We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!!!!!”
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Georgian Hotel
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!!!!!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We booked into this hotel to end our trip from Chicago to LA along Route 66. For those completing the trip this is the must stay at hotel, as it is possibly the only hotel standing from the era of Route 66, and is adjacent to a memorial marker for the end of the route.
The hotel is of traditional boutique style, and has a great veranda on which you can have your meals or just a relaxing drink whilst watching the populace of LA, LA Land pass by. The staff were excellent and met our every need with a smile and a kind word.
The only problem we had was on our second night, at around midnight, we were disturbed by other residents in an adjacent room. They were not overly noisy, but the sound carried dreadfully. This went on for about an hour before I called the reception and told them that this was a problem that they certainly would be aware of. Within minutes we heard a knock, and all went quiet.
Noise insulation seems to be a bit of a problem, but if you suffer this the staff WILL deal with it.
I would strongly recommend this hotel, and would stay again if visiting SM, despite the noise issue.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trottersontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear trottersontour,

Route 66 and The Georgian, kind of go hand in hand. Thank you for finishing the trail with us. Nicknamed, "The First Lady of Santa Monica", we are celebrating her 80th Birthday this year.

It is our pleasure to serve and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, regardless of "the noise". We hope you will return.

Kind Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,067
    764
    262
    84
    40
See reviews for
592
927
92
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lancaster
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Georgian is undoubtedly a splendid hotel. The highlights and low lights for us were as follows:
Pros:
On arrival, two bell men rushed to our taxi to see if we were checking in and immediately helped with our bags. On check-in, there was very friendly and knowledgeable personnel. Some reception and bell staff always said 'Welcome back' when we returned to the hotel each day, this was a very nice touch. There is no fridge in the room, however, when questioned one was brought to us quickly at no charge. The suite was amazingly comfortable, large bathroom, larger lounge and huge bed. Breakfast was nice enough, however, not to all tastes (we are from overseas after all), The Monte Cristo (lightly battered ham toastie) really didn't hit the spot, too much soggy bread and not enough ham, complete waste of money.
Cons:
We really did miss not having some sort of outdoor relaxation area (pool, jaccuzzi or guest only terrace). It was labor weekend and Santa Monica was heaving to the point of uncomfortable, fire engines on the Pier and people exiting the pier in droves. If it were feasible, I would suggest a rooftop area which only guests could enjoy and put a jaccuzzi in, that would serve much more purpose than the gym, which I never saw anyone use - the clientele is not particularly of that ilk and besides plenty exercise along the prom in Santa Monica, if they are serious about keeping fit. After a long day, we returned to the hotel, looking forward to enjoying a quiet drink on the front veranda terrace, it was 10.10pm, the waitress said they stopped serving at 10pm and we should use our minibar in our room. I did not want to be told to go to my room like a naughty child, I thought our hotel was there to enjoy, the night was still young and the rest of Santa Monica was lively. I was disgusted that there was no drinks facility for guests, I'm on holiday, why would I want to go to bed early, just so I could enjoy a drink? 10pm is way too early to stop serving drinks to hotel guests downstairs. We were there for 6 nights, on the fourth evening, I got in a bath only to realise our bath mat had disappeared. I was very disappointed at this, firstly because of the health and safety issue and secondly, why on earth would the maid remove the bath mat, had I done something to annoy her, it does make you wonder! I did have to also leave the maid a polite note each day, to leave the right kind of tea and extra sugar (which were not replenished automatically), I had no need for GREEN tea, it was a little annoying to have to leave a new note each day, otherwise I was subject to having to trapse to reception to swap it, as extras were $2 each, again a little steep I thought. The little things mean a lot and in some areas The Georgian really cut it and in others, I can see room for improvement.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iceberg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a lovely boutique hotel located close to the beach, pier and downtown. We would of had a great sunset except it was cloudy. We could walk all along the beach, the pier and 5 minutes from downtown shopping. the breakfast was wonderful and we could sit outside even in november. I would recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laflaflaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We arrived in the evening from a long flight so it was great to receive a warm welcome and good service. There were two ladies on the front desk who were very friendly and provided us with a lot of information and maps on the area without us even asking as well as providing an efficient check in. The delivery of bags to the room was prompt and the bell man was also very friendly and helpful with information. This gave us a great first impression of the hotel.
We had chosen an ocean view suite which was a lovely room with a nice view of the beach. We loved the decor in the room and throughout the hotel which gave a nostalgic feel while still having all the modern amenities such as wi fi. The location to the beach, pier and shops was also good.
We had breakfast and drinks on the patio which was relaxing with good food and service. Again the staff were always friendly and made us feel welcome. The signature cocktails were great.
This was the last two nights of a four week trip for us and was a great way to end our holiday before making the long journey home.

Room Tip: The ocean view suite has a separate living room and is a good large size room. The view is great and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JXXK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear JXXK,

All of our associates send there thanks, we are very proud to know that you enjoyed our service. A "Georgini" on the Veranda, a sunset - I too agree this is a nice way to wrap up a 4 week trip.

Wonderful to know that you enjoyed your suite!

Warm Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed in another hotel during my trip but this was the alternative I considered and I don't think I would have gone far wrong if I had. I ate breakfast here and enjoyed a cocktail or two while watching Santa Monica walk passed, enjoying the weather.
Nice staff, good food, great view.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eilidh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for four nights with my husand on our honeymoon trip .We had a sea view room and a view of Santa Monica Pier which was amazing .The bus tour stop for Los Angelus is right next to the hotel and there are loads of shops withing 5 minute walking distance .We are definetly going to return and stay here again .Also free wifi in hotel which is super fast .

Room Tip: pick a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanneoc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear joanneoc3,

Greetings and Congratulations! Thank you for spending such a special occasion with us, we are honored. Looking forward to seeing you again, perhaps for an anniversary celebration?

Please do not hesitate to call on us when confirming your return.

Warm Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
447 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Los Angeles is one of my least favourite cities -- miles of freeways, strip malls, lousy housing districts, and carrying a high fear factor. All of the (self-declared) beautiful people strutting around makes for interesting people watching but the pretense and ostentatious wealth in parts of the city make it tough to take. The Georgian Hotel is a lovely oasis in the midst of this post-modern congestion. It is an older hotel, nicely restored and very appealing. The rooms and very nicely outfitted and extremely comfortable. The staff are helpful and eager to please. The location is lovely, too -- across the street from Santa Monica beach and a five minute walk to the Santa Monica pier. This, too, is one of LA's few redeeming feature -- a place where folks from across the city gather for a day/evening of community and inexpensive entertainment. The hotel is a tad expensive, but a wonderful break from the sterility of the rest of the city,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhitehorseVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear WhitehorseVancouver,

The Georgian Hotel and The City of Santa Monica have much to offer. We are pleased to have been a part of your wonderful break. There are many hidden oasis' in the city, thank you for finding ours.

Sincerely,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Property: The Georgian Hotel
Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing