We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Historical Hotel”
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Georgian Hotel
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boonsboro, Maryland
1 review
“Beautiful Historical Hotel”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I found this hotel on tripadvisor and loved all the positive reviews. I checked out the website, ended up booking it... and couldn't have been happier!! Our room was the "Carol Lombard" suite on the top floor with an ocean view. The views from our many windows (which we could open to enjoy the fresh air!!) were all beautiful: the palm trees, the ocean/beach, the Santa Monica Pier... the location was fabulous. We were in walking distance to the 3rd St Promenade, which made for some great shopping (which we weren't able to do at Rodeo Drive!) and good eating choices, and we even enjoyed the many entertainers lining the sidewalks. The Georgian still has what looks to be the original style elevator and doors and I loved the old fashioned sliding "peep hole" on the door! The decor was very suitable to the style of the hotel and VERY CLEAN!! The bathroom came with bath robes, shampoo/conditioner, qtips, hand lotion, even a food/drink bar (at a rather steep cost though). We needed a few items while there and the housekeepers were very responsive and I loved coming to our room at the end of the day and the curtains were drawn, bed covers pulled down, with chocolate on the nightstand... very comfy! The front desk greeted us everytime we came or left the hotel. Even the valet parking guy, waitress, bartender... were all so willing to help and always with a smile on their face. The veranda out front was a wonderful place to start the day with a cup of coffee or end it with a glass of wine. (We even heard that Arnold Schwarzeneggar and Sylvester Stallone sat out there the day before we arrived.. wish I had seen that!!) Anyway, we ate breakfast in the dining area and I highly recommend the french toast.. .delicious! We had started our trip touring Hollywood and stayed at the Sheraton by Universal Studios... while that was a nice hotel too, once we got to Santa Monica and I saw the Georgian Hotel... I was in love. If I ever find myself back in the area, I will definitely stay there again... maybe in the "Clark Gable" room next time! While I thought everything was excellent, I do have to mark down a little for "sleep quality"... we were a family of four and our son was to sleep on the pull out sofa, but it was not comfortable. He ended up putting sheets on the chaise and sleeping there. The king bed, however, was very comfy...

Room Tip: While the view is beautiful, ocean view rooms mean you are facing the main road. You will hear cars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear K C,

Thank you for a very thorough and colorful description of your time with us, I could almost feel the breeze and taste our famous french toast. As you mentioned all of our departments, your review was shared with our employees - there is a great sense of pride knowing you were pleased.

We hope that you will find yourself back in the area, we would love to see you again.

Warm Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,068
    771
    262
    84
    40
See reviews for
595
930
93
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Georgian for our last night in LA. We hadn't booked any accommodation so just drove to Santa Monica and liked the look and location of the Georgian. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Our room had a view of the beach and Santa Monica Pier. The rooms were a bit small but really clean and tastefully decorated. The in room coffee was great too! They offer a la carte breakfast that was beautiful, and included in our room charge.
We loved the hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caznally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Caznally,

Everyone at The Georgian was beaming with pride, knowing that they had made your last night in LA memorable. Please come back so that we can share more sincere hospitality with you, it's what we enjoy doing!

Sincerely,

Laura W
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed at the GEORGIAN with my wife and 14 year old daughter. Previously I stayed at the LOEWS. the two hotels cannot compare.. The LOEWS Charges YOU FOR BREATHING, whereas the Georgian is fairly priced with Palisades Park ( great running), beach the PIER across the street. around THE 3RD STREET PROMENADE(great shopping and eating) is around the corner ;THE LOCATION IS IDEAL. I stayed in a large one bedroom suite for less than a tiny box of a room at the LOEWS. The hotel is a piece OF CALIFORNIA beach history. I EXPECT TO STAY HERE AGAIN

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Bernard L,

The destination and The Georgian are definitely a piece of history to be enjoyed. We will be 80 this year. Perhaps you will return to celebrate with us. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

What a fantastic gem in a great Santa Monica location. We spent 4 nights here in April 2013 with 2 adults and 3 children. You can walk everywhere and it is located centrally to heading out to a variety of Los Angeles attractions. I will definitely return and would highly recommend this property to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mascam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Mascam123,

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed being here as much as we enjoyed having you here! I will be more than happy to assist with reservations when you are ready to return. I look forward to hearing from you.

Warm Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have been coming to Santa Monica every year for the past 5 years and this is our favorite hotel. The staff, location and accommodations are all excellent. I love the history and architecture of the building. If your budget allows, I highly recommend one of the suites and be sure to get a room with a view of the pier. There are many wonderful restaurants within walking distance, not to mention the shopping.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TennesseeTravelQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fantastic location right by the beach and right by fantastic shops and restaurants. Everything you want is within walking distance. Rooms are amazing, the service is great and having outstanding breakfasts sitting outside on the verandah each morning was a great start to the day. This hotel combines old time architecture with upscale, modern service. Go there!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonCoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear London Coops,

Thank you for treating yourself to a memorable stay with us at The Georgian Hotel. I guarantee you the pleasure was ours. Please come back and see us!

Sincerely,

Laura W
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

First, if you are looking for a large scale, modern hotel... this property isn't for you. This hotel has a long history, including many conversions... and is not typical. If you are looking for a classic, old property with larger rooms and charming outdoor cafe... you'll like The Georgian.

THE GOOD
The hotel is located within walking distance of the pier, 3rd street... you name it. The location can't be beat. The valet staff does a good job retrieving cars and is usually waiting when you arrive. Since the hotel is older (and was once an apartment building) the rooms are larger than normal for the area... meaning there are good values to be had here. Our stay included breakfast and bar vouchers which we used everyday. The cafe in the hotel serves decent food and is fine for breakfast and a light lunch. Very helpful desk staff.

THE BAD
Some rooms that face the street can be noisy. Since the rooms are older, they can be worn. Our room was missing a few knobs, etc... but nothing that was a real problem. Just old. The bar/lounge closes early, so don't plan on a late late night visit for a nightcap. The elevators are tiny and old... but they do add some charm to the hotel.

THE SKINNY
This is a hidden gem in Santa Monica. I can pick at a list of small items that the hotel should (and likely will) address... but the truth is the location and price make this a great option. I wouldn't hesitate to book a room here in the future on a return trip.

Room Tip: Check the website for specials... the voucher deal was a steal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geauxtger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Geauxtger,

The honesty and candor that you used to describe The Georgian Hotel is refreshing and appreciated. We continue to update and address the property and in-turn keeping with her original charm. I trust you will be pleasantly surprised when you return.

Warm Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,783 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
576 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,227 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Property: The Georgian Hotel
Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing