We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintage motel, expensive rate, no breakfast but great location”
Review of Bayside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bayside Hotel
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Vintage motel, expensive rate, no breakfast but great location”
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Older motel which was remodeled into a vintage beachside motel. Rooms are nicely done up with modern facilities, had only some hot water issues due to the old appliances. No breakfast and parking comes at an extra charge of 15$ on top of the already expensive room rate of 220$+ for a motel. But it's the great location you pay for. Santa Monica pier is in walking distance and the beach is right across the street. I recommended getting an ocean view room, you already pay so much, the extra dollars for ocean view are worth it as they put chairs outside the room to enjoy the view. Had a second level room and great view. Overall a nice place to stay and pretty close to LAX.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadtoholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    226
    114
    56
    28
See reviews for
83
207
41
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I was actually staying in Santa Monica on business, but like so many other business AND pleasure travelers, I was trying to keep my expenses to a minimum. (which is tough in Santa Monica!) I needed a hotel near the beach, the pier, and the other 5-star luxury hotels where my clients and meetings were held. There are a few options on expedia for a 2-3 star hotel, but I am SO HAPPY I went with the Bayside Hotel! Despite the current reviews, the price was right and the location was a block away from my meetings. Well I have to say i LOVE this hotel! Right from checking in, they were courteous and very accomodating. There is free wifi in the rooms, and parking right behind the hotel for a small daily fee, which is still easier than trying to find a spot in the beach or street public parking. The room had a boutique feel, and was very cute and clean! There was a beach bag and towels hanging on the door for when I needed to hit the beach, which I thought was a very nice touch. :) The bathrooms are the most basic part, but I know I did not chose this hotel for luxuries, it was for price and convenience. If you go in with basic expectations for a 2 star hotel, you will be MORE than happy with this hotel! There are still toiletries, snacks and a mini bar, and every other little luxury you'd expect at any hotel, but the location and price you really can't beat!! I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone and for any reason.... business or pleasure. :)

Room Tip: I had a 2nd floor room which feels a little more safe for a single woman than the ground floor, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissingCubaAlready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Nice smaller hotel in a wonderful location in Santa Monica- across the road from the beach and pier, with easy access to all the lovely SM has to offer. Tip: ask for a ground floor if you have luggage. There's also a small but appealing courtyard in which to relax after a long days walking!

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluedakkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

The wife and I were very impressed with the Bayside Hotel. After some family members suggested we try this, we noticed some pretty negative reviews that were left on Google and were a little leery of the place. But once we arrived the place was very cool and we ended up staying an extra night! The staff was very friendly as well.....and then learned that the Google reviews were old and written before the new management fixed up the place. Would highly recommend this hotel, especially for a quick little romantic getaway.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank EastCoastJWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Our first stop in the US was at Bayside. Staff friendly and helpful. Location good, just a 10 minute walk into SM. room was a bit small but sufficiently clean and well looked after.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjklions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, PA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This is an interesting property that will only make a certain style of guest happy. The location is fantastic- you are right near a prime stretch of Santa Monica beach, within blocks of the pier and great people watching. We had an ocean-view room, and the view was, indeed, of the ocean (through a parking lot). There is a nice outdoor seating area. But basically this is a motel- an old property with very thin walls- you can hear conversations held by neighbors in their rooms and if you are on the first floor you can hear people above you walking around. Very thin walls. And frankly the property looks a bit sketchy if you arrive late at night. I am sure it was completely safe, but it didn't look it when we arrived, and the ocean view rooms open out basically on to the street. This is a quaint place, and I appreciated its non-corporate character, but I am not sure I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room so you don't have to listen to people walking around above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PSU_travel_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
british columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I stayed with my family here in March 2012. I chose it for its location and its kitchen. The staff were really wonderful, friendly and helpful. The room itself is nicely decorated and clean. The kitchen and the bathroom however are in desperate need of updating and a thorough cleaning. Everything is corroding and cracking and mildewed.
The location is excellent. Even with two little ones we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go and the city bus stops just around the corner.
Our room was not air conditioned which is obviously not a problem in March but I can't imagine being there in the middle of summer. The traffic noise is bad enough with the windows closed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoriafamilytrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#20 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,087 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ocean Lodge Hotel
#30 of 36 in Santa Monica
161 reviews
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
574 reviews
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#27 of 36 in Santa Monica
432 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Hotel

Property: Bayside Hotel
Address: 2001 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90405-1011
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bayside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Bayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing