We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Georgian Hotel
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed one night here. Excellent location, across the road from the beach, close to the pier short walk to shopping and the 3rd street promenade. Room was nice and clean, comfy beds. We were able to check in 2 hours early as rom was ready. Valet parking at $27 a night was over the top, after tax and exchange was $35. Room a bit pricey but you have to pay for location. One night stay with tax, parking etc was $350. Staff were quite pleasant.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank KP1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear KP1963,

Thank you for staying with us and enjoying the location. Parking is something that is questioned daily. Don't hesitate to contact us when you return, many times we have added value packages, that you could benefit from.

Warm Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,060 - 1,066 of 2,492 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I were booked into this hotel as part of our road trip in the western US. We have been to Santa Monica several times and experience has shown us that you can get a very large suite in a beautiful hotel but miles from the beach, ie Century City type area or a smaller room in an incredibly expensive hotel in the centre of the action. I'm not sure how much we paid for this room as it was part of our package but I couldn't fault the location. It was a stones throw from the pier, opposite the beach and just around the corner from downtown Santa Monica with all its shops and restaurants.

The Georgian is a retro style hotel with lots of art deco style features and looks very distinctive from the outside.

We were rather taken about when we arrived as the receptionist suggested to us that she did not have a room! However, after some "juggling around" she managed to find something. A massive shout out to the bellboy, whose name unfortunately we did not get, but he was wonderfully helpful. We were disappointed when reaching the room to find that the only mini fridge was the type that was heavily wired up with sensoring equipment and we were unable to take anything out as we would get charged. When mentioning the lack of fridge, he immediately got onto his phone and spoke to maintenance and arranged for us to have a fridge, all without us asking!! The fridge then turned up within minutes.

To be fair the room was the smallest we have had on our trip so far (but we do appreciate as mentioned before the cost of hotels in Santa Monica) and the bathroom was tiny and hardly big enough to swing a cat. The view also, was pretty poor - we looked out over some parking lot. However, the room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. The air conditioning worked well, although we did not really need it as the weather was very overcast. There was no in-room coffee when we arrived but this was rectified when we put a call through.

My main gripe was with the staff working at the front terrace. After a day walking around, we came back to the hotel around 4pm and sat down at the front to have a coffee. Although the young lady in question had seen us, we were totally ignored. This wasn't a busy time and in fact we were the only ones sitting there at the time. After waiting about 10 minutes I went in and asked if she could organise some coffee for us. You would think I was asking to go to the moon with the look she gave me. Coffee finally arrived, extremely luke warm and the cream in a dirty jug. Very poor and this put us off going there again as we had considered having cocktails there that evening.

I would probably go to this hotel again but perhaps would want to check out the prices of some of the more superior larger looking places first.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
2  Thank aardie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear aardie 21,

Thank you for your kind words regarding our bell staff. "Your shout" out made the entire team that much more proud of the service that they provide. Service and anticipation of our guests needs is a key factor in our guests satisfaction. We are quick to address the positive and focus on an opportunity for change.

When you plan to return, do not hesitate to contact us, we can assist in matching you with a larger room with a view.

Sincerely,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. This is an historic hotel so the rooms are not huge - we stayed in a standard room with king bed. Bathroom is on the small side but everything you need is here. If not, the staff are so incredibly helpful that they would do anything to make sure your needs are met. Breakfast on the balcony is very enjoyable. Staff are knowledgable and helped us make the most of our three night stay. Booking from New Zealand this hotel is comparatively expensive but it is all about the location. You won't regret paying for this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank junismum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had a bit of an issue checking into the hotel. Our room wasn't ready at 3:00 and having to wait when you have 2 kids that are tired from driving in a car can be a bit of a pain. No valet was there, so I ran into the hotel to find someone to help us. Room was clean and a great size for the 4 of us. Location is perfect if you like to walk and check out Santa Monica. About a 5 minute walk to both the Pier and the 3 rd Ave Promenade. There are plenty of restaurants in easy walking distance. All the staff was friendly. Fairly quiet.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 6th floor with a partial ocean view it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlee1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear dlee1967,

A high floor and a larger room to accommodate families are some of our most sought after, especially in the summer time. It sounds like it may have been worth the wait. We thank you for sharing your time with us.

Warm Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have stayed at the Georgian Hotel 4 times over the past 3 years and have had a wonderful experience every single time. We travel with our kids aged 13 and 2 and always book a suite which is perfect for a family. The location could not be better...just around the corner are some lovely restaurants and of course - all the shopping you could want! I am amazed at some of the poor ratings I have read - as we have never had a problem with any of our stays. The staff are always friendly and happy to help. Cant wait to go back again at Christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raebos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Raebos,

Thank you for your kind words and thoughts, it is a pleasure to you have you in our corner and in our hotel. We too are looking forward to your return at Christmas. If there is anything that you require, prior to arrival or while you are here with us, please just ask.

Warm Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We just got back from our first trip to Santa Monica and we had a blast. The rooms here are not large, we had a queen ocean view, but it was really cute and charming and certainly big enough. The location is perfect, but my favorite part was the front "porch" area. We had drinks out there the first day which was lovely, great people watching and great view. The next morning we had a delicious breakfast out there as well and it was so nice. I highly recommend having breakfast there. The staff was super helpful and friendly, I would stay there again in a heartbeat! FYI we had a great meal right down the street at Blue Plate Oysterette! We had tried to make a reservation and they said they don't take reservations but our hotel called and got us in!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Jillsy,

Wonderful to know that you had a blast, enjoying The Georgian and Santa Monica. We continue to change and enhance our menu, we hope you will come back for another fine breakfast. The Blue Plate Oysterette is very kind to our concierge when we call for our guests - when can we make your next reservation?

Sincerely,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

On our trip to California we stayed twice at this hotel. First time 22/6/13 - 24/613 we had a suite with sea view on the first floor.. This was lovely clean large room. Brilliant, very good view of beach. The seond time was 27/6/13 for one 1 night. I am so glad it was only 1 night. We were on the top floor in a very pooky room, quite dark and a VERY small bathroom. All of which needed refreshing. This was classed as a sea view room, which in fairness it was but a very depressing room!! We also ate in Pub just around the corner as we found the food expensive.,

Room Tip: I would advise, King suite on 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_M735762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Chris_M735762,

I can understand how you would feel, having a suite of 548 square feet and then a standard guest room of 226. We are always willing to assist our guests with reserving accommodations that will meet and or exceed expectations. Do not hesitate to call on me in the future.

Sincerely,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
3,026 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#13 of 36 in Santa Monica
653 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
The Ambrose
The Ambrose
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,281 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,661 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $320 - $530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing