We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what it says on the tin”
Review of Bayside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bayside Hotel
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewed August 14, 2013

i was a bit dissappointed in this hotel but there is nothing they can do to change that ... i think its just me!!
We arrived very late and it wa a bit too dark and scary for me!! They said they had no parking for the night (but we could in the morning) so we had to park on the road, lots of homeless people but from being in California for 2 weeks ou start to not notice them.
The room was.... a room!! small and cramped!! Im not going to talk about the shower but good job the sea is near by for a wash!!
The proplem we found was that all hotels in SM are SOOOOOO expensive so this is all you are left with.
he man on reception was nice and its a great location was SM to your right and very close to the pier and all the shops.
Im not sure i would come back but with the prices of al lthe other hotels, im not sure you are left with much choice!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 556 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Lovely hotel great location but...
Realizing location is prime, would have given a better rating except the fact that we got to the hotel and we could not check in until the room was cleaned- we arrived approximately 5pm and waited until after 6pm... for a beach side resort not acceptable. For this we were given two bottles of water "on the house"... Really?!
the wifi is really weak, had to go outside the room to use.
There were pluses to the hotel, but this unfortunately negates the good things the hotel has to offer.
=(

Room Tip: I would certainly ask about the check in time and if you don't choose parking, will have to park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ckstoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Danger! Do Not waste your time or $ on this dump. The website photos are anything but what it actually looks like. It should be called Motel Hell. I arrived at 6pm to check in on a Saturday night and there was no employee working at the check in area, doors were locked and no one picked up my 20 phone calls. I waited at least half hour for someone to show up which they never did. Really? No one to check me in. The tiny parking area was horrendous and there were homeless people walking around the area. I called back the next day and the employee said I was lying that no one was there to check me in and was extremely unprofessional. End of story-horrible experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andreana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just had a couple of days at this hotel and was not impressed at all and left feeling like I had been well and truly 'done'. Guy at reception seemed depressed and had no sense of humor. Did not honor my original quote or any quote found on the internet. Ended up paying over $700 for a couple of nights in a converted motel. No ocean in sight, although there were stains all over the carpet. Do not believe the website that offers free bikes, as there is a charge for these old beach cruisers (cheaper at the beach and better bikes). You will also be charged ($17 per day) to park your car, and they even have the balls to give you bottled water and candy bars in your room, attached to a list of charges. $3.50 for a coke anyone? Do yourself a favor and check into another more affordable and nicer hotel or apply the outrageous charges to a well run establishment down the road..

Room Tip: get quote and room location in writing or you will get ripped off
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank geoff w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Bayside offers average accommodations and a helpful staff. We were comfortable for our 3 nights, but the first room assignment was right next door to a room being renovated and the workers banged and sanded and vacuumed up until 630pm!!. In addition, our room, 112, was right next to where the maids got their supplies so there was lots of in and out of them and talking so we did not feel as private as we wanted.
When we complained the staff immendiately expressed their understanding and moved us to an upstairs room which was comfortable for the next 2 nights.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgleasonphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Tucked away in a perfect spot near the beach. Our room features two big comfy beds, a nice bathroom, and a full kitchen. Even comes with extra necessities in the closet. Exceeded my expectations. Be prepared for tricky parking though.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We made a reservation for a room with kitchen 50 days prior to our stay at the hotel website. When we arrived 1st July the reception wasn't fantastic but after a lotof waiting and no excuses we were able to check in. When we entered our room we realised we hadn't got the room we had booked. Down in the reception again asking why we didn't get the room we had reserved and no explanation on check in theyblamed it on us and how we had booked the room. After some discussion we were told that we could get the room rthe next day and that they now had reduced our price for the first night (marginally). No excuses and no explanation. It seemed like we were the ones to blame. We left and booked in at a nearby hotel. Much nicer, better service, better location, nicer rooms and marginally more expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
635 reviews
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
717 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
634 reviews
Santa Monica
Sea Blue Hotel
Sea Blue Hotel
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,147 reviews
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#29 of 36 in Santa Monica
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Hotel

Address: 2001 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90405-1011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $177 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bayside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing