We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine, old hotel with character”
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Georgian Hotel
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Fine, old hotel with character”
Reviewed March 10, 2007

The hotel was great - the service was great and the room was wonderful. The major problem was that they didn't offer smoking rooms. And you can't smoke outside on their patio either. I think the best thing you can do is invest in some fabreeze. That way, you can let your guests smoke in their rooms and then simply spray the fabreeze so the next people checking in won't even notice. And in the least, make the farthest outside table away from the door a smoking table.

  • Liked — location, decent room rate, service
  • Disliked — The fascism
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Writer/Director
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,076
    780
    264
    85
    40
See reviews for
603
938
93
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, CA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2007

Don't expect any frills with the Georgian Hotel. The standard rooms are small and the hallways are narrow. Due to its older architecture, the valets are unable to wheel luggage carts all the way down to the curbside. If you want ice cubes in your room, you need to call the front desk. Parking is expensive -- use the cheap city lot around the corner on 2nd Street. One nice feature, however, is that the entire hotel, including the outdoor verdanda, is 100% NON-SMOKING thanks to a recent Santa Monica city ordinance. You're within a two short blocks of the (obnoxiously noisy and crowded) Third Street Promenade and the S.M. Pier, and you're right across the street from the ocean. The hotel also offers express check-out via your television's remote control. Overall, The Georgian Hotel is a reasonably-priced and clean hotel with an ocean view, and offers a cheap alternative for pricier hotels like the Loews and Shutters On The Beach.

Pros: Close to everything, clean, 100% non-smoking
Cons: Small, parking is expensive

  • Liked — Close to everything, clean, 100% non-smoking
  • Disliked — Small, parking is expensive
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank freebiegrabber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2007

After spending 11 weeks in summer camps, my friend and I met in LAX airport to enjoy a five days of bliss in Santa Monica. The hotel room was lovely we had a twin room which consisted of 2 queen beds. The beds themselves were so comfortable.

The room was spacious and there was a large TV. And nice bathroom complete with white dressing gowns - always a nice touch! We had the most amazing view, we could see the pier and the beach.

The room was well serviced and very clean and chocolates were left every day.

The location could not have been better - right across from the beach and round the corner from 3rd promenade. There is alot of homeless people in the area but we just didnt look at them and they didnt bother us.

My only complaint would be the staff when checking out messed up. First of all they were annoyed when we wanted to pay seperately and then they messed the charges and then tried to recharge us - but our cards wouldnt accept the two charges. To cut along story short they accepted no responsibility that it was their fault - after keeping us there for just under an hour I had to phone my mum in Scotland to get her to put it on her credit card. By this time the manager was involved - he did not apologize once and was very patronising. I said after all the time and trouble the hotel had cost us they should give us some compensation. But nothing was done and to be honest it ruined an otherwise perfect stay.

  • Liked — The comfy beds and great location
  • Disliked — the staff upon checking out
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliforniaDreamer33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2007

I came here on a business trip and was impressed by the spacious room I was given compared to my counterparts at the Lowes (which was booked already). I had a family room with pull out couch, chair, desk and a bedroom with a sitting room off of that! More space then one person could ever use. Also, The bathroom had been beautifully redone. The hotel was in a great location to the pier and the 3rd street Promenade. I was dissapointed there was no pool and that the hotel was across the street from the beach not on it.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank elk99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2007

Stayed here for 3 nights in Jan. Loved the art deco character of the place. Excellent location as is right opposite the beach and the verandah is a great place to sit back and relax. Staff were excellent and generally clean rooms. Unfortunately had to ask to have area behind bed and bedside table vacummed as very dusty, but that was our only complaint. The room we had was a good size (2 queen beds), but a little dark with poor lighting. Would like to see a mirror somewhere else other than just the one in the bathroom (important when travelling with 2 teenage daughters!). Breakfasts were great and would highly recommend this hotel. We hired bikes and rode up to Venice which is well worth doing.

  • Liked — art deco style
  • Disliked — dark room
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank libstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2006

We stayed here for 2 nights before travelling to hawaii & vegas.

The hotel is lovely & nicely decorated in an old fashioned style.
The lifts can be slow sometimes but are worth the wait!

It is in an ideal location with the beach accross the road & third street promenade shopping area only a few minutes walk.

The staff were friendly & helpful, the rooms were small but not cramped & were extremely clean.

We had a gorgeous ocean view from our room & breakfast on the veranda is the perfect start to the day!

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Breakfast on the veranda facing the ocean
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank casso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2006

Made a two-night reservation for a suite (we were traveling with an infant, so needed the additional space) directly with the hotel, but when we arrived they said that we had only reserved one night and the second night was sold out. They found a room for us; but it was not a suite. Ultimately, on day two, they contacted another guest who apparently agreed to forego a suite for one night so that we could remain in our room. The staff was very friendly (the bell staff could not have been nicer or more efficient) and the rooms were of a nice size. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — location; staff
  • Tips/Secrets — call and ask for a deal
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank exNYCer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,825 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
589 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,502 reviews
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Property: The Georgian Hotel
Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing