We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location and a Bit of a History Lesson”
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Georgian Hotel
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Spent the weekend here and it turned out to be practically perfect. Staff people were all pleasant and helpful. Location couldn't be better, overlooking the ocean and SM pier. Enjoyed just sitting on the front porch watching the world go by while enjoying their tasty appetizers. Adam gave us a history lesson covering the prohibition era speakeasy in the basement. Only suggestion is to upgrade the wine list. We've stayed in several boutique hotels in the SM area and this is definitely the best value.

Room Tip: Try to get a front room on an upper floor overlooking the ocean.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ALEXANDER L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,313)
There are newer reviews for The Georgian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,010 - 1,016 of 2,313 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was our second stay at The Georgian and it was every bit as enjoyable as the first. Our room - a deluxe ocean view suite - was the size of a spacious apartment, perfectly clean and comfortably furnished with a couch, chaise and well-lit work area. There was also a separate coffee bar, large bathroom, and a roomy bath.

As usual service was excellent all around. When I called for ice it arrived within minutes, the same with room service, and whenever we needed our car it was brought around promptly.

The veranda in front of the hotel was a great place for breakfast, lunch and cocktails at sundown.

In short, The Georgian is a glorious place for a Santa Monica weekend; low key, comfortable and with a high level of understated service. A real pleasure

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sayersfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

If you want a cozy, elegant, first rate stay, then this hotel is it! Excellant and friendly service. Rooms and ocean view was so nice! A la carte breakfast was execellant. Not cheap but you get what you pay for! I would go back in a second!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank robinatcarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here overnight before our connecting flight home. The room was lovely and clean, including the bathroom. We had a good night's sleep in a big comfy bed. The location is perfect, close to everything you need.
The staff were very helpful in arranging airport taxis for us, late checkout, and held our bags. The atmosphere there is very friendly and I would definitely stay here again if I was visiting Santa Monica.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank feyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

All employees were great but especially Mike, at the front desk provided useful info and was very accommodating in providing a needed late checkout. We found the hotel to be superbly located and charming. Rooms are a bit small but this is an older boutique hotel. The terrace bar/restaurant is very good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank benkoerselman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Too many other good choices in the area. Room had substantial noise from back alley, outlets did not work, bathroom sink was partially blocked, iron was broken and minibar items on counter in room were missing or dislodged on arrival. Front desk staff, despite a tip, was not pleasant or helpful. Would not stay here again or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrinella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We wanted to be tourists in our own city...Followed the good reviews but were so disappointed. Definitely not a 4 star luxury hotel, maybe a 2 star. No fan or exhaust in bathrooms, slow and lazy food service. Breakfast took 11/2 hours and still did not eat, because of wrong order. Took 45 minutes for a cafe latte, not a good thing 1st thing in the morning (had to ask 4 times to finally receive it) They have that automatic minibar - if you touch a bag of M&M's or other snack, you are immediatley charged for it, even if you don't take it. Not good if you have children in the room. Management not responsive to complaints and many people were complaining. You can get better service down the street and have the great location too. Would not recommend or go back.

Room Tip: The hotel is old with a new coat of paint, but it is still old.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cece l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGeorgianH, General Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear cece l,

First of all I would like to thank you for the opportunity to be of your service.
Also, I would like to apologize for not providing you and your family with the level of service we have all of our guests accustomed to. The issues you noted in your review have been addressed with our restaurant staff as well as the rest of the items with the other departments. I am sorry our bathrooms do not have a fan as our hotel is equipped with a central exhaust system that does not allow us to do that. My apologies too if you feel our management was not as responsive as you would have expected and I trust that the personal attention that one of our restaurant supervisors provided to you during lunch alleviated a little your breakfast experience. I appreciate your feedback as this is very important to accomplish our primary goal which is to make sure all of our guests receive the high quality service we all strive for.
Once again my staff and I thank you for the opportunity to be of your service and should you have a change of heart we welcome the opportunity to serve you and your family again in the near future.

Respectfully,

Juan V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,891 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
607 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,599 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $324 - $507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing