We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service- Magical View and Accomodations”
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Georgian Hotel
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fair Haven, New Jersey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service- Magical View and Accomodations”
Reviewed March 3, 2011

The wonderful staff was very friendly and most helpful. From Carlos the valet, Brian and the front desk , the bar tender and breakfast crew, everyone went out of their way to accommodate our every request. The French Toast souffle was fantastic! What a unique hotel. We enjoyed every minute of our stay thanks to the enthusiastic staff and service.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie1754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,068
    769
    262
    84
    40
See reviews for
595
930
92
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Stayed here for three nights in June and glad we did. This hotel has some personality. Have no complaints. Had emailed prior to stay advising of mid morning arrival and requesting if at all possible early access to our room – this they were able to do and was much appreciated by us after a long flight from Australia. The bed was like floating on a cloud. Free internet access in room was also appreciated. Loved the veranda. A great place for breakfast and to watch the world go by. And the best hamburger we had in the US during our three week trip. Great location (five mins to Third Street promenade and five mins to Santa Monica Pier). US$34 (plus tip) taxi ride from airport.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveToTravel032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

I love small historical hotels and when they have a view of the beach it is even better. The location is great for shopping and eating in Santa Monica. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and nicely appointed. Only down side is the lobby staff. Reception is cold and it feels as if they are being put out to help you. Other than that would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We stayed at The Georgian Hotel for three nights and loved it. It is across the street from the beach, and close to bars, restaurants, shopping and the Pier. The veranda restaurant does a lovely breakfast and is nice for a glass of wine in the evenings.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelV075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

However, my room was in the palisades building and faced a street. I could hear every car that drove on the street THROUGHOUT THE ENTIRE NIGHT. Not able to get a good nights sleep and I was exhausted. Would make sure to request a room that does not face a street. Otherwise, the hotel was great. Service and in room dining were excellent

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiredeastcoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

It's over priced and over rated and I strongly recommend you do NOT book this hotel. I stayed here for 3 nights and I didn't get one decent nights sleep. I asked for a quiet room, so they put me at the very back of the hotel (with a view out over the industrial sized garbage bins) - however I was woken at 6.30am each morning by the loudest garbage trucks i've ever heard. When i explained the situation, they refused to move me. There's also constant and very loud banging and smashing noises in the hallways within the hotel at all hours of the day and night (i still don't know where the noises were coming from). And the walls are so thin I could hear every movement in the next room (shower, toilet, talking). Internet was supposed to be free, but hardly ever worked. No room service available Mon, Tues, Wed nights. Go figure. Don't book this hotel. It's crap.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slukis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

We stayed here for a Saturday night in February. Overall, we were very pleased with the hotel. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, from the valet to the front desk people.

We did have one issue with the woman running the front desk when we checked in -- we got stuck in LA traffic on the way to the hotel and were running late for our dinner reservations. We asked for a taxi to be called immediately, since we were just going to drop our bags and quickly change clothes. We dashed back down stairs five minutes later and the woman had forgotten to call the taxi! She got busy and it slipped her mind -- these things happen, of course, but it was rather frustrating. She called then and we had a taxi about 10 minutes later. Luckily the restaurant was able to hold our table and we didn't miss dinner.

The rooms were clean and well furnished, but the walls are rather thin -- to be expected in a hotel as old as this one. We got a room at the end of the hall, so noise was limited.

Breakfast on the veranda was very nice in the morning. Tasty food, and fun people watching. We checked out after breakfast and took a great walk on the pier before getting the car from the valet.

Nice hotel. Good stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrDarcyAndElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,780 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
574 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,227 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Property: The Georgian Hotel
Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing