We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous sea views”
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Georgian Hotel
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel at 7am after a 15 hour flight from Sydney and fully expected to be told that our room wasn't ready.
Instead we were whisked up stairs and then we realised we had been upgraded to a suite. We were delighted especially given that it was the 22nd of December and this hotel was opposite the beach in trendy Santa Monica.

The hotel is 1920's Art Deco so is quite old worldly rather than minimalist trendy.

Our room was massive. We had so much room which we really appreciated.

Breakfast was a delight looking at the view of the ocean from the hotels balcony. Mojitos were also enjoyed at sunset over looking the ocean. Breath taking.

The hotel has free wifi which we discovered after this was a perk as many of the hotels in the USA charge for wifi.

A very good hotel for the reasonable price in a great location.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calamitycastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,313)
There are newer reviews for The Georgian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

876 - 882 of 2,313 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a good choice based on location and cleanliness. We had comfortable beds and good service. It is not the cheapest but it is a good option overall. I would go back. They give chocolates by your bed and have good products in the shower to use.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyanPlainview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Ryan Plainview,

Sometimes it is the little things that can make a big difference. Please let us know when we can welcome you back.

Warm Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was out fifth visit to The Georgian, and it was a totally superb experience. The setting, the facilities, the staff, the food and beverages, and the efficiency and friendliness with which all of our needs and wishes were attended to -- all were of the very highest quality. We recommend The Georgian to all our friends who travel to the Los Angeles area, and we look forward from year to year to returning to one of our very favorite hotels.

Room Tip: The higher ocean view rooms and suites are great!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear James L,

It is always our pleasure to welcome you back! On behalf of our entire staff, thank you for your kind words and we hope to roll out the red carpet treatment for you again soon.

Warn Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had three nights at the hotel. We had a small room, but it was clean and comfortable. Loved the Art Deco bathroom and feeling of the hotel. Cool, old wooden elevators. The best part of our stay was the service. Everyone, housekeepers, waiters, bell hop.... were vey attentive and responded to all requests efficiently!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NGW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear NGW1,

Thank you for allowing us to share our hospitality with you, it was our pleasure.

Warm Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We read all the reviews and chose to stay here. In the reviews, people complained about the homeless people across the street in the park. That is an issue of all over California. That is not a problem with the hotel. There was even a complaint about the the age of the hotel and the elevators. The hotel in 80 years old. The hotel has character. My wife and I stayed there for a couple nights. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and courteous. Beginning from the valet to the front desk, to the food servers to the cleaning staff. Everyone was as nice as can be. The rooms were as nice as can be. We had a package with free parking, free breakfast and ocean view. I would skip the ocean view as it is noisy at night from the traffic on the Avenue. The breakfasts were off a menu and were too big to finish. The pancakes with fresh fruit outside on the porch started the day right. The hotel was a short walk to the 3rd street promenade and the pier. I highly recommend staying here. My only negative is to bring your our soap and shampoo. There are pump bottle in the shower and their is a strong eucalyptus smell that make you smell like a pharmacy.

Room Tip: A room away from the main street if you like it quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear JPL0626,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, your words are refreshing and appreciated. The package information and tips that you provided, will assist anyone looking for information on where to stay in Santa Monica.

We do hope that you will come back to The Georgian and The Veranda to start another day right.

Warm Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Beautiful and charming old hotel (without being dated) with the perfect location near Santa Monica Pier and 3rd Street Promenade. Nice, big and clean rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. There is a great restaurant (The Veranda) at the hotel. Valet parking is 27 $ pr. night + tax. There is a fitness room at the hotel. I'm in love!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tira_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Tira_20,

The pictures that you posted on Trip Advisor, of your suite at The Georgian are lovely. We are happy to share "The Love".

Thank you for staying with us and sharing a wonderful experience.

Warm Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at The Georgian for a week along with a friend and her daughter. We could not have been more pleased with the hotel or the staff. The hotel itself is charming, rooms were large and comfortable (we each had rooms with two queen beds). Our package included breakfast and parking. Breakfast on the hotel porch was a treat - delicious, plentiful and graciously served. Valet service for getting the car in and out was always quick and pleasant. The location is perfect - just across from the Visitor's Center and the beach, the Santa Monica Pier is about a two block walk, two block walk to the Third Street Promenade and a large shopping mall, surrounded by tons of restaurants - what ever cuisine you are in the mood for - it's pretty much walkable. The staff was absolutely top notch - cheerful and helpful with every request. Not being from the area, we had many questions and asked for recommendations - all staff were patient and happy to assist with directions, suggesting restaurants , etc... I don't know the names of the front desk staff - but all were wonderful. Concerning breakfast on the terrace - special thanks to Mehta, Placido, and Israel and the rest of the servers - all were cheerful and quick, but never made us feel like we needed to hurry so that they could turn the table. We had an absolutely wonderful stay at this lovely hotel. Highly recommended !

Room Tip: Our room was opposite the elevator, and we did not experience any issues with noise. However, our f...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear E K,

Our staff enjoyed having all of you here with us, you brought out the best in each of us and then some. Our valet, front desk and restaurant teams each received a copy of your review - they are beaming with pride to know that they aided in your wonderful stay with your daughter and friends.

We hope to see you again.

Warm Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,891 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
607 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,599 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $324 - $507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing