We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If that what you need”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bayside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayside Hotel
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Abu Dhabi - United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“If that what you need”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Got to St. Monica with no reservation, looked around for a moderate priced hotel, we found it.
Location is perfect just on the shore, we loved the all white room. And provided us wifi service. The staff was friendly and the check out was easy. parking space available for a fee.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moe_XII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    222
    112
    54
    28
See reviews for
77
203
41
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Perfectly located, clean and comfortable. Yes some things could use improvement like updating the bathrooms but if you are satisfied with a clean comfortable place at a good price...this is it! The beds are super comfy and have duvets. There is a fridge stocked with drinks at a cost and a basket filled with snacks also at a cost. Coffee maker, I home dock alarm clock and flat screen tv. No pool but a nice little area to catch some rays on a lounge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HONEYMOONER4EVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed for a single evening at the Bayside Hotel in April 2013. The hotel is located very close to the beach however the majority of the rooms actually face inwards to the back of an apartment block so you do not get a chance to take advantage of the view from your room.

The rooms themselves were very and serviceable if not a little cramped feeling.

We did feel that the pricing for this hotel was a little expensive for what you got in the room, however i suspect you are paying for being so close to the beach front.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Santa Monica. The staff is helpful. They took care of you car and parking lot. The room was really pretty, on the second floor with sea view. You have frozen pizza in the fridge in case you are starving from you filght when you arrive :)
You can rent bike. The surf beach is just in front of the hotel.
Dolphins are swimming in front of the surfeurs!
You can find lost of places for breakfast, lunch and diner. Main street has great cafes.
We went to Blueplate and Oysterette restaurant for diner. Osyters and fishes were really good, we were seating next to Gwyneth Paltrow!
Try the parfait or the lemon tart.
Overall great stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LL_Bklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montevideo, uruguay
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a great stay. The hotel in located in front of Santa Monica Beach and walking distance to the Promenade and various cafés and design stores at Main St.
The service is basic, there is no breakfast, and the reception is basic too, but the room is comfortable and clean.

If you are looking for a hotel under USD 150, this is a great choice. Just expect a comfortable and clean room and a nice location, Santa Monica will do the rest!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cucuchein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hotel was just up re hill from the beach (min walk) amazing views .. Walking distance to the shops and night life (about a 7-10 min walk ish) perfectly fine in the day light a little sketchy at night but the actual hotel is not sketchy at all. One thing to mention is the shower head is extremely low so if your above 5'2" you'll probably be a little uncomfortable, I'm 5'1" so I was just fine. Also parking was $17 per day which I thought was a little pricy but could very well be the norm in this area. Lastly cell phone service is almost non existent in the rooms. All in all satisfied with the place!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent the last night night of a 3 week US holiday at the Bayside. We loved the hotel and certainly had no intention of paying the exorbitant rates on most of the other Santa Monica beachside hotels. Sure the hotel is of an older style but being just one street back from the beach is a major plus and the ocean view rooms all have great views. The rooms were clean, light and very comfortable. Service from reception was very helpful and friendly. We'd have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichardMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#18 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#28 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ocean Lodge Hotel
#29 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Hotel

Property: Bayside Hotel
Address: 2001 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bayside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Bayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing