deal. My husband and I are still debating the pros/cons of the Fairmont vs the Cal Mar, ie cost savings vs perfection. We shall see what prevails in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dakota1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susansomers, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Greetings Dakota56. We wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor, we are delighted that you mentioned our ideal location, cleanliness and all the amenities that our suites offer. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your comments regarding items that need to be improved, they are all valid and are in our future plans. Our number one desire is to ensure our guests’ comfort. Again, many thanks and we look forward to seeing you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The pool was great, the staff very warm and welcoming and the accommodation very clean and comfortable. The hotel was really well located. It did however seem very expensive (more than when we booked originally) given that there were no frills so I wouldn't say it was excellent value. It was by far the most expensive place we stayed in California. It was also the only place we stayed without free wifi.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jac_025_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susansomers, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Greetings Jac_025_11, we appreciate so very much you taking the time to post your experience during your recent stay at our property. Thanks for acknowledging our great staff, clean and comfortable accommodations and our amazing location. Our rates are based on occupancy and truly they are lower than most properties in the area. We offer our guests the best value, lots of room to relax and enjoy their families and friend. We hope you will visit the next time you are in our area. Again, we thank you for your comments and look forward to seeing you again. Have an amazing day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in September last year, we were so impressed with Santa Monica & this hotel especially that we decided to return this September. The room was spotless (not the most modern, but has a lovely older era charcter to it), and we felt it had as friendly a staff working there as we've come across on all our trips round the Western US. It is situated perfectly for access to the oceanfront and also very close to the main shopping area in Santa Monica. You also don't have to go far for food or drinks (guess what we do on holiday). It definitely suited us much better than any characterless 'chain ' hotels. Very much looking forward to returning. :o)

Room Tip: King Suite with pool view on top floor facing west - lovely sun in the late afternoon
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susansomers, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Amazing review Flocky, we very much appreciate your comments via your posting on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that we exceeded your expectations and we look forward to your visit in September. Again, our heartfelt thanks!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We competed a 15 date trip around California finishing at the Cal Mar Hotel Suites. this is no hotel by any streach of the imagination it is a dated motel in need of a refurb.The pool is very nice and if you are lucky enough to get a room overlooking the poll so much the better. however our allocation was in the upstairs corner of the block surrounded on two sides by busy roads. Unfortunately there is no air conditioning so the old aluminium famed windows need to be open hence the noise. As other reviews also state the decor is very old sic 1960/70's? chipped and dated bathroom suite and kitchen from a bygone age.

My real objection is paying extra for parking which is in car ports under the second floor and also paying for internet access. Out of 9 hotels we stayed in the was not only the most expensive - including a much bigger 2 bed modern suite just off the strip in Las Vagas) but the only one where we had to pay the extras mentioned above.

so beware of the price....santa monica is a great place and these suites are in a good location but you will get better value elsewhere.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the pool
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susansomers, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Good afternoon Alan H. We appreciate you providing feedback relative to your recent stay at our property. We always thank guests for sharing their personal experience during their visit. We apologize for any inconsistencies you may have observed during the time of your visit. We offer a retro property that is clean, as many of our reviewers have indicated, in a very safe area and within walking distance to the many wonderful venues that Santa Monica has to offer. We have shared your comments with our staff and with our owner. Feedback drives us to raise the bar in customer service.

If you have the opportunity to check out other properties within the area, you will note that our parking charge is far below other properties, as parking is at a premium in Santa Monica. During our shoulder season, our maintenance staff tends to refurbishing each of our suites. We hope you had a wonderful vacation and hope to see you in the future. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
607 reviews
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
674 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#24 of 36 in Santa Monica
614 reviews
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
543 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#19 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cal Mar Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cal Mar Hotel Suites

Address: 220 California Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90403-3606
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $226 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cal Mar Hotel Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cal Mar Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cal Mar Hotel Santa Monica
Cal Mar Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing