We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best Romantic Getaway Thanks to The Georgian” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Georgian Hotel
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Solana Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Romantic Getaway Thanks to The Georgian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here for a mini getwaway with my bf and wow, the staff, Room, and location made the experience so amazing. Definitley would recommend staying here. Staff is just the most accomodating and friendliest you will come across. Hotel serves the most amazing breakfast too.Such a charming place, absolutely loved every bit of my stay. Will only stay here next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fatima m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,040
    732
    247
    77
    38
See reviews for
564
903
82
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
135 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel is lovely to look at from the outside, and has a historic, quaint ambience. It's kind of a mixed bag, though. I wanted to love it, but I'm used to staying in newer hotels. For $280 a night we were assigned a non-view room that looked out at a drab gray building with no windows in it, an alley's distance away. All the room's features, from the paint on the walls and ceiling, to the bathroom shower and floor, to the fan in the ceiling felt a little dated. There's no sound proofing whatsoever, so we were unable to sleep in past 8am since we could hear every door on our hall slam shut, and all kinds of noise from upstairs that sounded like furniture being moved around. Back to the plus side, the room was well-maintained in that it was perfectly clean, had no odors, and no bugs. I have no complaints about the staff, the valet parking was convenient and quick, and the hotel is in a safe, clean area, right across the street from a park that spans a great distance along a bluff with a view of the ocean. As you head down towards the Santa Monica pier the neighborhood gets dirtier and sketchier, so I definitely appreciated getting to feel so safe at the hotel's location. If you're not looking for a five-star hotel with all the amenities, and you're cool with accepting a few flaws that inherently come with boutique hotels built in the 1930's, then this is a great choice. I'd bet the ocean view rooms are stellar.

Room Tip: The front of this hotel gets an amazing view of the ocean and Santa Monica pier. If I stayed here ag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Capybara22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Maryland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Georgian Hotel is gorgeous!! The staff is accomodating and friendly. The location is PERFECT. And the view from the oceanview queen room is breathtaking!! We really could not have been happier. You are in walking distance from all that beautiful Santa Monica has to offer. The Pier, Third Street Promenade, Santa Monica Place...ALL OF IT!! Oh, and the beach!! We really could not have asked for more. What a gorgeous property. And they were celebrating their 80th anniversary the night we arrived!! I HIGHLY recommend this property. And as soon as we save up enough money (we are on the East Coast!!), we WILL be back!! And don't miss the amazing Veranda Restaurant!! Best breakfast and that view!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view...worth the extra!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights in mid October and was not disappointed. The room was very nice, with an extremely comfortable bed. My room faced a back lot of some sort , but it was quiet at night, although there was some construction of some kind going on that started in the a.m. I was greeted well when I checked in and was told they were going to have their 80th anniversary while I was there. Didn't have much of an impact other than seeing some models oddly placed in the lobby when I walked in in the evening. The staff was pretty helpful. I was accidentally charged for a minibar item and they took if off. Valet service was prompt. I had breakfast at the veranda once and it was just ok.There are much better places to have a meal nearby, a place called True Kitchen was a block away and had really good healthy food. The hotel has a great location near the pier and a short bike ride away form Venice. If you're there on a Weds, check out the farmer's market they have a couple of blocks away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrSparkle_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herkenbosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

The nicest Hotel you can imagine, great ambiance, very good food and excellent service!
It doesn´t get better and if you stay in Santa Monica don´t mis this opportunity!
What a nice vieuw, an incredible nice terras and the nicest and most friendly people that work there!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexander s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I had booked the Georgian Hotel in Santa Monica as a finish to our five week holiday abroad.
From my first contact when making a reservation on-line everything was handled in a very professional manner.
We had a beautiful Ocean View Room on the 7th floor. The furnishings were superb and the bed and pillows extremely comfortable.
We had arrived in the early hours of the morning very tired from a long flight and also to find out that my husband's suitcase did not arrive with us.
We were greeted outside the hotel as we got out of the Taxi by Ron, who made us feel very welcome. He helped with the luggage we had and took us to our room and made us feel very welcome after our experience at the airport.
All of the staff were extremely professional and friendly.
If we are ever fortunate enough to be back in Santa Monica, we will definitely stay at the Georgian Hotel and also recommend it to our family and friends.
Thank you
Ageoldtrippers
Western Australia

Room Tip: Choose an Ocean View room on the top floor.
See more room tips
Green Features: We were pleased to see that you don't have to have a change of clean linen in the bathroom everyday, which is definitely environmentally-friendly.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ageoldtrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at the Georgian for the second time last weekend. Once again, we found the hotel to be the perfect spot to stay in Santa Monica. Our room was spotless, with a partial ocean view. The only complaint about the rooms is the size of the bathroom. They're pretty tiny, but do have a tub and very nice bath products for use. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. The location is perfect - right across the street from the beach, blocks from the 3rd St. Promenade...loaded with great shops and restaurants. The Santa Monica Pier is very close also. Our favorite part of staying at the Georgian is enjoying the beautiful sunset with a glass of wine on the veranda...it is spectacular! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are always best, but cost $50 more on average. The suites are usually $100 more th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,653 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#15 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,279 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Property: The Georgian Hotel
Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing