We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a View!”
Review of Bayside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bayside Hotel
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Room with a View!”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We enjoyed our stay. For what we paid had expected a hotel more modern but had everything we required for a comfortable stay. Highrise hotels a short walk from our hotel were only a few dollars more expensive but maybe didn't have the views. Conveniently hired bikes from the office to ride to Venice Beach. Overall a great stay in San Diego.

Room Tip: Comfortable bed, free WiF. We requested views of the ocean which were great. Could imagine in bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 60John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    226
    114
    56
    28
See reviews for
83
207
41
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
woking
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Our expectations were fairly low, mainly due to the low price we paid. But our room was clean, well equipped and everything worked. The staff were great, the hotel is very close to the beach and there is nothing about the bay side that we could complain about.
The best thing about Santa Monica for us was watching the really cool people cycling and skating on the trail along the beach. The bayside also were able to rent us some bikes, so for that day, we too, were one of those cool people cycling along the beach.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NaldoWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I decided to extend a business trip and spend 4 days in Santa Monica. The Bayside looked like the best bet judging from the reviews on Trip Advisor but you really don't know how good it is until you get there. To start, the location is brilliant. Not only a view of the ocean across a really nice park but walking distance to all of the good places such as Venice, downtown Santa Monica and the pier. It's in a quiet but central location with ample parking either out front or in their own car park. Rooms are clean and fresh, but basic. Good enough because you will be outside all day enjoying the glorious weather. Beds are really comfortable. I had a room with two "singles" but they were really 2/3rds double beds. Everything is bigger in America ! Shower and bathroom were excellent and there is airco in the room. I didn't use it because the ceiling fan was more pleasant. One gripe would be the wi-fi which was difficult to connect and a bit unreliable....but it was free.There is also a nice small inner garden with a really chilled feeling if you want to just sit and read. At night there are security gates on the entrances plus staff in attendance. All in all a very secure feeling. Staff were very friendly ( as everyone seemed to be in Santa Monica. Just around the corner is the M Street Kitchen which is a great place to have breakfast or brunch. My advice would be to do a lot of walking and see as much of the place as possible because there was a nice surprise around every corner. The houses and streets north of Montana are really beautiful and the craziness of Venice has to be experienced. I can't wait to go back for more and I'll definitely use the Bayside again.

Room Tip: The staff are happy to show you options so just have a look when you get there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Older motel which was remodeled into a vintage beachside motel. Rooms are nicely done up with modern facilities, had only some hot water issues due to the old appliances. No breakfast and parking comes at an extra charge of 15$ on top of the already expensive room rate of 220$+ for a motel. But it's the great location you pay for. Santa Monica pier is in walking distance and the beach is right across the street. I recommended getting an ocean view room, you already pay so much, the extra dollars for ocean view are worth it as they put chairs outside the room to enjoy the view. Had a second level room and great view. Overall a nice place to stay and pretty close to LAX.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadtoholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I was actually staying in Santa Monica on business, but like so many other business AND pleasure travelers, I was trying to keep my expenses to a minimum. (which is tough in Santa Monica!) I needed a hotel near the beach, the pier, and the other 5-star luxury hotels where my clients and meetings were held. There are a few options on expedia for a 2-3 star hotel, but I am SO HAPPY I went with the Bayside Hotel! Despite the current reviews, the price was right and the location was a block away from my meetings. Well I have to say i LOVE this hotel! Right from checking in, they were courteous and very accomodating. There is free wifi in the rooms, and parking right behind the hotel for a small daily fee, which is still easier than trying to find a spot in the beach or street public parking. The room had a boutique feel, and was very cute and clean! There was a beach bag and towels hanging on the door for when I needed to hit the beach, which I thought was a very nice touch. :) The bathrooms are the most basic part, but I know I did not chose this hotel for luxuries, it was for price and convenience. If you go in with basic expectations for a 2 star hotel, you will be MORE than happy with this hotel! There are still toiletries, snacks and a mini bar, and every other little luxury you'd expect at any hotel, but the location and price you really can't beat!! I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone and for any reason.... business or pleasure. :)

Room Tip: I had a 2nd floor room which feels a little more safe for a single woman than the ground floor, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissingCubaAlready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Nice smaller hotel in a wonderful location in Santa Monica- across the road from the beach and pier, with easy access to all the lovely SM has to offer. Tip: ask for a ground floor if you have luggage. There's also a small but appealing courtyard in which to relax after a long days walking!

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluedakkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

The wife and I were very impressed with the Bayside Hotel. After some family members suggested we try this, we noticed some pretty negative reviews that were left on Google and were a little leery of the place. But once we arrived the place was very cool and we ended up staying an extra night! The staff was very friendly as well.....and then learned that the Google reviews were old and written before the new management fixed up the place. Would highly recommend this hotel, especially for a quick little romantic getaway.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank EastCoastJWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#20 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,088 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ocean Lodge Hotel
#30 of 36 in Santa Monica
161 reviews
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
576 reviews
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#27 of 36 in Santa Monica
432 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Hotel

Property: Bayside Hotel
Address: 2001 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90405-1011
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bayside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Bayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing