We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Georgian Hotel
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nassau, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here in early February. The hotel has charm and character. The room is a bit smaller than a "chain" property, but is beautifully appointed - and let's face it, little time is spent in the room!. Our ocean view room was on the second floor, however street noise was minimal. We did not hear a hint of noise from adjoining rooms. The staff could not be more friendly, polite and helpful. The location is perfect - easy walk to everything. Breakfast on the veranda is a must do (cocktails there at sunset not a bad idea either!). Highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room - which also faces the street. Higher floors would offer best view and be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 78chevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,048
    742
    250
    77
    38
See reviews for
572
911
83
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

I have stayed and many hotels and by far this was the friendliest staff i have ever encountered. Its is old hotel with lots of charm and character. The location is perfect right on the water and easy walking to eateries and bars. The only down side would be since it is a older hotel there is not a lot of sound proofing. I am a light sleeper and noisy guest in the hall were annoying but in no way the hotels fault. We really loved this place and would recommend it anyone looking for a cool, funky, non-chain establishment type of stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love_Dana_Point
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

we loved this place, the staff was wonderful very friendly very helpful. best of of for us it's dog friendly. valet parking, if you forgot something in your car they would get it for you, can't wait to go back.beautiful art deco hotel

Room Tip: oops on the pool ,no pool. walls are super thick the only time we hear noise was thru the door. li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2looscruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear 2looscruz,

We do enjoy providing premier service to our 2 and 4 legged guests. Looking forward to your return, please don't hesitate to call on me, prior to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed here recently with our two adult children. The location is excellent, the staff very helpful and friendly, and the rooms and hotel have a style and charm all of their own . We have no hesitation recommending th ehotel and would love to come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManagementSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromsø - Rovaniemi
Level Contributor
191 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We were a little skeptical to this old hotel before arrival - but there as no need for it. Had a very nice stay here. Only 2 nights, but had other places to visit. Booked a breakfast/parking option - and it worked very well. It was only January, but had one of breakfast outside at the patio. Quality on food was very good. Same with presentation and taste. No bad thing to say about rooms. The hotel is from the 1940ish, so have that in mind. But thats what makes it special. When you know this, its all cool. Not cheap rooms, but none hotel along the Santa Monica beach is.... No problem to book this hotel if I one day go back.

Room Tip: Room towards the beach a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frode R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Goofey74,

Mixing the 'old" with the "new", good food and a spectacular destination is a recipe that is sure to please. Taking advantage, as you did, of our Bed & Breakfast Package is a certain to add value to the experience.

We will remain hopeful that you will return one day.

Kind Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night. The staff could not have been any more helpful. They offered great recommendations for things to do. The location is fantastic, steps away from the beach and pier, close to the 3rd street promenade. The hotel accommodated a request for a high floor with a view. Sunset was phenomenal. The only downside was hallway noise as others have mentioned. But in my opinion, the pros definitely outweighed the con! Would definitely recommend!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank heidigale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Not only was the hotel nostalgic and clean! The food and locale were also great! What made our stay one of the best ever, was the service! Mehra, Placida, Ruben and every other staff member we passed went out of their way to greet us, help us and make sure we had everything we needed! Those simple little extras make such a difference! They made US feel very special and important! THANK YOU for a wonderful stay! WE will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in an ocean view king suite and it was roomy enough for 5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASH172014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear ASH172014,

WOW! Providing service that YOU value and appreciate is a gift that we here at The Georgian enjoy most in giving. We are counting on your return as we have more to show and share with you.

Kind Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#14 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Property: The Georgian Hotel
Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing