We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Georgian Hotel
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 6, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,315)
There are newer reviews for The Georgian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

769 - 775 of 2,315 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014

We booked our ocean view suite (bedroom, bathroom, and separate living area with pull-out bed) through Groupon. We were a little nervous that we wouldn't get a quality experience because we were getting a discount rate, but the staff treated us really well. Staff is amazingly helpful and friendly. We asked for a mini-fridge ahead of time, and it was taken care of without a reminder. Our suite was clean and nicely decorated. Housekeeping did an excellent job every day. The doormen are very friendly, as are the staff at the desk. It is totally worth the extra cost to get an ocean view room -- the view is spectacular.
The location is perfect. We took a cab from LAX -- it was about 30 minutes and cost $35. We did not need a car. Many, many restaurants are within 3 blocks of the hotel. The Santa Monica pier is just across the street. We ran along the beach and the Venice boardwalk each day -- perfect place with great sightseeing. If we choose to vacation in Santa Monica again, we will definitely choose The Georgian. It has character without sacrificing amenities.

Room Tip: The halls are narrow. Ask for a room away from the elevator. If people waiting for the elevator ar...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelKate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed here on a whim, wanting to be near the ocean. The location was great. We were able to walk to the Santa Monica pier and 3rd street promenade. We never needed the car once we arrived. The room was spacious enough for 2 adults and 2 teenagers. Only downfall was the small bathroom. I like the sink/vanity to be separate from the tub and toilet, letting 2 people get ready in the morning. In our room, it was all located together. Small issue. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snowlover81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This is my second time staying at this hotel and I will stay here again. Close to the beach, close to the pier, close to the Santa Monica walking Mall, and close to great restaurants, this boutique hotel has a great old hollywood history, complete with its own speak easy (not accessible this last time I stayed here though). The staff was great, valet parking was easy, and nice breakfasts. Our mini suite was tastefully decorated and had plenty of room for my wife and 16 year old son. Ask for a room with a view.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the ocean
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingeyedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I chose this hotel for its amazing location in Santa Monica. Upon entering the hotel, the retro feel was great and the staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. However, the rooms themselves have poor ventilation and are quite stuffy. I felt like I was in a grandma's apartment. The bathrooms are clean, but tiny even though there was a ton of empty space (with nothing in it) in the suite. I know it is an old hotel, but something needs to be done to make it feel less stale. Spend a little money on the rooms and you will have a great hotel....

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anonymous8182014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Anonymous81820,

Thank you for sharing your time with us here at The Georgian. As our location, lobby and guest experiences are unique and inviting - our rooms are as well. Many have a character all their own. When you plan to return, please do not hesitate to call on me to insure a memorable visit.

Kind Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Gorgeous looking art deco hotel overlooking the beach/ocean and Santa Monica Pier, 5 minutes walk from the great shopping along Third Street Promenade and surrounded by loads of restaurants, the location of the Georgian Hotel could not be better. We stayed for four days and loved it. Rooms are tastefully decorated and spacious. Staff were very friendly and helpful. WiFi is free and good. We had a very yummy breakfast at the Veranda Restaurant every morning (included in our room rate). Highly recommend having the Georgian Combination if you have a hearty breakfast appetite (awesome!)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CairnsSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

So many things to love about this charming boutique hotel. Huge suite facing the ocean, chaise by the window, lovely furnishings, great location near pier, beach, shopping, very friendly staff. Just a wonderful experience which we will definitely repeat.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank LaCostaHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,893 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
607 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,604 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $324 - $507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing