We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Character, great location and fantastic service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Georgian Hotel
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Character, great location and fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel is situated on Ocean Boulevard in Santa Monica. The rooms at the front give views to the sea as does the small verandah at the front which is used to serve meals and drinks. The rooms are tastefully decorated and in keeping with the 1930's era when the hotel was built. The beach is 5 mins walk via a footbridge, the main shopping area and Santa Monica pier are 10 mins walk away. Service at the hotel is first class. The food was excellent in particular the breakfast menu. My wife, teenage daughter and myself sated in a suite at the hotel which provided a bedroom separate to the lounge area which contained a good quality sofa bed.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a sea view. Our room was at the rear of the hotel but didn't detract from our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHandS-Leics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    977
    691
    229
    74
    37
See reviews for
526
838
77
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Hotel with character in a great location . Reception staff were excellent and could not have been more accommodating. Having breakfast on the veranda looking out onto the Pacific is hard to beat . Booked a junior suite for a family of 5 and size was great . If you prefer boutique style hotels rather than the contemporary lifeless alternative then this is the hotel for you . Stuart Towers (Scotland)

Room Tip: junoir suite ideal for couple with 3 kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenburnfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I really wanted to like this hotel but it did not live up to my expectations - it's trying to be vintage but it's actually just worn down and needs a good remodel. After a pleasant check-in, my visit went downhill when I had to wait over 5 minutes for the ancient elevator to arrive. Room was a good size, but the walls were so thin that it sounded like the gentleman sneezing in the next room was literally in bed with me. People turning on the shower above my bathroom sounded like water was going to flow right through the ceiling. Several hairs in the bathroom when I checked in - just gross. Carpet needed a good steam cleaning. Internet did not work the entire time I was there and I spend over 20 minutes on the phone with "tech support" which clearly did not know what they were doing (I am tech savvy so was on to their fake questions). This was a real problem for me as I was there on a business trip and could not work at night. The phone in my room died on the last day there. When I called down to get a taxi the morning of check out, the gentleman at the front desk forgot to order one for me so the valet was forced to flag one down. It was just a long list of things that made it unpleasant and annoying to stay there, and when you are travelling for business, it's just not fun to be annoyed - you need the basics to work and work smoothly. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRPCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Great service, good view of the sea, centrally to the beach and Santa Monica nightlife, shopping etc. Historical and not so modern, but a hotel with a soul !

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TorsteinKongshem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I would definitely return here. Great value for money for such a good location. Rooms are clean and provide all the necessary items in nice quality. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Food was good and well priced. All in all, when comparing other options in the same location, and the prices some have ...we are very happy that we chose The Georgian. It had everything we needed for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chomper2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My husband and I have celebrated our anniversary at the Georgian for the past two years. This trip was by far the most memorable and spectacular for us. The Georgian staff truly took care of us for every aspect of our stay. I really appreciate the immense hospitality and the thoughtfulness of everyone there. We look forward to coming back next year as we celebrate our 10 year anniversary! Also, you cannot beat the location. Special thanks to Amy!!

Room Tip: The suites are the best way to go (on a high floor). Not too much noise as some suggest. Try to ge...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stefsims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We spent 3 nights at The Georgian. Excellent location near Santa Monica Pier but not on top of it (That would be too much traffic). Close to 3rd Street Promenade but with the action of the beachfront. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Rooms were clean and updated - very nice. We stayed on 3rd floor using the pull out for kids. You hear traffic noise but if your tired from a long day in California, it is not enough to keep you from sleeping. Bathroom clean, housekeeping and bellmen were quick to help.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidjta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 35 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 2,426 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#6 of 35 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#4 of 35 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#2 of 35 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 758 reviews
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#3 of 35 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 1,083 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Property: The Georgian Hotel
Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing