We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayside Hotel
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Jugiong, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The staff were excellent, and went above & beyond to welcome us & provide our party with information & assistance.
Even provided a late 4pm check out. Highly recommend !
The rooms were great, with a separate kitchen.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ICTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    204
    99
    52
    27
See reviews for
72
183
34
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
GaMaMi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

For a noisy and dirty "one-star-motel" with impolite and arrogant staff this location is way too expensive. Please trust those others bad reviews...they do not exaggerate at all. So stay away and spend more money elsewhere. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GaMaMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Monica hotels

Santa Monica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I've been booking and recommending this hotel for visiting family & friends for years, but this is the 1st chance I had to stay here. I'm a little reluctant to share what I consider to be outstanding on the ocean in Santa Monica, It's already hard to get an ocean view room over a weekend.

Casa del Mar is next door. Ocean view in that hotel will run you upwards of $1K a night. Depending on the season, $229/night for a nice (not luxe), clean, cute, comfortable room on the same beach is a deal, in my book.

If you're looking for room service, 5 start restaurants, and valets, go north to any of the big boys along Ocean Ave. If you're a local who'd like to enjoy the beach and Main Street restaurants and shopping for a weekend without taking out a 2nd mortgage, the Bayside won't disappoint.

Room Tip: Go ocean front if it's available. Ask for a kitchenette if you're really looking to save. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DS G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Is seemed to be one of the cheaper options in Santa Monica but you don't sacrifice location. Right across from the beach and a 5 minute stroll to the pier, it was also only a 5 or so minute bike ride ( which the hotel let us use for free) to Venice beach. The rooms are lovely, great beds and the furnishings are modern and fresh. Had a great cheap mini bar too. Definitely value for money in Santa Monica.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VauDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We wanted to stay in Santa Monica and this is one of the cheaper options, in a great location. The photographer who did their brochure shots was clearly very good, because the place was nothing like the photographs suggested. It's basically a 2-decker motel around a tiny little lawn. The rooms are basic, tired and not that clean. After walking barefoot on the tile floor for a few minutes my feet were black! The bathroom was also old and not especially clean. Even considering the location it was pretty disappointing for the money. I won't be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IanMcLeodStevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was close to the ocean, and had modern furnishings. It is within walking distance to the amusement park on the beach, to stores and restaurants. However, it was a bit noisy as people tend to party in the courtyard in the evenings, and so you get to sleep when they leave. In the morning there were beer bottles and cigarette butts everywhere in the courtyard from the party the night before. Wifi didn't connect and our king size bed was way too soft, and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SheDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was the cheapest hotel I could find in Santa Monica at short notice, in a convenient location. I had their last room. My cab fare from LAX was $57 and it took about 30 minutes. For self drive it is very easy to find from Interstate 10. Head south for one block on Ocean Avenue and where the road forks, go right and the hotel is on the left virtually unmarked. You'll just see a sign saying Reception. Drive past and then pull a U turn to get into the area in front of the hotel.

You are literally across a quiet street from the path down to the beach - and it is a fantastic beach. You are also only a couple of hundred yards from the Santa Monica pier and 15 minutes walk from Third Street Promenade and Santa Monica Place shopping area.

It is like a motel in that the room doors open to the outside. Nice when it is sunny. My room was compact, but it was clean and everything worked. There was a flat screen TV, microwave, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, ceiling fan and aircon. There was also a desk to work at.

The three reception staff I dealt with were friendly and helpful. There is loads of information to help tourists and I was given a very helpful map.

Room Tip: If I was on vacation I'd specify a beach view room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnwgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#17 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 960 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 459 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ocean Lodge Hotel
#27 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 476 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#26 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Hotel

Property: Bayside Hotel
Address: 2001 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90405-1011
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bayside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Bayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing