We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Santa Monica
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,861)
Filter reviews
2,861 results
Traveler rating
1,388
980
329
110
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,388
980
329
110
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews veranda restaurant great location art deco the santa monica pier watching the world an ocean view suite street promenade valet parking lovely hotel an older hotel overlooking the beach valet service rooms are small the pacific ocean ocean front two blocks los angeles
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 2,861 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stopped to rest a while after a shopping trip and discovered the lobby bar at the Georgian during happy hour. Wonderful bartenders and a delicious appetizers! We love historic hotels and this one did not disappoint. Next visit we will stay at the Georgian— facing the water.

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank BuffaloTraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear BuffaloTraveler23,

WOW. 5 STARS! Thank you so much for this stellar review.
We are beyond happy to hear that all your expectations were exceeded when attending Happy Hour at The Veranda.
We cannot wait to welcome you back to our historic beachfront property on your next visit to Santa Monica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

These are the loudest rooms I have ever been in. Hot, noisy and dingy. I don’t know if I got a bad room or everyone else has really low standards. I’m happy I got a deal on Hotwire, I would have been very very unhappy to spend $300 a night. On a positive note it is a fantastic location!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank 887betsys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 887betsys,

I am sorry to hear that your experience was not a positive one.
I do regret that our guestroom facilities did not meet your expectations. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our guests' experience and we appreciate your comments.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020

Just returned from a 12 night return visit to the Georgian Hotel. It is a great hotel in a prime location on the sea front close to Santa Monica Pier and a couple of blocks from 3rd street promenade .the hotel is a nice hotel with great friendly staff. It is close to all public transport to travel around Santa Monica and surrounds .The only fault with hotel was that every morning around 7.30 am what sounded like a compressor and went on for a number of hours. The same thing happened every evening around 6pm and went on until around 9.30pm. It did not effect our sleep except an early awaking every morning. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Santa Monica.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2020

Dear Martin B,

WOW! 5 STARS! Thank you so much for the kind rating! Our staff pride themselves in making our guests feel welcomed & at home and I am glad to hear they did just that. We are elated to hear that you found our beachfront property a prime location near all attractions one needs while traveling. We apologize for the noise brought upon the renovations we are currently undergoing in our suites.
We can't wait to welcome you back! All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020

Old but charming hotel with the best location. The hotel is old but the rooms are nice and big. Clean rooms and with helpful and really nice staff. One the downside is the elevators that are small and very slow. Noisy if you get rooms close to the elevator or the air-condition units. Really like the common areas like the restaurant and bar. This was the second stay and we will be back again.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanna_ksd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Dear Hanna,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a rating!
Our historic beachfront property has stood the test of time. Our staff pride themselves in making all our guests feel welcomed and we are happy to hear they did just that! We are glad you enjoyed your time spent in our Veranda Restaurant and Bar.
We hope to welcome you back soon for a 5-star experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2019 via mobile

...it just doesn’t work. and when it works (sporadically) it’s like going back 10 years in terms of speed...you can wait minutes before being able to load a website page...really, I haven’t been experiencing such a bad connection in the last few years.
I spent 5 days in this hotel and had to spend 5 TIMES more than 20 minutes on the phone with their wifi support service (they were very kind by the way) in order to fix the connection; it was working for a few hours and then back to stone age again! So frustrating!
I don’t know what kind of prehistoric hardware they got but they should seriously think about changing them all, because one cannot struggle that much in a hotel room for such an easy task as sending emails and communicate with people. Really!

Ah...and the valet service is pretty much the same speed in case you have a car! ...and they are definitely less kind than the wifi support!

GOOD LUCK!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Danysker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2019

Dear Danysker,

Thank you for taking the time to review our historic property.
We are sad to read that your stay was less than perfect. We apologize for the trouble with our Wi-Fi service, you will be happy to hear that we are updating our hardware next year.
We pride ourselves in our friendly service, which we often get complimented on, so we were shocked to read your comments about our valet service. Please always feel free to address any concerns with the Manager on Duty, as your comments do not reflect our philosophy here at The Georgian! We hope to welcome you back in the future for a much better experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews